Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geri from London

Pleasant hotel in old Jewish quarter

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location/service
Cons: Toilet flush (took several attempts each time)
Location: As above
A very pleasant hotel in a quiet side street, just a few minutes walk along the cobblestone streets to wine bars, coffee shops, restaurants. The spectacular cathedral is only a 5 minute walk away, as are many shops, and the romantic horse&carriage rides.
2 out of 5
by Andy from Boulder, CO

Hotel not as it seems—and hair everywhere

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was very helpful and extremely kind.
Cons: See above…
Location: Good, central location. If you are in the new building, it is even closer (by a block or so).
Let me start by saying the people were extremely nice and the location was great. Outside of that, the facilities were very lacking. We arrived in a beautiful and modern lobby, but after checking in were told that we were in the "older building down the street." We bring our luggage to the other building that doesn't have anyone working there behind reception. We go up to our room and notice 20-30+ short black hairs on the white comforters. The room was small and extremely outdated. I am very sorry, but I just can't recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by WH from Virginia

Good Vienna Choice

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mercure sets the bar for modern mini-room hotels. Grwar design; excellent service. But small rooms. Perfect 1-2 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mags from Southampton UK

City centre hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2013
The staff are charming and very helpful. The room was comfortable especially the bed. The room and bathroom were clean and very acceptable. The TV was poor for English customers, only CNN news. A very enjoyable stay and highly recommended. Good food and bar service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Ron from Australia

Poor Experience

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Cons: Respecting that a building site is not what we paid to stay in.
Although we booked months before, we arrived to find we were put in the middle of a major renovation project which stated at 7.30 am and continued noisily until 6.30 pm. The builders blocked both lifts which meant we could not get in or out. We later found they had a sister hotel nearby with vacant rooms. Not a happy experience. Try to avoid this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Su from Dublin

Very Central

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was great. Staff were extremely helpful. It is so close to the centre. Less than a 5 minute walk. There's a nespresso machine in the lobby so you can help yourself to free coffee anytime. Breakfast was good too. Only complaint was the AC wasn't working so room was a bit warm. Super location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Levent from Wassenaar, The Netherlands

Central hotel with comfortable rooms

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Central location, price, convenience
Cons: Breakfast is expensive (twice as expensive compared to breakfast you could get at nearby - touristic - cafes at half price and not that rich.
Location: Close to the shopping district and the Stephansdom. A few hundred metres from the Underground.
This hotel is in a very central part of Vienna, within walking distance of the Underground and the pedestrian shopping district ("Graben"). Rooms are quite spacious. You have to note that hotel rooms are in two separate buildings 50 metres apart. I was surprised to find out that they still provide smoking rooms, I thought this was more or less impossible in Europe by now. One of the buildings does not continuously have staff, but you can use your room card to open the outside door any time. The hotel has free wireless Internet. The only problem we had was that the heating system was centrally managed and was a bit cold for our taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karti from Washington, DC

Excellent value

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed two nights in this hotel and we're extremely satisfied. We were booked originally in the Annexe but the staff were helpful in finding us a room in the main building. We were told that when refurbishment of the Annexe is completed (expected next year) it will be superior to the main building but as of now the latter is much to be preferred. The location is ideal for visiting the main tourist sites and we would happily stay in this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central location

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: value for money. location
Cons: Aircon in rooms
Location: very central
Hotel OK but need to sort out their zircon. Good value for money otherwise.