Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Geat hotel close to everything.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, delicious breakfast spread
Location: Great location, close to all the must see sights.
The hotel is great, clean and the staff is friendly,courteous and knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely well situated

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, next to underground, buses and trams.
Cons: Better WiFi needed.
Met by friendly staff, all very helpful. Large room and breakfast to die for- expansive and delicious.. We had a large room which was clean and air condintioned which was needed due to the heat wave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast. Underground right outside hotel and just a few stops to all the sites. Also, the hotel is only a 15 minute walk to everything.
Location: Good restaurants nearby
The hotel is updated with good size rooms and modern baths with all the amenities you would expect. The staff is very accommodating and the breakfasts have everything you could ever want. The location is about a 15 minute walk from all the sites or a short underground ride. The underground is right outside the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Great location, helpful staff & wonderful ambience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney,Australia

Class and comfort in imperial Vienna

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Excellent proximity to transport Wonderful breakfast Complimentary Wi Fi Able to walk to many of the tourist attractions Spacious comfortable room
Cons: Air conditioning More comprehensive English television channels
Location: Close to Freud Museum,subway station and University
Wonderful hotel in perfect location. Helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great location, wonderful historical building

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Rooms,
Cons: Bed more comfortable...
Location: Close to everything, St Stephen's Cathedral, Shopping, Opera, Musikverein, Hofburg, Museums etc etc.
Loved our stay at this hotel. Staff was helpful, courteous and nice, answered all of our questions, gave us useful information. The room was lovely, clean, comfortable and charming. The only thing I didn't like too much is the bed itself but it is very typical of Europe (very hard and uncomfortable) and lots of people love that type so I can't hold that against them. Parking of a car is outrageous at 28 euros a day but you will quickly learn that everything is very pricey in downtown and staying at this hotel is worth the money. Free wifi was spotty at best but no complaints there either as I didn't need it for work, just pleasure. It is literally steps away from the metro and tram, but walking is very doable as well (we did all three to the center). It is right by St. Stephens Cathedral and you have got to try Cafe Francaise for breakfast (as we did every morning!). We ended up getting a few snacks every morning at the metro station's small corner grocery store and I just loved shopping there! Great health foods I actually want to eat (not like all the junk in the US ;-) ). All in all, a great place to stay, relax and be in the center of all the activities! Highly recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles California

This is not a 4 star hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Nothing bad experience
Cons: Decor in the room and need new beds.
It is a old hotel no light in the room very dark , old bed we asked the room to be changed. it didn't made any difference we stop complaining, staff is rude except the Housekeeping staff and the Philippino staff.the from desk need to take customer services class.
2 out of 5
by Richard from UK

Fabulous City. Mediocre Hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Great location with underground station and tram stops within 50 metres of the hotel. Central attactions in Vienna can be walked to comfortably.
Cons: Room decor and breakfast.
Location: All the key Vienna central sights are within 20/30 minutes walk or a short tram / underground journey.
Luckily our 3 day break in wonderful Vienna meant that we had to spend little time in the Hotel. It is advertised as a 5 star hotel but frankly it is 3 star at best. It is a wonderful old building with some charm but the standard and condition of the decor and the room furnishing failed to meet the standard expected by a long long way. Breakfast buffet was basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill from Sydney, Australia

Overnight Stay.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Quiet and comfortable.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Stay was not long enough to judge.
This was a brief overnight stay on the way to somewhere else. The hotel was comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. They woke us on time and arranged the car for the airport. We were sorry not to stay longer.
2 out of 5
by Tubby from United Kingdom

This is not a hotel for tourists!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The room!
Cons: Lots - if the reception staff cannot give you time then get more staff. Get a concierge or someone who can help you.
Location: Lola Spanisches Restaurant - the best tapas ever!
I feel uncomfortable about giving negative feedback - however I think it's necessary. There was no concierge in the hotel so any information you required had to come from Reception - and it felt like you were bothering them - not all of the reception staff but the majority. Hotel de France is rated as a very good quality hotel so the staff should reflect this and they did not! Room was very good, spacious, comfortable and very clean. Good part of the city to be based in - close to most tourist attractions.