Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santiago

Nice view with sterways

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: the room, the btreakfast was great, specially if can get one of the tables in the balcony. Great view of Valparaiso!
Cons: Maybe a bigger TV ;-)...even thoug we didn´t go there to watch TV
Location: The hotel is 20 minutes walking from La Sebastiana, Pablo Neruda´s house and 7 minutes walking from restaurants, bars in Cerro Alegre. Nice walk view.
The hotel is in a quiet neigborhood, with great Valparaiso view. The breakfast was great and the staff was very nice. The only issue to mention is you have to climbe 68 steps on the stairways to get from the street to the hall. So if you have problems with that this is not your hotel. For young people, not an issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by pj from london

great views and friendly staff

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff were very good. Couldn't do enough for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice place, small (9 rooms), owner very friendly but only speaks spanish -- others at desk speak english well if needed. no real "cafe" but they do have breakfast. other comments about steps are correct -- there are a lot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Enrique from Washington, DC

The views of Valparaiso

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The very helpful owner/manager of the hotel makes you feel very welcomed, like an old friend who just came to visit. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Tom from Smyrna, GA USA

A great way to experience Valparaiso

Posted Mar 10, 2013
Pros: Welcoming spirit and views.
Cons: Lots of stairs.
Location: If you love luxury, this isn't for you, but if you like charm on a budget, this is a great hotel!
A friend and I each spent one night at Sutherland House in advance of a 13-day South American cruise. We selected the hotel based on positive reviews and price and I must say I was not disappointed. Claudio and Berta were perfect hosts and the view of Valparaiso from every room is incredible. From a welcoming glass of champagne to help with our heavy luggage getting up the many steps to this high-on-a-hill hotel -- we loved our stay. My traveling companion speaks Spanish and got a lot of information from owner Claudio about the history of the building (his former home) and the history of Valparaiso. We really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ERA

Magnificent View

Posted Nov 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Paradise on a hillside with a million dollar view. This boutique hotel in a restored home in the historic neighborhood of Cerro Alegre is quite unique and certainly met our expectations. The service was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura

Amazing Views

Posted May 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
We decided to pay a little more for the room on the corner, and the views were amazing. (We were accidentally placed in the room next door and didn't notice because the view was amazing as well, it was just a little smaller and had the one wall of windows.) The front desk was extremely friendly, helpful with suggestions, and offered us a glass of champagne each evening. Breakfast was a typical Chilean hotel breakfast, we had no problem parking out front on the street, and we found the neighborhood safe and easy to walk down to the shops and restaurants we wanted to go to. It's a hike to get up to the hotel, but that's true of any place in Valparaiso. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jamie

Wonderful Stay. Great Staff and Owner. VIEW !!

Posted Apr 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
We (two couples) loved our stay at Sutherland House. The rooms were super clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent. The free wi-fi worked perfectly. The owner and staff could not do enough for us and the views from the room were tremendous!! You do need to be aware that the hotel is a 10-15 min walk from from the main tourist area and the walk back is largely uphill. There are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity so be prepared to walk or take a cab (which they will gladly call for you). Also there are 104 steps from the street entrance to the 3rd floor where our rooms were. Despite this (we actually liked the walks) we would book here again with out hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Sutherland House in Valparaiso, Chile

Posted Feb 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Beautiful old, refurbished home high on hillside with a magnificent view of the Bay. Owners made us feel like family. The only drawback is the numerous stairs that have to be climbed to access the house and possibly your room.