Ratings based on 5 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ting from Singapore

Where did it go wrong?

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Desiring more space and comfort, I decided to pay more and booked a Triple Room (1 double bed and 1 single bed) for 2 of us under Booking no.8019945034598. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were only given a twin room as the hotel insisted that the booking was only for 2 persons and only allocated us the twin room. We still paid the higher rates for a triple room. To be fair, the hotel is clean, convenient, provides great breakfast, staff is friendly.Had I known, I would have straight away booked the cheaper twin room option.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2014 by Christina Ehmayer, Hotel Management
Dear guest! First of all, let me thank you for your nice words regarding our breakfast and our helpful staff! You booked a triple room and wrote that there are 2 adults staying in the room therefore we have chosen a double bedroom for you as these rooms have individually decorated interiors and therefore higher comforts. We did NOT charge you for a third person as you just mentioned that there are 2 of you and not 3 although you booked a triple room. Furthermore we do not have extra triple rooms but almost every standard room can be made up for 3 people. Triple room does not mean that rooms are bigger, it just means that we make a 3rd bed ready in the room! I am very sorry that there was a misunderstanding in this matter but I would reccomend for the next time staying with us that you simply ask for a large room! All the best from Vienna
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jake from vancouver, BC, canada

Great location but noisy

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Right by all the main sights. A short walk from Westbanhof. Only concern is the rooms do not have an air conditioner so you need to leave the windows open and it is noisy all night
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Johannes, Hotel Management
Dear guest! Thank you for your nice words regarding our Hotel Kugel! We do provide strong fans during summer time but in April it is still cool in Vienna and we have the central heating on for the comfort of our guests. All the best from Vienna! Christina
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Justin Key from Zurich, Switzerland

Loved the room!

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Kugel was a lovely boutique hotel just outside of the Museum District in Vienna (approx. 5 min walk to the Museum Quarter). My wife and I were attracted to the hotel due to its good location, reasonable prices, free breakfast, and unique look. Despite the good reviews for Hotel Kugel, I was still surprised by how nice our room was. It seemed like everything in the room was very new or well taken care of, despite how old the rest of the hotel appeared to be. The bathroom was also in very good shape and the beds were very comfortable. My only complaint about Hotel Kugel was the amount of noise that came from the street outside during the night. There is a tram line that runs directly in front of the building that can be quite loud late at night or early in the morning. The noise was compounded by the fact that we kept our window open at night to keep the room cool. All in all the quality of the hotel outweighed the problem with the noise from outside. The friendly staff, good breakfast, free Wi-Fi and the overall comfort of the room would make the inclined to give Hotel Kugel a look if we were ever back in Vienna. Four Stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Fiddletown, CA

Wonderful Vienna Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The very nice rooms, excellent service, and very good breakfast that is included with the price of your room. Great location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is located about a 20 minute walk away from the Museum Quarter and a few minutes further to the city center. Or catch the tram across the street.
We last visited Vienna in December 2001. We stayed at Hotel Kugal for about ten days and loved the hotel's traditional atmosphere and gracious host and proprietor Hannes Roller. We always knew that we would stay here again when we came back to this great city.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by the travel agen from London

good location.

Posted Dec 28, 2013
not bad but I found better hotels for better rates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Johannes, Hotel Management
Dear anonymous! First of all, thank you so much for staying with us! It was such a pleasure to have you here and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our location which is definitely one of the best available in all of Vienna! Value, of course, is a different thing and obviously you have been too busy and had not the time to fully appreciate our historic setting and commitment to the city´s history, therefore we would be so glad to welcome you again to give you the opportunity to experience our yet undiscovered values.