Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney,Australia

Class and comfort in imperial Vienna

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Excellent proximity to transport Wonderful breakfast Complimentary Wi Fi Able to walk to many of the tourist attractions Spacious comfortable room
Cons: Air conditioning More comprehensive English television channels
Location: Close to Freud Museum,subway station and University
Wonderful hotel in perfect location. Helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great location, wonderful historical building

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Rooms,
Cons: Bed more comfortable...
Location: Close to everything, St Stephen's Cathedral, Shopping, Opera, Musikverein, Hofburg, Museums etc etc.
Loved our stay at this hotel. Staff was helpful, courteous and nice, answered all of our questions, gave us useful information. The room was lovely, clean, comfortable and charming. The only thing I didn't like too much is the bed itself but it is very typical of Europe (very hard and uncomfortable) and lots of people love that type so I can't hold that against them. Parking of a car is outrageous at 28 euros a day but you will quickly learn that everything is very pricey in downtown and staying at this hotel is worth the money. Free wifi was spotty at best but no complaints there either as I didn't need it for work, just pleasure. It is literally steps away from the metro and tram, but walking is very doable as well (we did all three to the center). It is right by St. Stephens Cathedral and you have got to try Cafe Francaise for breakfast (as we did every morning!). We ended up getting a few snacks every morning at the metro station's small corner grocery store and I just loved shopping there! Great health foods I actually want to eat (not like all the junk in the US ;-) ). All in all, a great place to stay, relax and be in the center of all the activities! Highly recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles California

This is not a 4 star hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Nothing bad experience
Cons: Decor in the room and need new beds.
It is a old hotel no light in the room very dark , old bed we asked the room to be changed. it didn't made any difference we stop complaining, staff is rude except the Housekeeping staff and the Philippino staff.the from desk need to take customer services class.
2 out of 5
by Richard from UK

Fabulous City. Mediocre Hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Great location with underground station and tram stops within 50 metres of the hotel. Central attactions in Vienna can be walked to comfortably.
Cons: Room decor and breakfast.
Location: All the key Vienna central sights are within 20/30 minutes walk or a short tram / underground journey.
Luckily our 3 day break in wonderful Vienna meant that we had to spend little time in the Hotel. It is advertised as a 5 star hotel but frankly it is 3 star at best. It is a wonderful old building with some charm but the standard and condition of the decor and the room furnishing failed to meet the standard expected by a long long way. Breakfast buffet was basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill from Sydney, Australia

Overnight Stay.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Quiet and comfortable.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Stay was not long enough to judge.
This was a brief overnight stay on the way to somewhere else. The hotel was comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. They woke us on time and arranged the car for the airport. We were sorry not to stay longer.
2 out of 5
by Tubby from United Kingdom

This is not a hotel for tourists!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The room!
Cons: Lots - if the reception staff cannot give you time then get more staff. Get a concierge or someone who can help you.
Location: Lola Spanisches Restaurant - the best tapas ever!
I feel uncomfortable about giving negative feedback - however I think it's necessary. There was no concierge in the hotel so any information you required had to come from Reception - and it felt like you were bothering them - not all of the reception staff but the majority. Hotel de France is rated as a very good quality hotel so the staff should reflect this and they did not! Room was very good, spacious, comfortable and very clean. Good part of the city to be based in - close to most tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from NZ

Great location .

Posted Jun 13, 2014
This hotel is so good and well located we decided to stat 8 more nights !
3 out of 5
by Eoin from Moscow

Could do better.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: Free internet. Better record management. Quieter air conditioning.
Location: central
Hotel seems to have come down in the world somewhat. Name was mistyped into system. Internet was expensive, Air conditioning noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, near to attractions and tube station.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: It's location and ease of public transport. The Imperial Palace is only 1km away. The breakfast is abundant with a wide range of choice. Lovely staff.
Cons: Rooms are small for a Five Star however on a city break this didn't really matter to us as we were not in for much of the day.
Location: Walking distance to Imperial Palace and St Stephens Square, shopping and museums. Also great transport links.
Wonderful breakfast served by lovely staff. Comfortable hotel with an excellent location. You can walk to all the main sights from this hotel. Would return here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Very convenient nice city center hotel. Attractive public spaces. Prices are very reasonable as well.