Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Adrian

A (Bad) Step back in time

Posted May 2, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Almost everything
Location: Right in town center of Vina Del Mar.
This hotel has made effort in the reception area, but the rooms and elevators are all still 1930 vintage. The only heating in the room was a small fan heater that you had to remember to turn on and off. The desk was a small side table. I did get a larger table when i asked. The room furniture was in poor condition. The bathroom (pale lilac) was cracked and there we no sink/bath plugs. The windows had no sound or temperature insulation. The breakfast buffet was poor, and there was no heating in the restaurant. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by WILLIAMS

Posted Jul 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
I AM ALWAYS CHOOSE HOTEL OHIGGINS IN VINA DEL MAR BECAUSE THEY HAVE A SPECIAL TREATMENT AND VERY DELICATE PERSONNEL TO ATTEND OUR OWN REQUIREMENTS ....THE STAFF ARE INCREDIBLE VERY FRIENDLY AND APPROACH TO US WITH RESPECT AND FRIENDLY ATMOSPHERE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Veronicafrom Canberra

Not a bad hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2012
Pros: The staff that operated the lifts - extremely friendly
Cons: Bathroom and Wardrobe
Location: The hotel is located in what you can call down town Vina. It is close to the Casino and shops.
It's an iconic hotel in Vina so it was nice to stay just because of that. The rooms are spacious and the bed and tv were great; however the bathroom and wardrobe way too small for my liking.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Waldorf, MD, USA

Avoid this place

Posted Feb 24, 2010
O'Higgins hotel was the best hotel in Vina Del Mar 30 years ago, but at this time is completely outdated. Great location, right in downtown, and spacious, big rooms, but in an advanced state of disrepair condition. Almost everything was broken, chipped, stained. Overall was filthy and noisy. Personnel were nice but that was not much they could do to improve the conditions. Hotel needs major remodeling and update. Sorry to say it but it ruined our Vina Del Mar leg. Pay the extra and go stay somewhere else. I'm not a cleanliness freak, but I was affraid to touch anything overthere. I could say that O'Higgins was the worst hotel I have ever stay in my whole life.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

Old, Dirty, Terrible Service

Posted May 6, 2009
The hotel is very very very old, the rooms are big, but extremely dirty (there was sand in my bathroom floor and some green stuff on the bathtub). We reserved a superior room and got a standard one, the staff refused the change our room. The lobby's sofas are torn and old.. Just a terrible experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Luton, UK

Comfortable faded grandeur

Posted Mar 12, 2009
Good situation for bus station, metro, ATMs and shops - in the heart of the town. About 15 min walk to sea. Spacious rooms with a faded elegance. Bathroom fittings old but servicable. Helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast selection in large but somewhat gloomy restaurant. Very busy in peak season with S American holiday makers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2008
Well located, good prices, nice environment. According to the locals is a traditional place to stay during the visit to ViƱa
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2008 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted May 2, 2007
Outdated. Rooms are dark and need updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn

Needs Improvement

Posted Apr 29, 2007 on Hotels.com
The staff was friendly and helpful all around, however our room was cold and being an older building the radiator for heat was controlled by the hotel - we were told that it was turned on from 8pm till 6am, but when we returned back to the room later that evening after a night out there was NO HEAT... did not make the next morning inviting to go into a cold bathroom to shower....