Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Don

Good location

Posted Mar 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Valparaiso has many hills. The hotel is in an excellent location to see the harbor. The meals there were excellent with a nice variety, seating on the outdoor patio as well as inside. The room was very clean. There is a big building across the street which did block some of the view while we were eating. Magnificent historic old building! Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Keep in mind that this is an older property that has been upgraded. It has everything that we needed, but bathroom was small, but very clean. Breakfast was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from McAllen, TX, USA

Pretty but odd

Posted Jan 13, 2013
Pros: The breakfast/lunch area was on a terrace and had a great view. Ask for a printed history of the hotel.
Cons: Many of the rooms are laid out in strange ways and there is no elevator between levels.
Location: The hotel is hard to get to by taxi but easy for walking.
Overall, it is a really nice boutique hotel. Although our room was small, the worst part was the bedroom was on one floor and the bathroom was on a lower level that could only be reached by a spiral staircase. Since the bathroom light was connected to the bedroom wall light, we had to unscrew the bedroom bulb so we could turn on the bathroom light at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by traveler in Valparaiso

in a revered historical district

Posted Jan 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was excellent in every possible way!! The bathroom was lacking only insofar as roominess, but understandable with the old construction. The views were phenominal! The food in the restaurant was top notch, but the prices were beyond what we could afford.
3 out of 5
by Ralph

Great food but would not sleep in this hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Pros: Superb food, good service
Cons: Very noisy and cold rooms and minute bathroom
Location: Great location
Great location, superb food but would only come for a meal in the future. The magnificent wooden floors and high ceilings look nice but mean the rooms are very cold and extremely noisy with all sounds reveberating through the floors. There was a party till 4am with every footstep and converstation making its way into our room. Terrible nights sleep. Must visit, but just for lunch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Excellent breakfast. Good service. Don't get too excited about 'sea view' rooms. My 'sea view' , from a small single room, was through a small triangular window over a rooftop. And most 'sea views' are actually restricted by a very ugly office building between the hotel and the sea.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ipswcih

Hotel in Valparaiso

Posted Feb 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Best described as quirky or even a bit weird, couple of nights no restaurant, or bar service. To get hot water in the shower, took forever (what a waste) Staff friendly, although very limited English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stan from Baltimore

Charming but different

Posted Feb 18, 2012
Pros: Charming
Cons: Hard to find service when wanting a drink on the pario
Location: Superb
This is a charming hotel in a great location at the top of a funicular with a splendid view overlooking Valparaiso. I was traveling alone on a business trip and had a very small room with a view of a side street. Breakfast was fine and the room was clean. The patio area is an outstanding area to have a drink and catch the view, assuming you can find someone to serve you. If you are looking for something off the beaten path, the Gervasoni is for you. But if you want all the conveniences and comforts, you're probably better off in Vina del Mar. But for me, I will return to the Hotel Gervasoni.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No recommendation

Posted Feb 5, 2012
Don't recommend, bathrooms are micro in size, rooms are noisy.