Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location. Old fashioned charm.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The location. The room/bathroom. Plenty of coat hangers!
Cons: A small point but ugly plugs next to the elevator detract from its charm.
Location: Ideal location. Right in the centre of the city. All the main attractions/shops within walking distance.
Stayed in a Deluxe Opera room overlooking the National Opera. Comfortable and very spacious. Lovely bathroom with double sink. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. The hotel has an old fashioned grandeur.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm and polish.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Dead center in the First District, close to the traditional and cultural heart of Vienna.
This place is everything I expected and more. The lobby, bar and restaurant are lovely. The rooms are gorgeously decorated - suitable for Austrian aristocracy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Nice hotel. Convenient location. Staff very friendly. A bit more expensive than adjacent hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Except for no coffee maker, 5 stars

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Cons: Coffee maker in room
Location: Perfect location .. 7 minute walk to St Stephan's Cathedral.
Terrific concierge service, toilet separate from shower,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice Centrally Located Hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: The restaurant staff and the cleaning staff.
Cons: renovate the hotel and improve wifi into something usefuk.
Location: next to the opera house and the Albertina museum.
The hotel is a grand old lady in Vienna Hotels. Like most ladies here age, she is need of some upkeep, both in terms of staff training and refreshing of rooms. The best aspects of the hotel was the restaurant service, it has a good but limited menu. The wifi is amazingly slow, far slower than hotels in most European cities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful city centre hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
We stayed at the Hotel Bristol for my Mums 60th birthday. The hotel were so accommodating of our party and the fact that we had a 9 month old with us. They put us in rooms close together and gave my Mum a free bottle of champagne and a beautiful cake. They were so friendly and gave us excellent restaurant suggestions. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. The location was perfect and the live screening of the opera was close and thoroughly enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gordon from Aberdeen

Excellent Hotel

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The TV service, limited English Channels
Location: Excellent location for all sightseeing etc.
Very professional & polite staff. Hotel location is perfect for the inner ring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Windsor

Very central

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Its very central location, beautiful herb Easter display in the entrance and the very friendly and knowledgeable doormen. Tram stop and metro outside.
Cons: Room comfort - see above.
Location: Metro and tram stop straight outside. Opera 2 minutes away. Watched the Marathon go through too.
Very central hotel; beautiful entrance and friendly staff. Did not really use the facilities because so busy being a tourist! However, room was poor, felt like we were in the downtrodden part of the hotel, really hot and could not get the room temperature down. One sink did not drain properly. On the last morning the people in the flat upstairs, which apparently was not part of the hotel, decided to move furniture at 7.00am. Complained and left with a "Bristol cake" but given we had told them on arrival that the room was poor, we felt they could have reacted earlier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by janet from london

Wonderful location.

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Everything. Real old world charm with modern twists. Lovely touch to provide a brolly!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Too many things to list. Close to the StatevOpera and to the Albertina for Culture. Close to so many of the popular tourist sites!
A warm welcome from the staff, a gorgeous room in a very central location 10/10!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from Suffolk, England

How the other half live !

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Immaculately clean. Amazingly comfortable bed with a pillow brochure next to it (so we could order different pillows!). Housekeeping was amazing.
Cons: The in-house restaurant was extremely overpriced and the food was (I thought) not up to scratch. BUT if you avoided the Restaurant the rest's amazing.
Location: NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUM. Café opposite the Hotel Vienna Opera Musikverein (Where the New Years Day concert is televised) Danube Cruise
The Bristol Hotel advertises some rooms at almost £1000 a NIGHT! You won't be surprised to learn that we didn't pay anything like that. In fact we phoned Expedia because we thought they'd made a mistake...£800 for a week. They hadn't got it wrong, they had just, as they said "got us a good deal". The room wasn't overlarge but it was stunningly appointed, with a chandelier hanging in a beautifully decorated room. The hotel itself is immaculately clean and shows no trace of being tired or in need of TLC. If you look at the fire-escape chart on the wall you will see why some of the SUITES are about £1000 a night; they're humungous, but photos in the hotel brochure make all rooms appear equally good, just some are a lot bigger. For those who are inexperienced with Vienna (as we were) it is the home of very rich people, with shops and restaurants catering for them! However, opposite the hotel (part of the Vienna Opera House building) is a lovely street café where we sat and ate breakfast (and frequently lunch and dinner) EVERY DAY for 8 days. Breakfast is 30 euros per person in the hotel but we had delightful breakfasts for 1/3 that, watching the world go by (very slowly) as Austrians appear to live their lives even slower than us Suffolk people. As stated, our week cost us about £800 for the hotel and about £50 a day for our, very excellent, food. Restaurant eating was much more expensive, of course, about £100 for a full 3 course meal.