Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent
Cons: Interior. Facilities - no bath - no English TV channels to even check the weather before you left for the day
Location: Lots of attractions / shopping close by. Easy walking distance to the opera house
Interior a bit drab and could do with a make over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Elegant Viennese small hotel in a great location!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Location: Vienna State Opera, Albertina Art Museum, Karls Kirche, Musikverein, easy to walk to many sites associated with Mozart, Stefan's Dom, many cafés
We just stayed 5 nights at the family-owned 12-room Opera Suites and loved it! It was such a great location, about a block north of the Karlsplatz U-bahn stop and about 5 blocks south on Kärntner Strasse (one of the chief shopping streets) from the Stefan's Dom in the city center. The staff (especially Ina and Yvonne!) were friendly and extremely helpful. Our very spacious (by European standards) with high ceilings double superior room above the street was almost completely quiet despite activity below; the sound-proofing was excellent. Safe and mini-bar fridge in room. Lovely traditional Viennese decor; TV had many channels. It was helpful to have several coat and robe hooks in the room for additional clothes' usage. Also, more electrical outlets than in some hotels. Note: the shower is a typical small (almost square) one, but we have experienced worse as to size. We didn't ask for a room-service breakfast but it is available and very reasonable in cost. The only suggestion I would have is maybe to have some softer pillows (down/down alternative) available upon request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, great location!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
I had the most pleasant stay at this hotel in Vienna. The staff were very professional and helpful. This was my first time visiting Vienna, and I fell in love with this city. I would consider again staying at this hotel if I am ever to visit this beautiful city again in the future.
1 out of 5
by Bruce from Australia

Walked Out

Posted May 12, 2014
A very poor standard. Entrance just a hole in the wall. Reception was a desk in a corridor. No night time staff. Room allocated 1 metre from desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Amazing place

Posted Apr 22, 2014
It was a wonderful stay.Great staff and very comfortable room to enjoy Easter weekend very close to Stephansplatz.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by 50th bd girls from uk

Great central location, very clean & comfortable

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, comfort, style & price!
Cons: Some may be bothered by possible noise at height of season from pedestrian city centre location but it was not a problem for us.c
Location: Central to galleries, opera house,bus tours, shopping, churches, staadpark, and 10 mins walk to belvedere, main church, natural history museum.
Just back from a fab break in Vienna. Would highly recommend opera suites - we had large room for 3 adults - all very clean, well furnished and comfortable. Large spotless ensuite shower & loo, even a little kitchenette and sofa. Staff very helpful. Location very close to opera house, galleries, shopping, in fact we walked to almost everything we wanted to see. Starbucks right next door for morning coffee or late night cuppa and plenty of good restaurants close by. Would definitely stay there again. Had read other reviewers tips to find so we found it easily. Doorway slightly set back right next to Starbucks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ken and Marsha from Monterey california

Wonderful location, friendly staff

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Opera Suites is in an ideal location to explore the wonders of Vienna. It is directly across the pedestrian only Kaertnerstrasse from the Sacher Hotel and its famous Sacher Cafe (home of the Sacher torte). It is steps from the elegant Vienna Opera house. During our stay around New Years, the operas were broadcast live in front of the building with good sound on an NFL sized screen. On nights we didn't attend the opera we could hear it faintly wafting in our windows in the evening. Everything within the confines of the Ringstrasse is easily accessible on foot from here.The trams and metro are only a couple of blocks away. There is great food, from elegant restaurants to the best of Viennese street food right on the street. Do not be put off by the entrance to the building, which is easily the most inelegant entryway on the street. It is seedy and somewhat under construction. Inside the elevator is so small that 2 people with a small amount of luggage barely fit. However, once upstairs, the reception is staffed by sweet and helpful people who gave us wonderful directions, champaign on New Years Eve and a 2014 cake all gratis. Likewise everything in the well stocked mini bar (including wine) was free and replaced on a daily basis. Our room was large with a couch and chairs and a comfortable bed. The room overlooked the always crowded and festively lit street. The Opera Suites may not be grand by Viennese standards, but it is a comfortable and friendly place to see the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Malinda from NC, USA

Must stay in Vienna

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in an amazing location and while it is a little tricky to find basically you need to know the door is next the Starbucks. This hotel is a great find, it was reasonably priced, the rooms are fantastic! We walked to the Spanish Riding School which isn't far away and the entire area around there is great for walking and seeing Vienna both the old town area, the more modern shopping, and it is near the Opera houses as well! If you can make it happen it is worth the stay - do it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Max from Gothenburg

Central and classy/old

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good hotel in a rather old building. Viennese style. However, don't expect the standard 4 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from London

Nice hotel, if a little tricky to find at first ,

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Great hotel, lovely rooms and great character. One tip is location, its perfect but initially hard to find as the door is back from the main street, just before the Starbucks on the corner, it looks like a shop entrance but when you turn in you see its the door to the building. Otherwise a fab hotel and thoroughly recommended.