Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire UK

Shame about the beds

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: If there are no double beds guests should be advised at time of booking.
Location: 20 min walk into Vienna city center or 10 mins on the excellent tram service. Loads of museums and places to visit in the city.
I booked a double room for me and my wife, but on arrival the room had 2 single beds.There was a large light fitting which prevented us pushing the singles together. On inquiring at reception if we could move to a room with a double I was informed that the hotel has no double or king sized beds. There is nothing in the hotel blurb that says this is the case, so we were a little disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter, UK

A budget gem

Posted Jul 14, 2014
My room at the Senator was clean, bright and modern. It was not huge, but it was comfortable and well equipped. In addition to the essentials, it had AC, a mini-fridge, a document safe and a wall-mounted hairdryer (in the shower room). It was at the front of the hotel, which meant that while the double glazing kept the room quiet, opening a window at night meant quite a lot of road noise and the sound of early morning deliveries to the otherwise conveniently located Lidl next door. Still, having (fairly quiet) AC mitigated that issue. I did not eat breakfast in the hotel, but it seemed like a standard continental buffet. I found all the hotel staff to be courteous, friendly and helpful, and although slightly out from the centre of the city, it's easy to catch the 43 tram from just outside the hotel down to the University which is on the edge of the Ringstraße (the circuit that encloses the central part of the city). The public transport in Vienna is cheap, well-integrated and reliable, which makes using it a pleasure rather than a chore (a week's pass covering all tram, subway, train and bus journeys in the city is just over €16). Overall, I was pleased that I'd chosen to pay less and stay slightly further out than many of my co-delegates at the conference I was attending at the University, and didn't hear many tales of opulence or superior service from those who paid twice as much to stay in the centre. If you're on a tight budget, I'd say Senator is an excellent choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good position for site seeing.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The Hotel rooms are very nice and have a safe deposit box and attractive furnishings.
The Hotel Senator is is located within 2 minutes walk to the tram stop. The public transport system is excellent. We bought a weekly ticket and as we stayed for 5 nights it was a really good way to see everything in Venice. Close to the Hotel is a supermarket and lots of small eateries.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not recommend this hotel

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Breakfast Buffet
Cons: no idea
Location: no idea
this hotel is a low-cost group tours hotel hotel room is Entirely different picture
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Melbourne

Lovely hotel, close to public transport

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: The room was comfortable, clean and functional.
Cons: nothing
Location: The tram was outside the hotel into the city, it was close to the airport, thee were eateries and bars close by.
The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

10-minutes tram to City

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Peacefulness of the hotel away from city centre. Next to supermarket Lidl.
Cons: Wifi at night can be extremely unstable. Please improve.
Location: Last minute shopping at Lidl supermarket. Places to eat are 3 tram stops away at Alser Strasser Metro station
The hotel did not provide adequate direction when we booked. Here it is. Take the Purple Metro to Schottentor station. Then take Tram 43 to Rosensteingasse (about 10 minutes). Hotel is just next to Lidl on the left side of the Tram stop. The distance to city was not a problem for us and the hotel is value for money. So, I would greatly recommend people to stay with Hotel Senator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by James from Dublin

Outta town but worth it.

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a smashing little hotel with friendly staff and good quality rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gregory

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J & H Rayner from Rhodes, Greece

Good hotel near great transport links

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable and ideal for our requirements.
Cons: Would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in rooms for early morning/late night drinks without having to go down to reception area bar.
Location: Just 2 minutes walk from tram stop for city (15mins away). A couple of places to eat inside nearby. Takeaways also available.
Found this hotel when looking for a flight to Vienna. Saw mostly good reports so booked it. Found the hotel very easily. Just took the airport bus to Westbahnhof, which cost 8euro per person which can be bought either at the airport info desk, or on the bus itself, then a number 9 tram, which stopped just around the corner from the hotel which was 2 mins walk away. Found the hotel staff helpful and the hotel very comfortable. Room was clean and comfortable and cleaned every day. We used the hotel as a base for our trip which was for 1 week. The supermarket Lidl next door was great for croissants for as we don't usually eat a large breakfast so didn't use the hotel breakfast room. Didn't buy the Vienna card which is available giving some discount to places of interest, but bought a 1 week travel ticket for just over 15 euros each online. These are from midnight Sun/Mon until 9am the following Monday. This is for use on trams, buses and U bahn unlimited travel. Ideal for travelling around freely. We didn't have to show them all the time we were there, but there are conductors checking from time to time. The city itself was just WOW!! Lots to do and see. We used McDonalds cafes (plenty around) for lovely lattes and cookies occasionally. Lots of outside cafes and green areas, which are well kept and very peaceful. Would definitely recommend city and hotel to others, and fingers crossed, will be going back again soon.
1 out of 5
by Jorge from The Woodlands, Texas

WORST hotel in Vienna!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
This is by far the worst hotel me and my wife have ever stayed in Europe. Location is awfull, too far from interest places like Hofburg Palace, Cafe central, Albertina and others. Staff was the WORST! The ladies (all of them) in the front desk were usefull, they did not know how to treat people in a polite manner. There is nothing around this hotel (not even a restaurant) or pharmacy. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!