Ratings based on 1,157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Service was fantastic, not too crowded!

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Service, drinks, and the private beach
Cons: Not anything really
Location: fantastic location - big beach, snorkeling, shopping in Wailea, the Marriott's luau
While Makena may seem dated compared to the other resorts in Wailea, it more than made up for it in service & charm. The fact that it was less crowded was great! Always room at the pool, a chair at the pool bar (all the bartenders are fantastic!) or space at the beach. Concierges were always extremely helpful, and the breakfast buffet was a great way to start each day! We dearly hope to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Favourite resort in Hawaii!!

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING! Especially the staff. Everyone was friendly and genuinely welcoming. They are better than most 5 star hotels where we stayed!
Location: It's far from the busy area but free shuttle will take you to the shops and restaurants nearby. Secluded, quiet, and relaxing spot for sure!
My husband and I went there for our honeymoon. We absolutely loved everything about this resort! It's far from busy area, which is perfect for the people who are after a quiet, alone time. The view from the room was just stunning. We enjoyed the sunset everyday. The beach in front of the resort is beautiful and not so busy like Waikiki. Every staff we met in the resort were the best of all the hotels where we stayed in Hawaii! (among the 5 star resorts in Waikiki) Everyone is very friendly and helpful. We ate in the resort most of the time. We could've caught the free shuttle to other restaurant but food was great and just convenient. I enjoyed the free Yoga lesson in the morning. We would love to go back to resort!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value - older building.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
For the money, it's a good value but it's an older facility and things have just gotten worn over time. The door to the room is very heavy and you have to push it very hard to open and especially close it, keeping one hand on the door knob, lest it eventually close with a very loud annoying thud. The old shower head wouldn't prop up and the water dropped straight down onto the controls. They fixed it after I told them but the first shower was more work than relief.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Makena, Hotel Management
Aloha, we are happy to hear that you found a great value in our resort. We are sorry to hear about issues you had with door and shower to your room. Your review has been forwarded to our engineering team for further action and repairs. We thank you for taking the time to review the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel. Quiet and relaxing. Great staff

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Beautiful property. Steps from the beach. Room was super clean and comfortable. Free water and coffee daily in the room. Great shower and water pressure. Partial ocean view (room 312) The staff here goes above and beyond to help you. The concierge is great and extremely helpful with booking activities and their knowledge of good restaurants. Nice coffee shop in the lobby with amazing donuts. Even the valet is awesome. Free shuttle to the resort and shops down the street, and a quick drive to Big Beach. Saw whales our first night from Makena's beach. The food at the breakfast buffet is amazing...try to get that included in your stay, it's about $30 per person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Wonderful staff, comfortable rooms and great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Makena Beach & Golf

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Beautiful property basically at the end of the road. Quite. Great beach for quest and not crowded.
Cons: Lack of Restaurants! 1 Dinner option, and not enough space or variety to feed a full resort. TOO Many RULES!!! Posted all over the room.
Location: If you are looking for quite and out of the way this is a Great place. A little too far out if you enjoy the night life of the towns.
Had a nice stay. After my daughter fought breast cancer for 2 years it was time to get away. Very relaxing property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Makena, Hotel Management
Aloha, so happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We thank you choosing our resort as your retreat and wish you and your daughter all the best. Mahalo and our fondest Aloha!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Rafael, CA

A real gem

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: The location, the ambiance, the staff.
Cons: This is a tiny thing, but didn't like the shampoo, conditioner. Too fragrant. Just bring your own and you're good.
Location: Snorkeling is good at Makena Landing, walk the promenade@ Wailea, found good Mediterranean restaurant a mile away behind the Monkey Pod restaurant
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Makena. The staff was great, the breakfast buffet was awesome and we loved our view and the surrounding area. It is a little quieter than hotels on the Lahaina side, which is just fine with us. I even played miniature golf on their small putting course.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Makena, Hotel Management
Aloha, we are happy to hear you found our resort a real gem. We are sorry to hear that you did not care of our Tommy Bahama amenities. We hope you made some wonderful memories while on Maui, please come visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Hotel is nice.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
This hotel is on the beach, clean, and picturesque. We had Mike at the desk help with a room change and he gave us a better room view which helped a lot. You need to read the fine print regarding, ocean front, beach view, partial view etc.... The sister hotel is nice too but not as nice as this one. The hotel restaurants are ok and you can find good restaurants around if you have a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Makena, Hotel Management
Aloha we are a glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. We do provide complimentary shuttle service to the many restaurants in the Wailea area. We thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Environment
Cons: Staff
Location: Big beach, blank sand beach
Good hotel service is so so, they did not prepare let me check in at 6 pm
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Makena, Hotel Management
Aloha we are sorry to hear that our hotel service was average during your stay, and that our check in for you was longer than normal. We thank you for feedback and for your help in our continual pursuit to better the guest experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed our Splurge

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The beach was nice and had some potential if the weather had been a little less windy. The shuttle service was nice.
Cons: Beds must be replaced! The designation of ocean view or not needs to be corrected...totally false advertising.
Location: Enjoyed the walk and the place has some potenial
Decided to try this part of the island. Paid extra for an Ocean View room, and got a partial ocean view only visible from one corner of the balcony with several palm trees obstructing the view. Bed was absolutely horrible...sagging so badly woke us up with excruciating back pain. The hotel added boards but not a lot better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Makena Resort, Hotel Management
Aloha Kristin, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. Our beds are Serta Presidential Plush beds and though considered comfortable by most, it may be too plush for those used to firmer bedding. We are sorry that this was the case during your stay. We regret to hear that there was some confusion regarding the room category booked. Your review has been forwarded to our team for further review and action. We hope regardless you had a wonderful Maui stay and wish you happier future travels. Mahalo for your review.