Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent hotel, staff and location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Our stay at the hotel was very good. The staff at the hotel were all terrific. The front desk staff were very warm and generous on our arrival and throughout our stay. They assisted us with directions, tickets -- everything that we needed. The hotel is well-located: #1 tram right outside the front door and Karlsplatz U-bahn station a block away. Our room was a nice size and very comfortable. I would recommend Das Triest to others and would return myself in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice Hotel with Small Problems

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location, very spacious room and clean. Wonderful staffs.
Cons: Fix the shower head to reduce the pressure so the bath can drain to avoid flooding.
Location: St. Stephen's Cathedral. Karlsplatz Metro station is five minutes walk distance. From there, you can you anywhere for any attraction in Vienna.
The hotel location is excellent. It is within walking distance to the center of the town. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a huge suite with high end living room. However the shower pressure was way too high and the bath won't drain fast enough. Taking shower is difficult. There are ton of bugs everywhere in the first floor with small backyard. I would recommend, but choose second floor or up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Das Triest

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Air conditioning stopped working and started to leak in room. Not5* quality. Very quiet hotel, but close location to a lot of tourist attractions and underground station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Very quiet. Good sized room.
Cons: Maid service could have been better.
Very quiet. Good sized room. Maid service could have been better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Not sure if it's really a five star hotel...

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Location, uber comfortable bed, great shower. and loved having the iMac instead of the TV. Also very friendly staff.
Cons: Gym was disappointing, very basic and only accessible between 8am and 9pm, which meant cutting my sightseeing short if I wanted to use it.
Location: Walking distance to most major attractions and metro will get you to the rest cheaply enough.
Firstly, this is a lovely hotel. My wife and I enjoyed a fabulous week in Vienna and the hotel was certainly a contributing factor, (though I imagine it would be hard to not enjoy Vienna in any standard of accommodation). The location, just outside of the city centre is certainly helpful, as is the reasonable proximity to the metro (though we only used that a few times as Vienna is a fairly compact city with many of the main attractions within walking distance of each other). Also handy is a small supermarket across the road, and a bakery, which meant we didn't have to rely on the minibar or room service, which would have made the stay considerably more expensive. I can't comment on the standard of the cuisine as we tended to eat out, but it certainly seemed popular among other guests. The room was clean, the bathroom was large, the staff were friendly, but I've stayed in 4 star establishments that provided all of this and I can't honestly see why Das Triest is rated as 5 stars. Perhaps if we'd sampled the cuisine, we might have found out, but for me this was a very good 4 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The soft duvet and Mac.
Cons: A house keeper didn't replaced the tissues and the toilet rolls.
Location: The location was very good and convenient to everywhere.
The hotel was very comfortable to stay. The best hotel we have stayed so far.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Markham, ON

Nice Vienna hotel close to the ring

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: I like the strong water pressure in the shower, sofa, iMac, and the flat-screen TV.
Cons: Frontdesk staff can use more smiles ; )
Location: Walk or take the tram 1 / 62 to the ring
We stayed in the Junior Suite for 5 nights on the 1st floor, facing the garden side. The room is clean, spacious, and a true "design hotel". The hotel is 1 tram stop away from the Ring, where the metro stations are within minutes of walk. Tram 62 takes me straight from the Meidling Train Station. Naschmarkt is within walking distance. The map from hotel has tram lines in there. I found it helpful and better than maps from the guidebook.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient for centre ,tram & underground

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very comfortable and clean as was all the hotel.
Location: You could get to all amenities eg parks and museums
The hotel staff were very helpful, the food was excellent and plenty of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel near to the centre

Posted Jul 30, 2014
The room was large and outside it opened to a large shared grass patio area where I sat in their open air for a while each evening. The hotel was very close to the centre of Vienna and Karlsplatz where a number of metro lines converged. Trams also stopped nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Disappointing hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, decor, towels etc
Location: Very good central location, 10 minutes walk to Albertina and the Cathedral
We stayed at Das Triest for 4 nights and when we booked it seemed a good, nice and central hotel with quite good reviews. We arrived quite late at night and the receptionist was very cold and it felt as we have distracted him from something rather more important. The room was small, not much bigger than the bathroom, not very clean and dated. There was lots of dust and a dead fly on the window the entire time (so not much cleaning in 4 days), the hall smelt of old mold, the towels were old and thin. There were stains on the carpets, pain was coming off the wall in some places and lying on the floor so I could not really walk barefoot to bed. The shower was strong, but it splattered all over the floor. Nice investment in the apple monitors, but I would have preferred a bigger screen and proper internet connection. The hotel lobby and other areas were also dated and the whole hotel felt very much like an average 3 star establishment in a very good location. Lucky Vienna is such a beautiful city and we could stay out of the room as much as possible and went there just to sleep, but even then there was noise (and occasional shakes of the walls) from the trams outside. We would not go back to Hotel Das Triest, previously we stayed at a 4 star hotel and as it was a much better place than this so called 5 star, we will be going back to the lesser rated one.