Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Amazing!

Posted Nov 30, 2014
For the life of me, I can't understand why this resort is not rated 5 star! We've been to some amazing places, the W is now up there on top. I would say it's the ONLY place to stay on Vieques. Rent a car (on or off site) and explore the breathtaking beaches. No need to pay for expensive snorkeling trips..,go to Green Beach & snorkel right off shore. The resort lets you take the snorkel equip (free), towels as well. Pack some food snacks before you go...nothing around. Eat dinner in Esperanza for amazing local fish, at a reasonable price. Resort food is very pricey, but they all are, so this is not a negative against the resort at all. Again, pictures do not do this resort justice. Adult oriented, however brought 12 & 14 yr old & they didn't want to leave :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2014
The hotel is fantastic, especially the beach, which is amazing. However, the hotel don't have enough stuff to serve the customers during the busy holidays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Relaxing

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Hotel was mostly great except for a few minor details (it took 2 days and several reminders to get a non-feather comforter). The place was beautiful in a natural way, and was very relaxing. I would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta, georgia

Adventure Island get a way

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: View of the water and beaches. Didn't pay extra for snorkel gear. Lovely pools.
Cons: Dining room food...particularly breakfast.
Welcomed by the W staff and room upgraded without our asking when bellman saw we had a first floor room with No View. Great place for relaxing and doing nothing but.....rented a jeep and explored "roads that aren't roads and you wonder if you should be there"...led to interesting sights and beaches. Don't miss the bioluminous kayak tour. Food at the W is ok but nothing special. A number of the restaurants we wanted to try had not opened for the season. Food at the pool wet bar ....Cuban panini and ceviche was quite tasty. Would return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bogotá, Colombia

It's amazing!!

Posted Oct 4, 2014
We have enjoyed our honeymoon there and it was perfect! We had an incredible stay, the staff was always nice, the food is exquisite and the hotel is gorgeous!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ramonfrom Puerto Rico

Everything was perfect!

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best vacations ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Justinfrom Michigan

Simply Paradise

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing views, good service, stunning design of the facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san juan, pr

W in Vieques

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: It's decor, location and Eco- friendliness
Cons: Need to add local fruits and produce to the menu, improve the quality of Mojitos, train better front desk staff, clean rooms in a more effective way
Location: Esperanza village, famous Vieques beaches
Gorgeous design and decoration by Patricia Urquiola, beautiful setting pleasing and comfortable. Very nice facilities, gym, yoga. Overall a wonderful weekend retreat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Savannah, GA

Picturesque getaway

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The whole resort was beautiful; the details is what made the resort so special.
Cons: Better organization for borrowing snorkeling gear/kayaks.
Location: To really enjoy Vieques, you must rent a Jeep, but it's worth it. There are plenty of beautiful beaches and fantastic restaurants.
Overall, my boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay and we would come back again. The W Resort and Spa is a hip and trendy place but it also feels warm and welcoming. The central area has an open floor plan; so there are a ton of places to socialize with other guests, but there are also little corners where you and your significant other can have an intimate dinner or watch the sunset together. My only complaint is that an employee said that the equipment tent (where you can get snorkeling gear & kayaks) would be open at 8am, but he wasn't there and we missed out on morning kayaking. Other than that, the service was impeccable -- everyone is friendly and accommodating. Tips: Take advantage of the rum punch in the W Lounge; food can be pricey so it's worth it to rent a car and venture out to different restaurants and beaches; checkout may be at 11am but if your flight doesn't leave until later in the afternoon, you can still take advantage of the many amenities before your shuttle back to the airport; and you can purchase meat & cheese at the W Cafe and snack on sandwiches if you're feeling snacky without paying a high price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Tropical Paradise

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The rooms were spacious, beautiful views, the staff were exceptionally accomodating, and they provided lots of activity choices.
Location: We rented a jeep and explored the island. The hotel provides a sunset sip so each evening you can enjoy the sunset over San Juan.
Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff and facilities. Even though Tropical Storm Bertha decided to hit one day during our stay, the hotel was well prepared to help the guest be entertained until it passed.