Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

More a three stars then a five stars

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Well located with a nice breakfast buffet but not a 5 stars. It needs some revamping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caracas. Venezuela.

Nice Hotel. Good location. Could be cleaner.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Location and friendliness of the employees, specially at the reception.
Cons: Cleaning the room.
Location: Very good location. Close to the heart of the City.
We enjoyed very much our stay. Employees were friendly and willing to please. When we return to Vienna we will stay in The Hotel de France again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location but over priced

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Hot water, internet access, internet speed, breakfast
Location: The Vienna trams will take you anywhere in the city and the hotel is 50m away from the Schottentor hub. Major sites also within strolling distance.
This felt like a jaded three star hotel with a number of small but cumulatively large irritations. In our location on the sixth floor the water remained cold after five minutes. Internet access had to be renewed at reception every 24 hours. Internet so slow as to be unusable at times. The breakfast room was a crowded and average quality buffet. The electronic key failed twice. The view from the room was over internal venting shafts. It felt more like an attic ghetto. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location next to the Schottentor tram and U Bahn hub was excellent. We suspect that the management do not pay attention to little details that can spoil a stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in very good location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Location was the most important thing about this hotel. Right on the edge of the centre of Vienna so you step out and are literally there. Cafes very nearby for breakfast, as breakfast in hotel was very expensive at 26E each. The hotel looks very grand. I asked for a quiet room away from lifts and on the top floor, and that is exactly what I was given. Downside was that ceiling was very low as we were almost in the roof, but it was a very quiet room. Lots of space. It was a bit smelly, and previous occupant had blocked the sink with soap and left the safe open but locked, which should really have been noticed on preparing the room, but this was put right very quickly. Pressure of shower was bad, and temperature all over the place - maybe another consequence of being at the top of the hotel. All in all a perfect hotel for a weekend break in Vienna, especially if you find a good price for the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from z

Posted Sep 8, 2014
The hotel was great...fantastic location, friendly staff. It's a little old and could use some updating. The breakfast was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Not for Sightseeing in Vienna

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: We liked the welcome greeting from the staff, and their help, when we arrived. The breakfast which is included in the tariff is excellent.
Cons: The room we had was very small, although the bathroom was quite big. Some of the room fittings could be updated. The d├ęcor in reception is beautiful
Location: An old church and university nearby, and it is quite an easy walk to the Great Hall, Library and about 10-15 mins walk to St. Stephens church.
We visited this Hotel with the idea of doing the hop-on hop-off bus around Vienna, this was not possible from this Hotel as this sightseeing bus does not stop anywhere in the vicinity. You would need to catch public transport to get to the nearest bus stop. It is close to the underground railway, which you can catch to and from the airport with one change of lines, and it is close to their tram system, but not for the tourist sightseeing. It is a 10-15 min walk to the main shopping area. Not many nice places to eat nearby, but the hotel had a beautiful meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Hotel de France

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Excellent location across from the subway station. Within walking distance of all the city attractions and a short train ride from the airport. The rooms very very clean and spacious. The hotel staff spoke English and were extremely helpful. The breakfast was excellent as well. Would certainly stay there if I were to visit Wien again! Would recommend it highly for anyone travelling with family for sightseeing or for casual travel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Good hotel, very close to the University of Wien

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: More modern TV?!
Location: Hop on, hop off bus tours start from very near by and if you visit in August the film festival is in the Rathausplatz within walking distance.
The location of the hotel is great - just next to the University of Wien and also the U2 underground station and tram stop. The staff were very friendly and breakfast is great - a large choice including hot as well as cold options. The room we stayed in was quite small but the bathroom was a good size and the facilities were very good within the room. As mentioned by some previous reviewers, the hotel room was quite "old fashioned" in that the old style TV was placed high on the wall and the decor was not what you expect to find in today's modern city hotels. However, definitely cannot complain about the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Large room with great breakfast

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Size of room, breakfast
Cons: Internet access, AC
Location: Right next to public transit, the University and a few other attractions of interest. Far enough from the overly touristy areas.
I went to this hotel for a vacation in Vienna. I had a gigantic room (more than enough for 2 people though I was alone) on the top floor. It was very nice except that the AC didn't work. Since the temperature was not high enough to complain about, I did not contact the front desk about it but lower humidity would have made a difference in comfort level. The hotel was clean and well maintained otherwise.The breakfast buffet was excellent, and staff was friendly. Overall it was a pleasant experience. The one drawback, aside from the AC, was limited internet connection (need daily password, limited to 500 MB per device per day, which goes fast if one's pictures are automatically uploaded to Dropbox, for example).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

terrible wifi

Posted Aug 29, 2014
wifi was awful in my room. Swisscom their provider's internet took upto 2-3 minutes to load one webpage and a 1MB download took over an hour. I had to leave the hotel to go to a cafe to get my work done. In the lobby it was better.