Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I booked what was supposed to be a junior suite with 1 queen and 1 king and once there ended up in a 1 king plus pull-out sofa ... this lodge doesn't have any "1 queen and 1 king " accommodation. Facilities and room are very old and not well maintained (we had air conditioning only in one of the room, one of the burner didn't work, etc.). On top, the room was not even clean. It could have been worth to be consider for less than an half of the price!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Breakfast is terrible. pool was not clean. room is ok but really nothing special for that price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Rustic Lodge near Sequoia National Park

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Replace the carpet.
Location: Small town, with a few restaurants.
The location was near the entrance to Sequoia which was nice. The rooms were very rustic, close quarters and the carpet was dirty and stained. The air conditioners worked which was very important since it was very hot. Continental breakfast was OK. The staff were nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perris, CA

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Good experience, nice view from the room. Restaurant in the lodge provides quality food too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Alternative Stay outside Sequoia

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Near entrance to Sequoia Nat'l Park. Continental Breakfast; Swimming pool 1 bedroom plus extra room has 3 beds and a couch
Cons: Need air conditioner in bedroom for hot, humid days.
Location: There were restaurants and grocery stores within 3.5 miles. One great place for breakfast and another for Pizza Large lake not too far away.
The one bedroom plus a pseudo living room was perfect for our family of five with three teenagers. This was an alternative stay because we could not get a room inside Sequoia Nat'l Park. The hotel was close and most likely a lot cheaper than staying inside the park's accommodations. It is a good alternative for a one day visit to the park. The drive from the entrance to the Giant Forrest Museum takes about 1.5 hours on winding roads, so it is a deterrent to make that round trip daily if one plans to stay several days.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from three rivwra

Horrible experience

Posted Jun 28, 2014
The room was old and outdated - we had to call to hae cobwebs cleaned - we had to call daily for toilet paper - the shower was too short so we had to bend down to rinse - we r average height - 5"9 and under - little tv reception - just a bad room altogether
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E from Hampshire England Uk

Electrics

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed
Cons: Windows in the rooms needed a good clean and more light where coffee machine was situated.Did not feel safe with old electrics in the rooms.
Location: Lake for fishing and swimming and National Park for marvellous walks.Beautiful trees.
Good spot for access into the Park and enjoyed stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Nice staff. We came in very late and they waited up for us. Clean in a beautiful setting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay, no major complaints.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: We were pleasantly surprised at this place. Friendly, clean, good bed, pool, very adequate
Cons: The bathroom sink faucet was hard to turn on. It turns out you have to pull out VERY HARD on it. A LITTLE heat in the pool would be nice.
Location: Sequoia Park! Nice organic coffee place a mi. or two to the right. If you aren't going to Sequoia Park (or the lake) why are you here??
Booked through Expedia, no problems there. Found it easily enough. Check in was quick and easy. Check out was super quick and easy. A good basic motel type place to stay. We were pleasantly surprised at this place because with a 3.5 star review we didn't expect to like it. The good: Reception was very friendly. The location is close to Sequoia Park. The room was very clean and adequate. Comfortable bed (if you don't mind FIRM). We liked it. Everything in the room worked well (toilet, sink, lights, shower, coffee maker etc) They have a coffee maker stocked with coffee, sugar and artificial creamer. They have a pool. They have shaded parking! They limit children and pets so that's good. (to me, NO kids or pets would be better though!) The less good: Pool was COLD even though it was 100 Degrees out all day! Bathroom sink faucet was hard to pull out to turn on. Right next to highway, so a bit noisy. (What hotel isn't?) No big complaints! We would stay there again, no problem!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Natl Park. Overpriced, needs upgrade.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pluses: Close to the south entrance of Sequoia National Park. Off-street parking. Continental breakfast of pastries and coffee included. Communal grills. Minuses: I booked this accommodation far in advance. The staff initiated several confusing phone calls in between the time I booked the trip and when I arrived. In the end, my room has been changed from the room I originally booking, leaving me with limited amenities. I was disappointed but understood. However, the room was dusty, musty and smelled like old cigarette smoke. As a guest and for the cost, some basic upgrades would have been appreciated. Such as a microwave in each room, replace the old mini fridge (from circa 1991 that either is too warm or too cold and freezes your food), and cable TV. For the price and in comparison to some of the lodges within the park, I would plan in advance and opt for staying inside the park. I will not be back.