Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kay from United States

Delivered what it advertised

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
I got what I expected at the Johann Strauss--a basic hotel in an older building in a reasonably convenient neighborhood. The u-bahn is less than a block away. The staff was always pleasant and helpful to every patron. The first floor is barely above the sidewalk, so no open curtains. Plus there is a bright street light. Rooms on the corner get a lot of street noise. Further back less street noise, but no wifi. Wifi in bar slow. They do have computer with printer for boarding passes. The a/c is OK for usual temps in Vienna. Bed was OK. English language TV channels. Sufficient electrical outlets. Frig. Bath was fine, just noisy drain. Breakfast buffet extensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Wales, UK

An ideal hotel to explore from.

Posted Jul 29, 2013
A well placed hotel with large rooms and a convenient u-bahn close by. Would recommend airport transfer by s-bahn and u-bahn for under 5 euros . Plenty of choice for breakfast and rooms cleaned daily. Within walking distance of the main station and Karlsplatz.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by H Tam from Toronro

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The single elevator is so slow and small, limited 5 person/450 kg. Would have trouble getting baggage down during check out rush. May also pose problem for wheel chairs. The 19th century style one key per room with heavy weight to leave at front desk when going out, once looked from inside, no one can get in during emergency except breaking down the door. The computer desk chair is a clumsy lounge chair, not office chair with casters and height adjustment. The phone pad has no English, unable to find which one is for front desk, house keeper, maintenance or kitchen (there is no room service anyway). I have tried all keys at 11 pm to order a wake up call and none was answered. The air conditioning is a plus for hotels in this price range.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clint from Canada

Overall satisfactory. Some good, some bad.

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Breakfast buffet
Cons: The key / door lock
Location: Good location, close to subway stop.
A free breakfast buffet was included with the hotel. That was the best part. The hotel is older architecture and hasn't been renovated for a while. Also, they were a bit skimpy on the bedding provided. Overall it was a decent hotel and it was in a pretty good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

great Hotel for anyone

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: old character
Location: good location
A very nice hotel, friendly very helpful staff. Breakfast was outstanding. good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fred from South Pasadena, CA

Great Location In Vienna

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a fine hotel near the center of Vienna and within walking distance of many attractions. The front desk staff are warm and helpful and the breakfast buffet is one of best that I have experienced anywhere in Austria. My only reservation with the hotel was the quality of the matress. There were twin beds in the room. I tried using both of them and each one stressed my back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angelina from Midlands, England

The Viennese Whirls 50th Birthday Celebrations

Posted May 10, 2013
Pros: Room size and breakfast
Cons: A very small lift and toilets could have been cleaner
Location: Just 10 minutes from the central of Vienna - lovely walk and ideal location
Large and comfortable rooms, with a very welcoming breakfast with an array of choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Guildford, Surrey, UK

Good all-round gfriendly hotel in a great location

Posted May 8, 2013
Location: The location of the Johann Strauss is excellent for those visiting Vienna for the culture.
The hotel is simple and unostentatious. My room was large with a huge bed (two beds pushed together), wooden floor, adequate storage (although perhaps lacking sufficient hangars) and a room safe. Staff were unfailingly helpful, spoke good English. Breakfast wasself service but superb - excellent selection of usual continental cold meats and cheeses as well as scrambled eggs, bacon and frankfurters. Perhaps the best thing was the location; two minutes from the u-bahn and one stop from the centre of Vienna with its wealth of galleries, palaces and eateries. I would certainly use the Johann Strauss again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad & Brenda from Sherman,Texas

Worderful charm and comfort

Posted Apr 8, 2013
We enjoyed the charm and comfort of this hotel. The Breakfast was awsome! The hotel is within walking distance to many resturants and the big outdoor market. The days were cloudy, so we could not get our directional bearing from the Sun to guide us back to the Hotel. The streets are very confusing, so I recomend using a Taxi to return to the Hotel. We also recomend the Weider Brau resturant for Dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels.com