Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Great hotel and great prices!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Upgrade the room decor
Location: Horseback riding. Bio bay tour a must.
Penny and her staff are absolutely wonderful! They are extremely helpful and friendly and very laid back. The hotel rooms are clean even though it may have an older feel. The views are beautiful and the animals are a big plus. Overall we would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Not for everyone

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the personnel and the closeness with the country side.
Cons: Improve buildings maintenance and room facilities. Information about the history and ecology of Vieques will help.
Location: Vieques is a very small island; therefore, everything is relatively close.
This hotel is not in competition with more luxurious establishments. However, for those in search for the true 'feeling' of the Vieques countryside it is very adequate. Personnel is extremely friendly and helpful in many ways. If you're looking for 'fancy tourism' environment this is not the hotel you're looking for. If you're looking for immediate contact with the way of life many residents of the Caribbean islands experienced for centuries, this may be a good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Comfortable stay in Vieques

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The price is reasonable, and the staff is great. We had no trouble during our stay.
Cons: Wireless internet speed could be better. Or better just to ensure that all rooms get at least some wifi.
Location: Close to the ferry ride. About 10-15 minutes from Esperanza and other beaches.
We took a ferry to Vieques from Fajardo. Kelly, one of the hotel's owners had previously texted us asking our time of arrival since she usually provides a free ride from the ferry to the hotel and back to the ferry after guests' stay. Kelly was very friendly, super helpful and resourceful too. Since it's a small island, she gave us lots of ideas on what to do during our stay there and a printed copy with phone numbers of local taxis (which she gives to all guests). Unfortunately when we visited vieques, all bio bay tours were booked and we did not have luck finding a slot despite being on waiting list with a few tour companies. There was no TV or internet in our room. But because we were so tired that day after a long day at the beach, and snorkeling etc, we did not mind at all. It overall a pleasant stay and no complaints at all. Whatever we wanted Kelly helped us out with it. So for her sake I would recommend this hotel to anyone. In this day and age, it's hard to find that kind of hospitality even in a luxury hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Amazing... Great staff, great rooms, wonderful location. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Homely and excellent service

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the best hotel we stayed in our entire trip. The best part is the veranda and the clean wind blowing. The room is well maintained, but could have been a little neat. But, the service and the overall experience was the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by turbotommy from chicago

sea gate hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
probably 1 of the best hotels you can stay at 1970 feel and looks well kept up .great location top of hill overlooking the ocean and old fort .horseback.riding also recommended along beach coast wort the money and fair price d
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fran and Di

Nice place and nice people

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The room decoration and the cleanliness.
Cons: Nothing! it was according to the price.
Location: It was close the ferry terminal, restaurants, see glass beach, and downtown.
The room was really nice, romantic and clean. Everything was in good condition and working properly. People there were really nice and polite. I really like the fact that Mrs. Penny was super nice with us and helped in everything from picking and dropping us from the ferry terminal, also she helped us finding a taxi and telling us everything we need during our trip. And the breakfast was also good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Travis from Raleigh, NC

Nice and helpful staff good location

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The staff at the Seagate Hotel are very nice and helpful. Had a great time on the island will be back and I will stay at the Seagate Hotel again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Yas from NY

rustic paradise

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unforgetable. My boyfriend and I booked the hotel very last minute and it ended up being our favorite stay during our trip. The hotel is rustic but very cute and comfortable. The garden is amazing, you wake up to rooster sounds and there are horses in the back yard.The room was very tastefully done with creative details/artwork. There is A/C and wifi but being surrounded by nature was the best part. The staff is very friendly. My only wish was that breakfast that was included in the stay had more options. Would definitely go back for a longer stay.