Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Geraldine from tipperary

Pleasantly surprised .

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the Park Hotel on the 18th October . We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find such a lovely small , and intimate hotel . Staff were very helpful and pleasant especially Linda and Kerrie . We had a light supper in the Bar and it was very tasty . Our room was small , but very clean . It was unfortunate that the heating was not working in the room as it felt a little cold . The staff had called a plumber but he did not repair it . We had a really lovely breakfast in a beautiful dining room , with lovely old paintings and a very elegant fireplace . Before we left we walked around the grounds . This place is a real gem, beautiful views , wonderful local staff . It just needs a little more investement in it . We had a lovely stay
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very hot and small room. Hotel as below the standard I normally expect for such a price range.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

a lovely old time hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
i only stayed for one night, but i would love to return to walk the lovely gardnes, the lake vew was breathing taking, it gave the feeling of old time grander, creeking floor boards an all. it was so nice.thank you all at the park hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by maura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gary B.

Wonderful atmosphere

Posted Jun 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a very accommodating hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The surrounding grounds are beautiful. It is a great place to relax. Breakfast was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by kate

Posted May 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Disappointed. The wait staff was great and attentive. Food was good.Was told to wait 1/2 hour for room to be ready. Waited a couple of hours. A few missing items when room was finally ready, e.g., towels. Hair in the shower. Rooms are outdated. Beautiful grounds.and lovely view of the lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dublin

The Park Hotel - County Cavan

Posted Mar 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
If your after a relaxing weekend to unwind then this is certainly the place. The grounds and position of the hotel next to the Loch are wonderful - excellent for walking. Food was good and staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ireland

The Park Hotel, Virginia Cavan

Posted Aug 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Room The room was not as well finished as I would have expected, but it wasn't particularly bad either. It was clean & had everything I needed (en suite, tv etc.). The Dining Room The dining room was beautifully finished, like a classic old world room. This coupled with music from the 1950's (I think!) & old world service made breakfast a very enjoyable experience. The Views Eating breakfast overlooking the beautiful lake framed by beautiful mature woodlands made me feel this really was a special place. The Staff The staff were pleasent, helpful and friendly at all times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Carlow

A delight

Posted Aug 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
I can't tell you how much I loved this place! Such a delightful surprise. Admitedly my expectations weren't high- I booked it without much research and it was just a one night stop-over in our journey, but if I'm ever looking for accomodation in that neck of the woods again this will be my first port of call. The Celtic Tiger thankfully didn't get it's claws into this place. In fact, the 20th century hasn't quite creeped in properly yet. Utterly unpretentious, homely in a fading grandeur kind of way, old fashioned in the best possible way - polite, mannerly, characterful. The staff were lovely - out-of-their-way cheerful, helpful and friendly without being over-familiar or intrusive and perfectly happy being themselves, not trying to be some faceless Member Of Staff. The food was fantastic, the building was as kookie and characterful as the staff, the garden, views, lake and setting were beautiful. Great find if you're looking to avoid the banality and soul-lessness of our ubiquitous identikit Irish Celtic Tiger hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North East Texas

ok place to spend the night

Posted Jun 11, 2011
Good place to rest