Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, great location

Posted Jul 10, 2014
This is a comfortable if unpretentious hotel in a great location. A good value. A negative is no English language TV channels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aileen from UK

Hotel near all tourist attractions.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Situation and friendly staff. Our room was on the top floor which was very quiet. We liked looking out onto the roof tops.
Cons: We would have liked a kettle in our room to make tea/coffee jn the morning.
We are in our seventies and this was our first visit to Vienna. We were able to walk to all the main tourist attractions and cafes and felt safe in tis environment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted May 5, 2014
Easy to find and negotiate our way round Vienna. Rooms were comfortable, staff v friendly and accommodating to our needs. The walls were thin between rooms - we were woken every morning by the baby in room next door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location but some problems arose

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: Location. Quick response to problems.
Cons: Several problems arose with the rooms and the technology.
Location: Lots of good restaurants, loads of galleries and museums, cathedrals and shows. Everything was walking distance as Vienna has a compact city centre.
There are two branches of this hotel on the same street. We were booked in for 3 nights. The first night we checked in we found the safe was locked and the room far too warm, with the air conditioning controls having no effect. There was a sign on the window saying not to open it because of the air con. When we rang reception we discovered that the air con in our building was centrally controlled and was currently on a heating setting because it was 'cold' outside (it wasn't). She advised us to open the window, which we did. Because there was no way of securing the outward-opening windows they spent all night blowing open and closed and banging. There was also a lot of street noise. We slept very badly and complained the next morning, when we were moved to the other branch further down the street which had individual room air con controls. We were happy with this as it was essentially a free upgrade. That night we bought 'Frozen' to watch on the hotel TV. The picture was poor quality and an hour in the film stopped. It turned out there had been a hotel-wide tech error with the internet going down too. Eventually they restored access to the film but only from the beginning and we didn't want to watch the first hour again, so now we don't know the ending to Frozen! Following all this faff we tried to turn the TV off and go to sleep but the TV would not switch off. In the end someone had to come from reception and unplug its cabling. Ridiculous series of problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Brighton, UK

Good value Hotel, in the centre of Vienna

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: See the above
Cons: It would have been nice to have tea / coffee making facilities in the room.
Location: The hotel is bang in the centre of Vienna. I suggest that you buy a big guide book for things to do as 150 characters won't really do Vienna justice!
This was the cheapest hotel in the centre of Vienna on the Expedia web site. Room was very clean, air conditioned and the bed was comfortable. Shower was powerful and warmed up quickly. All staff were friendly and spoke perfect English. All in all it formed a perfect base to explore Vienna. One thing though, the TV proved a pain. menus were hard to navigate. Turned out we had been given the wrong remote.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Geri from London

Pleasant hotel in old Jewish quarter

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location/service
Cons: Toilet flush (took several attempts each time)
Location: As above
A very pleasant hotel in a quiet side street, just a few minutes walk along the cobblestone streets to wine bars, coffee shops, restaurants. The spectacular cathedral is only a 5 minute walk away, as are many shops, and the romantic horse&carriage rides.
2 out of 5
by Andy from Boulder, CO

Hotel not as it seems—and hair everywhere

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was very helpful and extremely kind.
Cons: See above…
Location: Good, central location. If you are in the new building, it is even closer (by a block or so).
Let me start by saying the people were extremely nice and the location was great. Outside of that, the facilities were very lacking. We arrived in a beautiful and modern lobby, but after checking in were told that we were in the "older building down the street." We bring our luggage to the other building that doesn't have anyone working there behind reception. We go up to our room and notice 20-30+ short black hairs on the white comforters. The room was small and extremely outdated. I am very sorry, but I just can't recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by WH from Virginia

Good Vienna Choice

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mercure sets the bar for modern mini-room hotels. Grwar design; excellent service. But small rooms. Perfect 1-2 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mags from Southampton UK

City centre hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2013
The staff are charming and very helpful. The room was comfortable especially the bed. The room and bathroom were clean and very acceptable. The TV was poor for English customers, only CNN news. A very enjoyable stay and highly recommended. Good food and bar service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com