Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Art from Connecticut

Great place

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
After our bad hotel stay at Adams Guesthouse, this was a pleasure. Great staff, a wonderful breakfast included,Right next to the village of Vik, I would recommend to anyone staying in the are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel near Vik

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pretty hotel in the countryside of Vik. Close to the city and in a very serene area near a hillside and you can see the Katla volcano from it. Small rooms, but very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rural location great for exploring

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The feeling of space and peace. Wide corridors, large bedrooms and ensuites and communal spaces in each building for socialising.
Cons: More choice on the menu.
Location: Nestled under cliffs of nesting birds, set back from the road. A peaceful location. Hiking, snow mobiles, waterfalls, black lava beaches and cliffs.
We only stayed one night, but enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant and soaked in the hot tub as the sun set. Perfect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Megan from Pittsburgh

A nice place, 5 minute drive from Vik

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very clean, nice breakfast - if you don't mind driving five minutes or so out of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from Richmond, VA

Best Hotel in South Iceland

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Great property! Very accommodating due to us getting lost and arriving a day late. Large rooms, bathrooms and quite the hot tub. Staff was extremely helpful, and a nice restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rúni Nielsen from Faroe Islands

Under the volcanos

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
An oasis in the barren south. A pleasure to dine is the grandeur but cozy restaurant. Breakfast was ok, could be more vibrant. Add eggs aa scrambled and fried, and you are there already.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JBW from NM USA

Hotel Katla

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful accommodation. One of the better stays on our 10 plus day trip. Comfortable bed and spacious enough rooms. Not luxurious but comfortable space. This might be the hotel where the shower is next to the toilet Asian style although can't be for sure. They would be the only knock. The restaurant attached to the hotel complex was very good although a little pricey which is indicative of Iceland. You don't come not to spend money on food. The breakfast was well worth the price. Probably the best selection Breakfast with local foods on the trip. They also had a sauna and hot tub area. The hotel tub was unique and not just your regular run of the mill tub. Gulls were nesting along the hills to the north and were interesting to observe. Geese were in the lakes near the hotel. Beautiful location. I should also mention the hotel service was very good and they put ice in plastic bags for my cooler. I would stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Randi from Boston, MA

Room outdated but new sauna and hot tub are nice

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was a little outdated and twin beds in room were not too comfortable. However staff were very nice, breakfast was good, and sitting outside in the sauna was lovely.