Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Dirty and dated room but good location

Posted Aug 21, 2014
This was my second stay in hotel Bellevue in one month. My first stay included a surprise upgrade to a suite which was a huge and lovely room - we couldn't believe our luck. Unfortunately, our second stay resulted in a much smaller (but still decent sized room) which was seriously In need of a refurb - stained and faded carpets, plasters stuck on the walls to cover holes in the wallpaper and a 1970s style bathroom with a peeling bath. The room would have been fine though considering we were only sleeping there and not planning on spending a great deal of time at the hotel. The big issue was the cleanliness - our first room had been spotless but this one needed hoovering, had bits of rubbish on the floor including a bottle lid, everywhere was thick with dust, there was eggshell all over the dressing table and the bath was grimy and full of hairs plus the toilet was still bearing the marks of it's previous users. We were not impressed and when we complained the maid who came to clean the room did not do the job properly, she just quickly pushed the Hoover round so we had to bring her back and tell her exactly what needed to be done. The location of the hotel is around 20 - 25 minutes walk from the city centre and there is a tube station (friedensbr├╝cke) under 5 minutes walk away. The hotel is literally 2 minutes away from the beautiful Lichtenstein park and palace which is great. It's also close to the grand Strudlhofstiege and sigmund Freud museum and a supermarket.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Dirty and dated room but good location

Posted Aug 21, 2014
This was my second stay in hotel Bellevue in one month. My first stay included a surprise upgrade to a suite which was a huge and lovely room - we couldn't believe our luck. Unfortunately, our second stay resulted in a much smaller (but still decent sized room) which was seriously In need of a refurb - stained and faded carpets, plasters stuck on the walls to cover holes in the wallpaper and a 1970s style bathroom with a peeling bath. The room would have been fine though considering we were only sleeping there and not planning on spending a great deal of time at the hotel. The big issue was the cleanliness - our first room had been spotless but this one needed hoovering, had bits of rubbish on the floor including a bottle lid, everywhere was thick with dust, there was eggshell all over the dressing table and the bath was grimy and full of hairs plus the toilet was still bearing the marks of it's previous users. We were not impressed and when we complained the maid who came to clean the room did not do the job properly, she just quickly pushed the Hoover round so we had to bring her back and tell her exactly what needed to be done. The location of the hotel is around 20 - 25 minutes walk from the city centre and there is a tube station (friedensbr├╝cke) under 5 minutes walk away. The hotel is literally 2 minutes away from the beautiful Lichtenstein park and palace which is great. It's also close to the grand Strudlhofstiege and sigmund Freud museum and a supermarket.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Good, old style hotel in very handy location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: For an excellent rate, I got a large room with a sofa and chairs, desk, double bed, and large bathroom. High ceiling made room feel even more spaceous
Cons: Would be nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.
Location: Iit is very well connected by trams and underground and overground trains. There is a supermarket and tabak (buy train tickets there) across the road.
The hotel is located only a few subway/metro stops from the city centre. Also, you can walk along the Danube canal (5 minutes from hotel) to the city centre, which only takes about 20 minutes. The staff at the hotel were friendly and could speak a variety of languages - e.g., German, Italian, English. Rooms are air-conditioned, which proved a real bonus when I was there as there was a bit of a heatwave. My room was incredibly quiet, too, in terms of noise from other guests - I couldn't hear a thing from any of the other rooms or the corridor (fantastic!). I could hear traffic noise from the road, but that didn't bother me.The breakfast was very good, with some hot options (e.g., scrambled eggs and small sausages) available. There is a supermarket across the road (open 6 am until 10 pm) which was very handy. Also there is a tabak there - where you can buy your train/tram tickets (cheaper than buying on the train/tram). There are numerous cafes nearby (and a McDonalds), so no problem food or drink-wise. A post office is located only a few minutes away, too. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good service

Posted Jul 29, 2014
We had an enjoyable 4 day stay at the Bellevue. Clean rooms, helpful staff especially reception, great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Old-world charm in huge rooms with extra high ceilings (not all of them are like this, but ask and you will probably get it). Excellent breakfast. Take the tram around the corner to be in the city center in 5-10 min or just walk.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

I was not impressed

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'm sorry to give a bad review, but aside from being only a few blocks from the underground and just across from the tram, I didn't care for the hotel. The pictures are deceiving, it's not that shiny and neat. When I arrived the check in was very inefficient, the gentleman was quite confused. Then the room was not clean-hairs on the bed, in the tub, stains on the carpet, and the bathroom was unclean. Also, policies were inconsistent; they tried to charge me for an extra day, after granting late checkout. I just wasn't impressed by the staff, disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
This is a traditional Viennese Hotel with friendly and helpful staff.Though in a central location it is quiet inside.The central location is very convenient with lots of public transport connections. I got a spacious,comfortable room, which was quiet and tranquil. The huge breakfast buffet was marvellous. I can only recommend this hotel and will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Bracknell

Happy Stay:

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Quiet, no road noise in our room. church bell rings nearby at 7AM
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Location convenient some local cafes, bars and shops open to late. Tram stop 100 metres.
Booked hotel on line for a weeks holiday in Vienna. On arrival normal polite check-in and given various tourist information booklets. Room a non smoking was in fact two rooms which one would be used if 4 persons had booked with a sofa bad. This we used as a sitting room. Breakfast very good and although we initially thought it expensive found it cheaper than alternatives. Selection would suite everyone. Bought Vienna card for travel from reception. Tram 100meters away and this provided easy travel throughout Vienna. Room cleaned each day. Checkout no problem and a taxi to the airport booked for us no mark up.. Would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Las Vegas

Nice hotel with a little historical flair.

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Comfortable room and great location for the price.
Location: The hotel is a little outside the town center, but there is a street car station within 50 meters. We used public transportation to get around.
A nice hotel, not the most modern, but very nicely kept up. Very good service, friendly staff. A very nice breakfast buffet and great location for access to public transportation.