Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fernando from Chile

Very nice hotel in excellent location.

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort, value for money
We spent 2 nights in this nice hotel, which is located in a very central location, from where you can visit many interesting places just by walking. It is also close to a metro station. Staff very kind and good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hoai from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Excellent staffs. Quiet , clean, central

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: The staffs and the hotel cleanliness and central location, near grocery store.
Cons: The bed was hard, and the pillow were flimsy. If they could be improved, sleeping will be more pleasant.
Location: Stephan church plaza, Sisi museum, Imperial palace, Spanish Riding school, City hall, Emperors Treasury, Danube river cruise, ton of shopping
I was very impressed with the staffs, especially with the front desk staffs. They were courteous, helpful and informative since it was my first time in Vienna. The hotel location is convenient to underground subways, Imperial Palace, the Spanish riding school, steps away from Stephan Church plaza, city hall, Danube river cruise, tons of shopping but quiet and clean. Breakfasts have a variety with healthy choices. I will choose this hotel again next time when I come back to Vienna. On the day we leave Vienna, we need to get to the airport very early, they packed a lunch bag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C

Lovely hotel, fantastic location

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location, lovely rooms, helpful staff, good breakfast.
Location: It's in the middle of Vienna! Visit St Stephen's, head to the Spanish Riding School, walk around the shopping streets.
The Graben is located in the centre of Vienna, just off the main pedestrianised shopping streets and about 200 metres from St Stephen's Cathedral. It really is slap bang in the middle of the city. Its location on a pedestrian area (and double glazing) mean that the rooms are quiet and it's possible to get a good night's sleep. The hotel, and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The breakfast (included in the price of our stay) was excellent, with a wide range of food available. The hotel also had a decent (and sensibly-priced) restaurant for lunch and dinner if required. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout, and our stay was extremely enjoyable. We will definitely stay in the Graben next time we holiday in Vienna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lori D. from Toronto, Ontario

Great location and great hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything about our stay was exactly as was promised. Loved the front desk, location and breakfast! Wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stephen L from Manhattan, New York

Excellent small hotel in the center of it all

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
On and off I have been going to the Graben Hotel since 1972. I have had bigger and most impressive rooms before in the same hotel, but even the small room assigned to me was simply impeccable. Clean, simply but beautifully furnished, small but also impeccable bathroom, nice breakfast and free WiFi. What more can you ask from a city hotel for a reasonable price?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stephen L from Manhattan, NY

Great small hotel in the center of Vienna

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent location, very efficient staff. The rooms are very small, but outright pretty and impeccably maintained so it was not difficult to like it. Free Wifi and a decent breakfast was also included in the very reasonable price. The location is superb just minutes from St. Stephen's Cathedral, the Vienna State Opera, Kartner Strasse and Graben shopping streets and the most beautiful grocery store in the world Julius Meinl.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an excellent hotel at a fair price. The location is unbeatable, just steps from the main square and close to all central city attractions. Also just steps from great metro connections. The room was sizable and comfortable, the breakfast was fine, and service was friendly and well done. Cafes, pastry shops, good restaurants, etc. are abundant nearby.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Amy from Oceanside, CA

Didn't Even Get a Chance to Stay

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
They apparently didn't have room for us (which I found odd, cause no one was even waiting in reception.) so they sent us to their sister hotel "Royal" around the corner and I realized it was a hotel I looked at and did NOT want to stay at! But, we were stuck and it was HORRIBLE! Graben Hotel said Royal would upgrade our room for us....I know they didn't. Disgusting room and I was not happy at all. They did have an apology letter and the traditional mini cakes that Vienna are known for. But, it didn't really help. Breakfast was nice though. So I can't truly rate this hotel...but I was disappointed that this happened. Hotels.com did compensate us for part of our stay because the Royal was way cheaper than what we paid!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chrissy from Akron, Ohio

Graben Hotel ranks high.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing from my visit.
Location: The location was awesome. Middle of great shopping and close to subway stations.
My traveling group of 3 lady friends stayed at the Graben Hotel for 4 nights while in Vienna. I selected this hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor and Expedia. I was not led astray. The staff was so very friendly and helped with every step we took navigating the subways and trains. The rooms were clean and ample size. The front lobby had a computer for free use. I suggest going directly across the room (literally 10 steps) to eat the best schnitzel in town. I cannot say enough about this hotel and the staff. All employees from the waiters and waitresses, maids and front desk SMILED all the time. Thank you Graben hotel for making our visit to Vienna memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue from Herefordshire

Good central location

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in a great central location just 2 minutes walk from the subway. The rooms were fairly basic but spotlessly clean and had a good en suite. Staff were friendly and helpful especially the girls who were serving breakfast. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. The only complaint I would have is that there were no tea and coffeee making facilities in the room and the bed was extremely uncomfortable.