Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet Location

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Quiet location. Room space.
Cons: Internet speed and reliable WiFi connection.
Stayed for New Year's Eve. Unfortunately, the whole restaurant and lounge area was booked off for a private reception. Went across the street to the pub for a bite but it, too, was booked off for a private function. The hostess there was nice to allow us into a side room and serve us items off the menu. The negatives of the place: ice machines not well marked on which floors in the main building. They are on floors 3 and 5. However, the machine on floor 3 was not working. Do not take the side service stairs if are the athletic type. They are locked to one way entry. The internet is crappy slow with poor intermittent connection. The room is nice and quiet. Lots of space. However, our room balcony was shared with other adjacent units which means little to no privacy. You hear your next door guests talking up a storm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Good hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Great comfortable beds.
Cons: A bit of wear and tear in the halls and in the suite.
Location: Location is good if you are looking to stay on the mountain. 20 minute drive to city and any decent restaurants.
Great hotel with a nice pool and hot tub in the clubhouse. The beds are very comfortable and the adjoining suite with full kitchen was a good size. Nice get away but far from any decent restaurants and from Victoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Hard to find anything to complain about!!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The beds and the size of the rooms.
Cons: Bell men??
Location: Although you are close to a number of shopping areas (and thankfully a Starbucks) unless all you plan to do is golf or go for nice long walks, you wil
It's really hard to find anything wrong with this hotel especially at the great off-season rates we got. Our only concerns (although they are barely complaints) are 1) we had to check in at The Club House even though we were staying at the Hotel - bit inconvenient 2) a four star hotel with no bellmen?? There were great carts available easily but we had to schlepp our stuff ourselves. I wouldn't want to be disabled. 3) The trip up to the hotel would be awesome on a nice sunny summer day but in dark, wet rainy condition, you have to go slow. It is up a very high hill. I don't think we would have found it without GPS. If you are looking for a hotel near tourist sites in the city it'a a bit of a trip. If you're there to golf or just visit family, it's a luxury retreat. The beds were awesome. Between that and the cold mountain air, I slept better than I have in years!! Oh, and the room (or at least the one we were in) was massive - almost as big as some studio apartments. They welcome pets. And while we were there it was ver, very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom essex uk

Lovely mountain air

Posted Dec 21, 2014
The only down side to our stay was the $18 a day + tax, resort fee for our 21 day stay. Which was an unexpected addition to the overall cost of our stay. This $400 charge was not an option and certainly not explained by Expedia. I did not use any of the resort facilities during our stay. I would welcome a refund via Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Duncan

Great location

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Great location
Cons: One more sink in the bathroom or in the room.
Location: Shopping
We had a very pleasant stay. Great staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

One of the best

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Every thing was great Would recommend to any family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the Westin's best Resorts

Posted Nov 9, 2014
The Westin Bear Mountain is always great. The stay was unexpected but met our expectations. Unfortunate that the inconsiderate people upstairs allowed their kids to run around until midnight..... Not sure why people are so inconsiderate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tarzana, Ca.

A lovely place to stay outside of Victoria

Posted Nov 2, 2014
If you don't want to stay in Victoria proper, or can't find a decent place under $500/night, try the Westin Bear Mountain Resort. It's about 12 miles outside the city, and it is a lovely resort. The rooms are large, and the bed is one of the best we've ever slept on. There is a decent restaurant on the premises, and if you play golf, you'll be in heaven. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karenfrom Vancouver

Noisey wake up!

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great except the lack of soundproofing between adjoining rooms. We were woken up at 6:30am by our neighbours. It sounded like they were sharing our room. We called the front desk but no one really cared. They said it was on the list to fix whenever they do the next renovation. There was NO compensation for the inconvenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leonafrom Regina

Exceptional 3 day visit!

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to a suite. Soaker tub lovely, very comfortable bed, large rooms. Ate breakfasts in hotel, very good food. Enjoyed the beautiful red fall maples and views. Although a 15 drive into Victoria, it was not too far and loved Chez Michel for dinner. Looking forward to another stay here in the future.