Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cathy from BC

Great breakfast buffet

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
A little noisy outside at night but the hotel was run very well and the breakfast buffet was just fantastic. They were also very hepful with information for getting around in Vienna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by Sonja Kavka, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time and writing a review about our house. Fine that you had a lovely time with us and that you also enjoyed our offer for Breakfast .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Quebec

Simple comforts in central Vienna

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: A firm mattress, a spacious room, good, fresh food, and kind staff.
Cons: Extra glazing on the windows would reduce noise.
Location: I chose it because it is near the Albertina museum and not far from several others. I also went to the opera a couple of blocks away.
Pension Aviano is tucked in a short side-street between a wide pedestrian shopping street and an old market-place, on two floors of an old mansion, as is often the case with European hotels. To my surprise, unlike most of these, my room was very spacious and gracious (they kindly gave me an up-grade because I was staying for four nights), with the special feature of a little bay with windows on three sides looking down on the main street and a view of the beautiful steeple of St. Stephansdom, as well as an ancient church to the left side. All was very clean and comfortable, though kept very simple. A full breakfast was provided, with the abundance of fruit especially appreciated. The staff were very helpful. I found the location excellent for most anything you might want to see in the old centre. The one disadvantage was that strollers in Karntnerstrasse could be noisy at night, but that is a common enough problem for light sleepers in Europe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2014 by Sonja Kavka, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thanks for writing a review about our house. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our service so much. Strollers on K├Ąrntnerstrasse are a problem, since the rest of the City is so quiet during the night. Unfortunately there is not much we can do about this. For light sleepers we offer earplugs at the Reception. Sonja Kavka
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fran├žois from Luembourg

Aviano Wien

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel vastly over represents its star rating. It is barely a hostel but puts itself in a category to honestly does not deserve. I can not recommend this hotel to anyone looking to enjoy a cozy and intimate place. it is barely good enough for a budget conscious student looking for a well located place. Avoid if you have any means and desire to enjoy a place that you hope will impress you. Cheers.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Sonja Kavka, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our Pension. To clarify the point of rating ourself, we have to inform you that the Vienna Tourist Board is rating most of the Hotels, Pensions and B&B and Hostels in Vienna, accept those who wish no rating at all. There is of course a major difference between a 4 star Hotel and a 4 star Pension. It would have been nice of you to talk to the Reception or the Management during your stay to clarify what exactly you did not like and if would have been able to offer you another room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by M. Davidson from NYC

Perfect location for price

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Can't beat the location and price comparison with other hotels nearby. Older hotel on top two floors, but the room was big (albeit tiny shower).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2014 by Sonja Kavka, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for writing a review and for pointing out the major advantages of our Pension.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed this hotel. I'm not sure we would stay here in the summers as the room did not appear to have air conditioning. The location was very good for seeing the major sites and museums in Vienna.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Sonja Kavka, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for the review. We would love to be able to provide air-conditioning, but unfortunately we are not able. Nevertheless we hope that you enjoyed all the other positive aspects of your stay. Sonja Kavka
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to the essentials.

Posted Dec 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was nice, clean, and the reception hosts were extremly helpful and charming. Location was perfect for city center activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Sonja Kavka, Hotel Management
Thanks for the kind words and the goog review. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really is a "Secret" Gem

Posted Nov 19, 2012
From the lobby this hotel doesn't look like much, but when you arrive upstairs, it has lots of charm and character. The rooms are lovely, spacious, and well decorated Baroque style. Staff is super friendly and the break fast is great. Location can't be beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet Gem in a Great Location

Posted Nov 2, 2012
Very quiet location, very friendly staff and comfortable room. Great location close to everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annamaria from Michigan

Best location

Posted Sep 29, 2012
Pros: Its location.
Cons: The comforter was too warm for a couple of warm nights. No A/C
Location: We were with 5-10 minutes walking of all the major sights.
This is a wonderfully central hotel - 5 minutes walking from major sights. There is no A/C, and one night it got too warm for the comforter. If you don't like street noise, ask for a room off the pedestrian street. Helpful and very pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2012 on Hotels.com