Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fred from Essex, UK

Mercure Westbahnhof, Wien

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: building
Location: Westbahnhof - excellent transport links. Mariahilfer Strasse - Vienna's main shopping street runs 100 metres away.
We stayed at the Mercure for 4 nights on a cheap deal through Expedia. It is only about 50 metres from Westbahnhof station but on very wet day we missed the entrance first time around. Reception staff were friendly and obliging, changing our twin-bedded room (as mandated by Expedia) to one with a double bed without charge. The hotel comprises two separate buildings linked by a conference facility on the ground floor. Our room 357 looked out on the busy Gurtel with plenty of traffic and red trams to look at. The double glazing was very effective but open the window to get cool as the aircon was rather basic and the noise was very loud. Our room was quite small but just about adequate with hanging wardrobe, desk, stool, one armchair and medium sized TV. There was a small kettle and makings for hot drinks. The bathroom had bath with shower over. Liquid soap dispensers, of course, as the Mercure is one of the Accor group. Good domestic service. No WiFi in the room. Breakfast choice and quality was excellent. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, and it was very good indeed. The bar was adjacent and very comfortable and relaxing. There is a well-equipped sauna suite but it was not hot when I visited. It seems it has to be reserved. A simple process: just ask, it's switched on and 20 minutes later the sauna is ready. Spotlessly clean and stacks of towels. Great hotel for its transport location; very good food but accommodation rather basic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen from South Wales U K

Good hotel 20 minutes from city centre

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Clean tidy hotel
Cons: Complementary tea/coffee in room(all drinks in room in minibar)
Location: 20-30 minutes walk from museum district, which leads on to royal place and old centre of Vienna. Near railway station and underground
Good clean hotel. Hotel 20-30 minutes walk from museum district. Near Vienna west train station and underground. I had a double corner room to myself, so plenty of space. Room and bathroom clean. Shower in corner of bath bit awkward, but fine. TV with number of local stations plus CNN BCC news. Checking in/out staff fine, speaking excellent English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Alex from US

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had to pay extra 10 euro for wifi that was really slow. Other than that, the staff was friendly and customer service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vadim from St. Petersburg RUS

A Good hotel with a very good location!

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Very good breakfasts, excellent location< fiiendly staff. Clean room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good for Westbahnhof

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not bad overall. The room was slightly smaller than I was expecting and the beds were not very comfortable. Small TV with only one or two channels in English. Poor water pressure on the shower, overall facilities in the room appeared to be a bit outdated - in need of renovation in line with what has been done in the lobby/Bar/reception areas. Reception staff friendly and accommodating. I had to leave a 50 euro cash deposi, which was returned to me without any trouble the next day. You can also leave a credit card. Nice bar but at 6,00 euros for a weak espresso coffee and small mineral water, too expensive! Cannot comment on the breakfast because I didn't have it, but at 19,00 euros it seemed, again, very expensive. Location sited my needs - just a short walk down to the Westbahnhof, but I will try the "Motel One" next time, which looked new and it's literally next door to the Westbahnhof , might even be part of the same complex. Final note: area is a bit scruffy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service standard

Posted Oct 26, 2013
The location wise is the best(in front of the westbahnhof ),total service(reception,restraint) were I satisfied. If you want to become superior class, you need more training for your all aspect of your staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall OK. The hotel is next to the main train station in Vienna which was very convenient for us. The surrounding neighborhood wasn't the best, but the convenience to trains and metro was more important to us. My main complaint was the internet. There was only wi-fi in the lobby. We were supposed to have high speed internet via a plug in cable in the room but could never get it to work. The front desk wasn't too helpful with that either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Azza from Egypt

Wonderful

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Staff members are cooperative
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near city center and main railway station
Comfortable stay wonderful staff near city center very good in everything
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by nita from canada

Great Breakfast

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel because of its location. We were traveling through Austria on a rail pass and this hotel was only a minute from the station. It was very clean and comfortable especially after a very long flight. The best part of our stay was the wonderful complimentary breakfast the hotel provided. It was the perfect way to send us off on our train travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by leo

That was nice stay there, service, breakfast ****

Posted Jul 8, 2013
I can recomend this place, good service, good proce