Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stan from Baltimore

Charming but different

Posted Feb 18, 2012
Pros: Charming
Cons: Hard to find service when wanting a drink on the pario
Location: Superb
This is a charming hotel in a great location at the top of a funicular with a splendid view overlooking Valparaiso. I was traveling alone on a business trip and had a very small room with a view of a side street. Breakfast was fine and the room was clean. The patio area is an outstanding area to have a drink and catch the view, assuming you can find someone to serve you. If you are looking for something off the beaten path, the Gervasoni is for you. But if you want all the conveniences and comforts, you're probably better off in Vina del Mar. But for me, I will return to the Hotel Gervasoni.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No recommendation

Posted Feb 5, 2012
Don't recommend, bathrooms are micro in size, rooms are noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Gervasoni Valparaiso

Posted Dec 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
A fantastic place to spend a night prior to boarding a cruise ship in the nearby port (5 min by taxi). The hotel was built in about 1870 and has been restored to its appearance at about that time with some love and care. Details include the lovely woodwork and matched stain glass in the transoms. It shows what many other buildings in Valparaiso might look like if there owners spent the time and money trying to restore them to their original lustre. Multi-levels and no elevators, but the staff gladly had your luggage transported around the facility. The restaurant was disappointing. But other than that staying their really enhanced our experience of what the city must have been like in its heyday with its beautiful view overlooking the harbor from high up in the hills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Grand Hotel Gervasoni - a good hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
The best part of the stay was the helpful and efficient staff. The location was excellent, right next to the ascensior from the main drag. The view from the room was spectacular. The restaurant was first-rate, and the overall ambiance was welcoming. The only negatives were waiting for hot water, and a steep staircase.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great historical hotel up in the Valparaiso hills

Posted Oct 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
This old-style Victorian mansion hotel in Cerro Conception neighbhoorhood was very nice, we were actually the only people staying there our first night so had a run of the entire hotel (and got to check out many of the empty rooms to see them - Room 10 is a fun suite; I would recommend requesting one fo the King Bed rooms for more comfort); the restaurant is very good but little overpriced - highly recommend Cafe Turri just over on the next block - amazing staff and some of the best food we had in Chile. We stayed in Room 12 on the bottom level of the hotel (no elevator available so had to lugg out heavy bags down 5 flights of steps) - it was a 2 twin bed room, pretty small room with really tiny bathrooms. Had a partial view of the ocean bay (big office bldg in front blocked 1/2 view), though the hotel is more near the port area than just the beach/ocean side of town. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was wonderful; service was very nice as well - everyone was kind to us (and spoke English pretty good as well). Only about 5 minute walk down to the main street or you can take the Ascensor elevator down for $300 pesos. There is a wine bar across the street too - good wine selections. The hotel has a nice wine cellar as well as part of the restaurant in the hotel. Try lunch out on the patio with your complimentary Welcome Gift pisco sour drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, CO

What an Experience!!!

Posted May 12, 2011
This was a really good hotel experience for us. We drove to the hotel from Santiago with a Garmin GPS navigation system. The combination of the hills and curvy roads in the vicinity of the hotel seriously confused our navigation system and we could not find the place. We ended up paying a taxi driver about $20.00 US to "lead us" to the hotel. The 14 room hotel is very old but very well maintained. We would call it quaint and nostalgic. Great bed. Awesome classic wood trim in the rooms, halls, restaurants, lobby, etc... It is situated in the midst of the hills and curvy streets of Valparaiso, which is the "San Fransisco" of Chile. Don't expect the surrounding neighborhood to be a high end clean and spotless area. It is not. It is colorful and cultural. Take a walk down the switchbacks and steps to the main streets in town and to the waterfront. It is a bustling town with lots of character. The hotel was a great spot to spend the night and our lunch there was very good as well. I wish we could have stayed longer. The only difficulty we had was our initial perception that there was no hot water. After speaking with the front desk, they indicated that you have to wait over 5 minutes for the pipes to heat up. That seemed like a waste of energy and water. The hotel only had 3 reserved parking spaces. We were fortunate enough to get one of them for our stay. I would go back to Grand Hotel Gervasoni if I ever went back to Valparaiso.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 25, 2010 on Hotels.com
Great location. Very good restaurant and very clean room. Helpful staff. Safe neighborhood, good to walk around even at night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long beach California

Nice but too expensive

Posted Oct 27, 2010
Beautiful hotel in a restored Mansion from the early 1900's. Great location, however pretty expensive! It is located on the Cerro Alegre hill in Valparaiso, and there are many hotels in the area to choose from that are more inexpensive. Also the view is partial blocked by vacant high rise apartments!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santiago

Uncomfortable

Posted Apr 22, 2009
The hotel is typical traditional hotel in Valparaiso. The atmosphere and the service are nice. But the construction design is bad. In front of the room, there is some tables of restaurant and you can hear all conversation, noise and childres's running noise noise of a passage from morning to midnight. Actually we couldn't sleep well.