Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Steve from Nova Scotia, Canada

Nice suite, poor management

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Beautiful suite with balconies
Cons: Staff
Location: On a hill in an old part of town.
We had a nice two-floor suite with a balcony on each floor with a beautiful view. The suite was clean. We had to ask for towels. We had to run the water for about 10 minutes to get a hot shower. Breakfast was okay. Hotel is in an interesting, old neighborhood, with lots of steep streets or stairs to get to the city centre. Heard barking dogs late into the night. They seemed to be having staffing problems while we were there, and the manager was not particularly helpful.
1 out of 5
by Canadians from Toronto, ON, Canada

Stay far far away...

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: decor
Cons: management
Location: difficult to get to places
Every review comments that has been posted on Feb 11, 14, 24th of 2013 are right on! We and others staying during March 17th of 2013 had the same experiences and in addition: 1) no hot water to take a shower 2) no soap provided 3) broken handle in the bathroom door 4) no one to help us check out the following morning, we had to go across the street to another hotel to call 3 taxies for us and two other guests 5) dog poop outside the hotel doors and management did not care to remove 6) asked for assistance re: restaurant/eating and management did not offer to help Do not pre-pay best to stay away from this hotel! If you wish to stay in this area stay at the RC Art Deco Hotel
2 out of 5
by R.J. from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Great potential hampered by management.

Posted Mar 15, 2013
Pros: view, location
Cons: plumbing, manager
Location: A short walk downhill to downtown
Great location, view, breakfast, and decoration. Top floor deck has a wonderful view of the city and bay. It is a short walk down into the city. Manager prepared and served breakfast with a tee shirt cut at navel level and jeans at hip level revealing his CK's. The guest service attitude during our two day stay was not anywhere near the level that we had experienced in Bolivia and Peru.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great hotel -hopeless management

Posted Mar 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
manager Philippe,showed no interest in fixing lights, doors broken, no soap etc. I was even refused more toast at breakfast.!!-WHICH WERE GENERALLY WITHOUT JAM OR ANYTHING COOKED.The hotel is very attractive in design and ambience but very poorly run.Would not consider returning without change of manager.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it could have been perfect BUT!

Posted Mar 4, 2013
i wish i could recommend this hotel. we stayed 3 nights in penthouse suite. the room was perfect, it had balcony overlooking valparaiso and was fairly close to all activities. when we arrived they told us credit card machine was not working( i don't think it ever worked) we had to pay cash. light went out in companions bathroom( told it would be replaced, 2 days later never replaced) ran out of soap and never replaced. most of the day no one in office. most importantly someone went through our luggage. i hope they get there act together because it is a beautiful hotel.
2 out of 5
by Ron from Sydney, Australia

Valpapraiso Vineyard Inn February 2013

Posted Mar 2, 2013
Pros: None really
Cons: Small room, no tea/coffee facilities, unable to view the TV from the bed and only 1 chair in the room
Location: 10 minutes walk up a steep hill from the commercial area. My wife refused to walk it aftyer the first time.
We booked this hotel because a review we read said that the place was fun in the evening (with the bar open and music playing), but maybe it changed ownership as there was no bar and no fun. The continental breakfast was minimal and limited to a small bowl of fruit and 2 slices of toast. The owner spoke very little English and her assistant none, which would be OK except they never gave us any toilet paper and it was pretty embarrassing to have to mime the action of toilet paper usage in order to get the point understood. Yes, I drew pictures but that didn't work. There are very few restaurants in the locality and they are all closed Sunday, requiring a longish walk down a steep hill and back in order to get something to eat. The room was small and there was only 1 chair and no coffee/tea making facilities and no hot drinks available except in the dining room during breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ron

Excellent hotel bargain in Valparaiso

Posted Feb 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was easy to drive to in rental car with map of Valparaiso. Great views of city from roof-top patio. Staff was friendly and very helpful. They booked us a great city tour of Valparaiso and Vina del Mar. Hotel was super clean. Breakfasts were sufficient but not elaborate. Rooms are small by U.S. standards. Beds are very comfortable. Excellent restaurant next door to hotel. Sites of Valparaiso can be reached by walking if you are able to climb and descend steps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A unique building wonderfully furnished

Posted Feb 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Veryy comfortabkle with fascinating 'wine' based antiques. Good breakfast. Help from manager (family member) when requested. In typical Valparaiso location. Our room had nice balcony and upstairs sitting area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe

Be prepared for hill walking

Posted Feb 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
You will walk up or down 30% slopes to everything. About 15-20 minute walk downhill to town and back up to the hotel. Be prepared. Did not fix broken shower over two night stay. People next to us had same problem and it never got repaired either. Breakfast is very minimal. Asked for help on a tour to wineries and they never got back to us. We along with several other guests we spoke with were disappointed it his hotel.