Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy guests and took a lot of emails to resolve

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The setting and rooms were beautiful
Cons: SERVICE SERVICE and conflict resolution
We were thrilled with the setting and the room. UNTIL other guests (large male group) bombarded the hallway room to room 2-4AM!! with calls to front desk and a poor reaction in the morning upon checkout from staff. It was eventually made right through upper management but our night "sleep" was brutal. Had breakfast there as well and we could see the other section had great service HOWEVER our waitress was BRUTALLY SLOW on every aspect from beverages to clearing plates to the bill and even to take payment .... Disappointing end to a frustrating stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arcadia, CA

Nice hotel in the forest

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Cons: Would be nice if there's a hotel shuttle taking guests to airport and downtown.
Feel like I am staying in Yosemite in luxury. Nice walking trails, outdoor Jacuzzi, swimming pool and a world class spa. Also great golfing and tennis. Truly a place for someone who enjoys nature and outdoor activities. Need a car to go to grocery store or to get any supplies. It would be nice if the hotel has a small gift, supplies and grocery store. Instead of having a big golf supplies only store, they should stock other items needed for daily life.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Cons: it's unaffordable
I was just visiting a friend who couldn't put us up. The room layout was weird. I wanted to golf 9 holes but this apparantly was impossible. A round was close to 200 dollars with club rental.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Time to Unwind

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Spacious room, natural location - most everything was good.
Cons: Service in restaurants could be more efficient. Also consistency re hospitality coffee- varied time it ended from desk staff. Often lacking supplies
Location: walking, fitness, golf
Pool was small and no diving - would prefer a larger pool. Accessible for my needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, CA

Nice resort....

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Great room and excellent food.
Cons: They could be more generous with the towels at the pool.
Location: We visited: Butchart garden, Goldstream park, Victoria and made a ferry trip to Vancouver for a day.
We stayed for 5 nights. The suite we reserved was spacious and great. The room service and the food at the restaurant was excellent and on the healthier side which is always ideal. The staff was great and friendly. I would definitely recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice new hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Cons: Parking is a challenge. No open spots at ground level but there is a parking garage on property which had plenty of spots
Restaurant is what sets this hotel apart. I would say it would be worth it to just come up and eat at the restaurant even if you were not staying at the hotel. Prices are reasonable and food was awesome they didn't fall short in any aspect. We ate there twice. The hotel itself is quite new in good condition well run, nice fitness club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omak, Wa

Best hotel and staff!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: We loved the views. Our 17 year old son loved the fitness center, swimming pool and hot tub.
Cons: We really loved the food from the on site restaurant inside the main building at the resort, however, the service was exceptionally slow.
Location: Victoria is abound with activities and sights to see.
Beautiful view, lovely room, amazing staff....all-around one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Attentive Staff, welcoming retreat

Posted Aug 21, 2014
The staff at Bear Mountain were very efficient and kind. They go the extra mile. Our kids enjoyed the heated outdoor pool and were disappointed to leave. We had dinner at Jacks Place, which is not apart if the hotel but was right next door. The food was amazing, good value, and they had a children's menu. The beds are always comfortable at SPG hotels and the room was large and well appointed. We will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Nice Golf Resort Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The hotel is at a very quite environment and the view of the golf course. The restaurant food quality is very consistent and at reasonable price.
Cons: The rooms are on the dark side even there is bright sun light outside. It is the same either facing the golf course or the parking lot.
Location: Golf , it is right on the golf course. Downtown Victoria is also quite close by.
We stayed in this hotel a few times before and the staff is always courteous. We were upgraded twice in the past. Beds are always comfortable. The room has ample counter space with a sink, microwave and dinnerware which comes in handy for having some fruits in the room. Enjoyed watching the golfers coming in finishing the 18th hole.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paradise, CA

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The lunch on the veranda was great. Also, the spa was beautiful and immaculate and very professional.
We are very happy to have chosen the Bear Mountain Resort to celebrate my daughter's and my birthdays. We went whale watching, to Butchart Gardens, to Victoria and had a massage on the premises at the Sante Spa. The location was perfect - just far enough to be out of the congestion of the city - maybe 20-30 minutes of easy travel to where ever we were going. The room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely choose to stay there again.