Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria

An oasis of peace

Posted Feb 28, 2015
A step back in time relaxing in the reading lounge hard to believe it was so central. The meals were wonderful and the staff excellent. It was a cocoon of comfort and charm we will make sure we return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

If you want to feel the history, this is the best.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Love it!
Cons: As a old hotel, no complains.
Location: In the heart of downtown, its convince to everywhere.
As a young age adult, it is a good place to live in a old style hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by carolfrom san diego

winter in victoria

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great breakfast from right off the menu!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Excellent hotel just steps from the Inner Harbour

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Location, close to transportation (bus depot, Coho ferry, Clipper to Seattle, float planes and local buses) & excellent accommodation.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Located steps from Victoria's inner harbour. Good shopping. Close to the Empress Hotel, Royal British Columbia Museum, Legislature buildings.
The hotel has old world charm but the rooms are fully modernized. There was a small fridge in the room & laundry facilities were down the hall. The fitness room was spacious and was completely outfitted with machines, weights, balls and other equipment. Full breakfast was included. Complimentary coffee was available in the lobby. Free wifi in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Fariche

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating! We look forward to seeing you again in your future visit to Victoria.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Creepy hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The windows in the room and the bathroom were old style wooden type windows that you lift up to open and they don't lock! I had a room on the first floor and I could literally just go out the window and into someone else's room as I assume their windows didn't lock either. I was too afraid to stay at this hotel and decided to find another one instead. I must say that the hotel staff was kind enough to refund my pre-authorization when I explained to them my concerns about safety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2014 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will take your comment into great consideration. The Union Club strives to provide excellent service and accommodation for all guests. We hope the rest of your stay in Victoria was enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RITA Lfrom los gatos ca

The Good and The Bad

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overnight on my way hone after a long trip. Great place but clients should know aabout men's nights etc. Also I had a serious alergy reactiion waiting in the Club room after I checked out of my room and before the ferry. I was sitting in a upholstered chair. Once I got outside it went away but for a while I thought I would not be able to go to the ferry and would miss my plane.So nice as it was I probably would not stay a second time. Also the stairs upon arrival are not expected and very intimidating. Once you were inside you learned of an alter exit but upon arrival you don't know about it and if you did you wouldn't have a key.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and rating on your recent stay. We will take your concerns into account, as we aim to provide guests with the utmost comfort and convenience during their stay. We hope you had a safe trip home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Old world charm.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: It's charm and the location was excellent and easy to walk everywhere. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: It is extremely well located with the Tourist Office very close by. We walked to most places but caught a bus tour to The Butchart Gardens.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Union Club. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and the building itself has lots of character and charm. We really enjoyed being able to sit in the bar or the large old reading room in the evenings with a glass of wine. The surroundings added an air of relaxation and a slowing down of time. It may not suit everyone and there is a dress code when in the hotel but this was not a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time in providing us with a review! We are always happy to hear about our room guests' enjoyable experience at the Union Club. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit to the city of Victoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Nice find!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The location, history of the building and the quiet room.
Very nice hotel a block for the harbor and The Empress Hotel and shops and restaurants. The hotel in it's heyday was an exclusive club for the well heeled and old family set. The architecture is stunning. We happened to check in while a roaring twenties party was almost in full swing. Many people of all ages in original couture and period clothing. Coupled with the original 1800's decor, it was like walking into a Fitzgerald book before the crash. A lot of 1st and 2nd WW plaques with names of club members who lost their lives overseas. The building and decor is steeped in Canadian history. They do not allow jeans after 9 am and have a strict policy on mobile phone use in the lobby and massive sitting room. Very good internet access, quiet rooms and our stay came with a complimentary breakfast which was great. Fabulous original bar and snooker room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! It's always great to hear back from our room guests. We're delighted to know that you had such a wonderful stay with us at the Union Club. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city of Victoria in the future.