Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and relaxing

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Nice location, close enough to the volcano national park, small local restaurants and stores close by. Very clean conditions, comfortable bed and good wifi
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Andere B&B-Hotels in Volcano sind besser!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Oatmeal und Papaya
Kleiner, hellhöriger, umständlicher Raum mit Innentreppe. Zum Frühstück nur Oatmeal und Papaya - dafür aber gut. Wie alles in Volcano nah am Nationalpark, dafür anders als in anderen Hotels recht unfreundliches Personal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Charming and characterful

Posted Dec 20, 2014
This is a heritage building surrounded by semi tropical gardens. Bedrooms are small but adequate but share a bathroom, not a problem for two nights with considerate neighbours. There is a communal room with a kitchen, useful if you arrive late. Fellow travellers are young couples and families. The situation is very convenient fo the Volcanoes National Park, five minutes away so seeing the park at night is easy. Restaurants are nearby. We loved staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tiinafrom Suomi

Half way stop!

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is so different than any other plaze I know or been to! It's not quite hotel, hostel or motel, it's more like own room with common facilities like kitchen and toilets. Really old building but in great condition! I like it very much and I do recommend to stay here! It was pretty easy to find with gps/map!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Conifer, CO

Ok for sleeping

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Little difficult to find with an after hours check-in - dark roads not very clearly marked. Room was not near central office, breakfast was coffee (powdered creamer, no milk/cream), papaya & instant oatmeal packs. Ok if you're just sleeping there, but wouldn't recommend for families
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Schönes Häuschen im Grünen

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Das Vulcano Halo liegt etwas abgelegen , mitten im Grünen. Die Zimmer sind einfach eingerichtet mit Bett, TV. Aber das reicht auch , es gibt ja draußen viel zu entdecken. Das Badezimmer und die Küche müssen mit den anderen Hausbewohnern geteilt werden , was aber wie ich finde kein Problem ist. Auf Big Island ist es ganz wichtig sich ein Auto zu mieten , da es nicht wie auf den anderen Inseln Shuttle Service gibt. Ich war etwas gefangen im grünen , da ich kein Auto hatte bzw. Führerschein besitze. Ist aber nicht weiter schlimm, nach etwa 10 min. Fußmarsch hat man eine kleine Einkaufsmöglichkeit um sich selber mit Essen zu versorgen um dann in der Gemeinschaftsküche zu kochen. Restaurants gibt es dort auch. Big Island ist der ideale Ort um vom Alltagsstress runter zukommen. Habe die Zeit im Grünen genutzt um zu laufen und viel zu schlafen. Die frische Luft hier tut sehr gut.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by franckfrom france

pris en otage

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
L accueil est 0 dans une annexe au fond des bois sans aucun service petit dej inexistant un cafe imbuvable et un fruit le chek in pas avant 15h acuns effort voiture indispensable autre lieu conseiller hilo tout est a dispo vraiment je deconseille.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Do no honor cancellation policy

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is good. My problem is with hotel not honoring cancellation policy. I had a second reservation (and that was not made with hotels.con) whose cancellation policy reads 72 HR CXL which means no penalty for cancellation up to 72 hours prior to arrival time. I cancelled that reservations several months before arrival date, yet the hotel refused to fully refund the money. To me this is not an honest way to run a business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable lodging near Volcanoes National Park

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Location, full kitchen.
Cons: Parking is tight if the lodge is full.
Location: Hiking at Volcanoes National Park.
We stayed here 4 nights while day-hiking Kileaua. Volcano Hale offered us an affordable place to stay nearby. The only thing that kept me from awarding 5 stars was the fact that we shared a bathroom. It was never a problem but the Mrs would have preferred a private bath.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Volcano Hale rocks

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice and quiet. Room was very cozy.