Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice country pub

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Nicely decorated room in converted stables. Really good breakfast and excellent tea and coffee in the rooms. Only downside was because of the sloping roof, there wasn't space to sit up in bed. Staff were excellent though and we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Comfortable Village Inn

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location, ease of finding and parking, good eating facilities and good ale, friendly and helpful staff. Good selection of teas/coffees in room.
Cons: Extractor fan energised with bathroom light is very noisy. Bathroom decor in need of redoration near floor level. Shower head floppy in holder.
Location: The Greyhound Inn is in Wadhurst and there are plenty of things to do in the Weald of East Sussex.
The Greyhound Inn is located in the village centre with convenient parking. We stayed in what we assumed is a converted stable block adjacent to the main Inn. The twin room was fully equipped and comfortable. The Inn has a comprehensive dinner menu and has a good choice of real ales. Breakfast is served from 08.30 on Saturday which did not suit us but the manager arranged for a pre-selected breakfast to be available for 08.00 which worked well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by derek Penn from Beverley

Fantastic

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spot on
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jilly from Devon

Character stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Location: We went to Sissinghurst
Character hotel with modern bedrooms. Very comfortable beds, had a good nights sleep. Staff friendly &helpful. Breakfast was excellent with good quality ingredients. Only one minus point - unable to get wifi in bedroom. Definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ballchin from Medway

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very busy location at "school run time", avoid if possible. Limited parking at pub, but plenty of nearby parking space. Wadhurst is a small town with limited restaurant facilities, but I do recommend the Indian restaurant a few hundred metres up the High Street. A very good breakfast is included in the room price. Overall quite satisfactory we would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tortoise from Southampton

Surpassed our expectations

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The owners and indeed the whole staff were very friendly and helpful, going considerably further to help than one would expect. We were particularly surprised by their generosity in providing such a wide range of drinks in the room: many special tea varieties, ground coffee and excellent hot chocolate. They also provided a container of Elizabeth Shaw mints which were topped up daily! The breakfasts were superb and again very generous in portion size, double the amount we might have expected. We also ate in the restaurant twice and were very pleased. We have already recommended the greyhound to friends and will certainly stay there again when next in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by taur from manchester

great value

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
great service, would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Central location

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: It would be great if something could be done about the floorboard creaking.
Location: Wadhurst is a village with all the required amenities (banks, butchers, off licence, chemist) and it is very handy for access to the South Downs.
The Inn is very conveniently situated as it is in the centre of the village. The room was spacious and well provided with tea/coffee/water. The accommodation is in what presumably used to be the stables. The only problem was that there was a room above our room and the floorboards creaked quite a lot when the person or persons above us moved around the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joan & Phill from Sydney, Australia

Chasing family history

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: The history. Dated back to the 1400's
Cons: Low ceilings and door heights of the period. Also cramped bathroom for a 6+ foot man.
Location: Quiet country town with family history. Loved the hedgerows and tree tunnels along the roadways. Also loved the 300 year old houses.
The Hotel was unique as Australians both in view of the age and design. The room was unusual but acceptable. The staff were warm and welcoming. If we were looking for 5 star accommodation we would have gone to the city. This Hotel had more character and history than anywhere we had been before.