Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom England

Functional hotel reasonably close to city centre

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Proximity to city centre
Cons: It really needs to be updated
Location: Close to city and Danube canal. there are some small restaurants and bars nearby but you really need to cross the canal to the main city.
The hotel is functional but a bit dated. It is more like a business hotel than for a city break. Some of the d├ęcor is dated and our room needed redecoration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NL, Canada

Reasonable stroll to the center of Vienna

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Staff were helpful in arranging concert tickets. The breakfast was better than you often receive at European hotels.
Cons: The hotel hallways and elevator look somewhat worn and in need of sprucing up.
Location: Easy to reach most sites as the underground and trams are an easy walking distance. Dinner and concert at the Kursalon was worthwhile.
The room offered in the hotel seemed smaller and appointed differently than represented on the Expedia site. We ultimately accepted the room offered as the alternate offered was less attractive. The room turned out to be fine. The breakfast was very good. Tea and coffee were always available in the lobby. The staff were helpful in booking concert tickets and arranging airport transport, etc. This hotel was an easy stroll to the historic section of Vienna and easy to access the convenient Metro systems in Vienna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Acceptable hotel in very good location

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The staff are all wonderful, starting at reception and in the restaurant and other areas of the hotel. The breakfast is superb.
Cons: Smoking is still prevalent in Austria and you will notice this along the hotel corridors. The first room I was allocated on 7th floor had smoking.
Location: Very good location. Take the airport bus (rather than the very expensive CAT airport train). The bus and indeed trams no 1 and 2 stop nr hotel
The hotel dates back to the 1960s and could do with some refurbishment. The rooms are quite small and the decor is dated and a little tired. The hotel faces a main road crossing, but I had a room on the 6th floor facing the back 'garden'. There is no garden, but high rise blocks of flats with permanent noise from an adjacent building site. Though quiet at night, but workers started at 7 am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good location and value for money

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff. Excellent and very clean bathroom in the room (the public WC downstairs was also very clean). Good selection of teas and coffees.
Cons: Some carpets may need refurbishing based on the initial room we were allocated (the one we had for our stay was fine).
Location: The location, on Hollandstrasse, is just across the Donau Canal from the inner city and 5 minutes walk from Schwedenberg U Bahn and trams which we fou
Two of us stayed for four nights. Initially we were given a twin room having booked a double but this was quickly corrected - the staff were helpful with this and other queries. Setting the aircon was a bit of a struggle but I think this was our lack of expertise. There was some noise from the street but not excessive. The room was clean and tidy and kept that way. Our room only had a shower but it was a good one - we liked the presence of the plastic yellow duck! The elevator could be a bit slow (we were on the 7th floor). We did not use the bar or little business centre, or eat in the hotel so cannot comment on these.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by marwan saadifrom montreal , canada

nice hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
the location was good. staff are friendly and helpful. the standard room was too small
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mikefrom Aberdeenshire

Nice quiet location

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nothing special but in a nice location pretty close the sights and city center. Showers were a bit pathetic though. I would however use again as for the price and location it was good enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom geneseo, ny

Great location. Close to Stephenpkatz.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to old town

Posted Jul 14, 2014
good complimentary breakfast and accessibity to historic sites
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MEL

Neither the wifi nor the ethernet cable worked

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We were disappointed to find that although the hotel claimed to provide free wifi in the rooms, the wifi was out of order. We forgave them for this as unexpected problems like this can occur and they assured us that we could still access the internet via an ethernet cable plugged into a laptop. However we found that in our particular room this also didn't work. Upon reading previous reviews on expedia we also found that people had experienced problems with the wifi at this hotel from as long ago as March. This told us that their wifi problem is obviously an ongoing one which you would think they would have fixed by now... Or removed the 'free wifi' statement from their hotel advertisements. It seemed they could do nothing about the faulty ethernet cable in the room that we were paying far too much for... Or at least they acted that way... It wasnt until we explicitly and politely asked if we could change rooms that they seemed to realise this was possible. We were content in our new room even though there was still no wifi and rather than a queen bed, we were given two single beds. We didn't want to complain again so we just left it although we were still a little annoyed as this hotel was a little out of our price range to begin with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elizabethfrom Los Angeles

Great hotel for the price.

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic front desk service. A nice hotel trying to be a hip chain. Everything was fine, it just needs a little updating. For the price, I was happy to walk 10 minutes to old town, but the museums and other touristy things are on the other side of the city.