Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old style hotel, with top crew and whisky bar

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Beautiful reception and staff that engage in making things good for you, without being pompous about it
Cons: WiFi has been added on by people who don't know how critical it is. Slow and congested. I am sure that detail will get fixed before you get there
Location: Walking distance to everything.
Grandeur that is inhabited by normal people. Really nice. Peter
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Single room

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Room had 2 single beds. It was the basic standard single room. Wi fi touch and go because the room was at the top of the hotel. Sink in bathroom too small and too low to do much in it e.g cleaning teeth was not straight forward because of the shelf above the sink and the height of the sink. But these are only minor gripes. I will book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2014 by Anita, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and the time for writing it. We will have a look at the mentioned problems. Wifi should work in the whole hotel properly, we will check that! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcoming you, your friends or familiy again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Yuri from Riga

Marvelous, tremendous, decent, pleasant, etc

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Just positive words and memories about every possible thing with this hotel. Everything well arranged, located, clean and ready for your use! Even those candies at the desk in lobby are surprisingly nice! My only complaint will be about smoking in bar downstairs, but in Vienna it's a rule, so it's not really complaint but a reminder for tourists. BTW it's not bothering you further then that place, where you wait for elevator, and definitely no smell in my room. Location is in few meters from one of the main shopping streets, and also close to Museum Quarter, main Vienna market , and downtown . Nice connected to subway U3 line is just by the corner. Next door to hotel food store, vegetarian restaurant, record (drum and bass/dub step/techno) and Grover store, hairdresser. On the main street plenty of shops, restaurants, cafe, bistro. Airport shuttle we took from West Station which is 15 minutes walking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2013 by Anita, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice feedback and the time you took for writing it! We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and would be happy to welcoming you, your friends or family again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Vagabonds from Florida

Reasonably priced hotel close to shopping

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed one night when we came to Vienna. It was within walking distance to the old town and right next to shopping on Mariahilfe. The room was nice and clean and even had wine glasses. Great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2013 by Anita, Hotel Management
Thanks a lot for your feedback and good rating! We are happy to hear, that you enjoyd your stay with us and would be happy to welcoming you again at any time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location, reasonable price

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was nice. No complaints. The room was a bit on the smaller side but that's just "Europe" where everything is much smaller than what I am used to in the US.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Margo from USA

Close to excellent shopping

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel lobby could use a little sprucing up. Good value for the price. Close to wonderful shopping.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R A Smith from Edinburgh

"Faulty Towers"

Posted May 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is not a hotel in the true meaning of the word. It is a pension with bed and breakfast service only. The manning of the Hotel over a weekend was minimal which meant there was no control over breakfast (starving East European coach load overwhelming the one young man on duty in the breakfast room. We went elsewhere). The lift only went to main floors and not the rooms on the mezzanine floor between main floors. As a result we had to struggle with heavy baggage up or down stairs (there was no porter just the receptionist who could not leave her post). As a 73 year old I managed to cope but not many would have done. I also wondered about the access for disabled people since the lift starts at Floor 1 and there are many steps to get up to it and to reception. The room was fine and the management very kindly donated a bottle of champagne. The room was well looked after except for the mini bar which received no attention whatsoever over the weekend. There was no bar albeit the privately owned Vienna/American bar adjoining the breakfast room, the bar is a smoking bar and cigar smoke wafts into the breakfast room. All in all a disappointing booking, not at all what we were looking for in a hotel and if I hadn't paid in advance I would have turned round in the first five minutes and gone elsewhere. We left no tip which normally I would have given.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Huntingdon, UK

Comfy & Convenient

Posted May 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very reasonably priced for a comfy, clean hotel close to the city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Michael from USA

hidden gem

Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel in the middle of downtown. Looks creepy from the outside but once we got into the room what a surprise! Clean, great service and a free bottle of wine welcome us. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying for a few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed this hotel. Right by the train that gets you all around the city. We had a really good time and the staff was really helpful. Rooms were good size and very comfortable. Bathroom had a nice large tub which was our first in Europe.