Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Australia

Fine for a stopover

Posted Jun 26, 2014
We took the ferry from Messina and stayed overnight in Villa S Giovanni so we could catch the train next morning. The town itself has not much to offer. The hotel is a bit worn and needs a makeover but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. It had a spa jet shower which was fun. We decided to eat at the hotel but as we ate only vegetarian there was minimal choice. Can't comment on the rest of the menu. The manager was charming, spoke good English and tried to be helpful. There seems to be an issue with the air conditioning which as other reviewers have said is not able to be used. So the rooms are stuffy unless you open the windows. This was not so bad in early May but would be a big problem in the heat of summer. The breakfast was extensive and enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sean

Ok hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Very helpful staff, especially in the restaurant. Room needed more pillows and a better hair dryer. Current one a bit archaic. Bit of a hospital feel in the halls
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cdebart from canada

Very Disappointing...

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Would not rate this a 4*- too expensive for what you get! Hotel in much need of update - old, and old! Looks nice from outside & main lobby - but that's it. We ate at the hotel as there was no where else, food & service was very good. Hotel is located in Ferry area, and therefore not a nice part of town, tried going for a walk at night but not pleasant - was hoping for a room with view of strait of Messina, but did not happen...The staff were very good, helpful and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Unfortunately, the previous reviews on this one are correct.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2013
Pros: cannolies and fire works from the rooftop
Cons: The Town
Location: Close to "downtown"area, such as it is
The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and spoke very good English. We were there on New Year's Eve and they had a big party going on. Everything looked very nice. The hotel itself is a bit worn around the edges. Not all the fancy gadgets in the bathroom worked, but the essentials did. The bed was very comfortable with nice bedding. The breakfast had a lot of delicious sweets..our favorites were the cannolies. The town was pretty much shut down. We never did find a restaurant. We stayed here because we were taking a morning ferry to Sicily.
1 out of 5
by Anniesunshine

Look elsewhere

Posted Nov 10, 2012
Pros: Nothing, perhaps the road out
Cons: It was all very poor
Location: Very near to station
Find somewhere else, tired, staff useless, no wi if as promised. Room wasn't cleaned or bed made after our first night there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jon and Cynthia

Posted Oct 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel, a Best Western, had an odd smell as you entered the lobby and elevator area. It was not anywhere else. The rooms were adequate. The staff was not sufficient for the activity that day (a wedding). Right next door, however, was a wonderful restaurant, quiet and excellent food and wine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Indian Land, SC

Breakfast

Posted Nov 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
The buffet was extraordinary, especially the pastry as presented by the pastry chef.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Hotel tried to charge me twice

Posted Sep 8, 2011
I stayed 2 nights, a week apart. On both occasions the hotel tried to charge me again, even though it was pre-booked through Expedia. I had a single bed, which is not normal for a 4 star hotel in most countries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good place to stop for Villa San Giovanni

Posted Jul 11, 2011 on Hotels.com