Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from geneseo, ny

Great location. Close to Stephenpkatz.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to old town

Posted Jul 14, 2014
good complimentary breakfast and accessibity to historic sites
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MEL

Neither the wifi nor the ethernet cable worked

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We were disappointed to find that although the hotel claimed to provide free wifi in the rooms, the wifi was out of order. We forgave them for this as unexpected problems like this can occur and they assured us that we could still access the internet via an ethernet cable plugged into a laptop. However we found that in our particular room this also didn't work. Upon reading previous reviews on expedia we also found that people had experienced problems with the wifi at this hotel from as long ago as March. This told us that their wifi problem is obviously an ongoing one which you would think they would have fixed by now... Or removed the 'free wifi' statement from their hotel advertisements. It seemed they could do nothing about the faulty ethernet cable in the room that we were paying far too much for... Or at least they acted that way... It wasnt until we explicitly and politely asked if we could change rooms that they seemed to realise this was possible. We were content in our new room even though there was still no wifi and rather than a queen bed, we were given two single beds. We didn't want to complain again so we just left it although we were still a little annoyed as this hotel was a little out of our price range to begin with.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to old Vienna - but no character

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the older central part of Vienna
For the money room was small and close to the elevator which you could here all night. Also of the nine hotels we stayed in on our trip was the only one with a cost associated with access and use of their wi-fi network. Just didn't have a positive feel about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Seattle

Fair Value

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: All of the staff were uniformly courteous, professional and quite helpful- a real plus for this hotel.
Cons: The optional breakfast was overpriced and its offerings had a sense of indifference. One meal was enough for us to head elsewhere to begin the day.
Location: The location was the other strong point, just across the river from the old city center. Easily walkable base.
This hotel is part of a chain, and as such conveys a certain homogeneous experience. Our room was considerably smaller than the website photos had conveyed, but were more or less adequate for two given the nature of touring in which one is mostly out and about. Relative to the room pricing, however, it was a fair value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luanda, Angola

Disconnected from the world

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Location is convinient, close to the bus and train stops
Cons: Hotel staff need to be more proactive.
Location: Bus stops, restaurants
The stay at Mercure was ok. The 4 days we stayed at the hotel, the internet was not working the entire time. The sheet were not replaced during the entire stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sandy & Dariel from Miami

Excellent location!

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located in a very good area and within walking distance to main attractions. The staff was also very helpful. I would suggest to change currency before getting to Vienna. The hotel only change small amounts per day. You will have to go to a bank (Bank of Austria) or a Currency Exchange location (which are limited). Overall, excellent location and very helpful staff. The hotel is also close to metro station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by KL from UK

Great location - disappointing hotel

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mecure hotels are usually a bit special - this one was not. It is located in what has the appearance of a rather drab converted office block. The rooms were tiny, although on the plus side there is a full size bath rather than a shower. Breakfast was mediocre and expensive. However all is not bad because the location is great and the area is quiet and interesting. The Karmalite market is just up the road where you can get a much better and far cheaper breakfast and close by are some really good and reasonably priced restaurants. Also the hotel is situated within walking distance of old Vienna which is across the Danube canal and close to a U-bahjn station. So in summary - great location - average hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Nice experience in the great Viena. The hotel was what we expected
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by OLIVER AND DIANA. from NEWRY- IRELAND.

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
BOTH IN SEVENTIES- FOUND HOTEL VERY COMFORTABLE -EXCELLENT BREAKFAST -STAFF CORTIOUS/EFFICIENT - HOTEL CLOSE TO ,AIRPORT BUS AND METRO -FOUND IT HANDY RE.SHOPPING AND JUST 2 METRO STOPS FROM CITY HALL/CHRISTMAS MARKET-"ALL IN ALL" A NICE EXPERIENCE.