Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Subtropical Paradise with Nostalgic Charm

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Peace tranquility and position
Cons: Nothing
Location: A car is essential if you want to travel conveniently. (there is a bus service)
Sugar planters detached cottages we'll spaced in well maintained grounds. Our cottage had a view of the sea . Within easy reach of good beaches and stunning views. It is one off the most relaxed holiday venue use we have been in the last two months around the world jaunt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Peoria, IL

Great stay

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Wonderful time. Great laid back setting. Decided to stay in and cook out because of the great views at dusk. Appliances a bit worn but did not detract from the experience. Will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tallman from Nova Scotia

A Stay in a Piece of History

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: The historic feel, the lovely grounds, and privacy of the individual cottages.
Location: Waimea Canyon
These are old Plantation Cottages and the feel is both historic and rustic. We had a one night stay in cottage 69, which we found to be well appointed and comfortable. It was a rainy evening so we had dinner and breakfast in the cottage and found all of the utensils and dishes necessary for our meal. This cottage is very close to the pool which may be noisy if it was a hot day and the pool busy. The cottage fronts the beach and we loved the sound of the waves at night. We walked the black sand beach in the morning and the walk around the Plantation Cottage grounds was also lovely. If you want to feel as if you have stepped back into time this is a place to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda from Mancos, CO

Waimea Plantation Cottages

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Off the beaten path-not touristy or crowded, historic.
Cons: Hooks or clotheslines on the porches for hanging swimsuits.
This was a great place to stay. The cottages are charming, clean, and comfortable. Very private, and low key. The beach is steps away-you can walk for miles in each direction-swimming is not recommended here (Waimea river flows into the ocean just to the east, so water is murky), but the black sand is lovely. Pool is located beachfront and is nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrice from Oxnard, Ca.

Great Staff!

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: The facilities are very well kept, you can see the attention to detail in the maintenance of the cottages and the grounds. Lovely, quaint place.
Cons: The internet was a bit spotty, but it may have been my iPad. Then again, don't you go to Kauai to get away from all that stuff?
Location: Waimea is the typical Hawaiian small town - the only traffic jam occurs when a chicken is crossing the road. Very relaxing!
Linda and the others at the front desk are wonderful! The cottages are cozy and open, and we had no qualms about sleeping with the windows open - we felt safe and secure on Kauai. All in all, a pleasant stay. We'll be back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anahaar from San Francisco Ca

Old Hawaii Plantation

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Beautiful special land ..Peaceful experience.. Not if u are looking for luxury but wonderful if u Want to relax and take in the area..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeremy

Relaxing, charming and pleasing

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: The charm and relaxing vibe.
Cons: A/C would have been nice but not at all needed.
Location: It's pretty much the first establishment past the town of Waimea. You *could* walk into town in 5-10 and you have everything you need there.
Such an amazing place. If you want to feel like you live a life of luxury on the beach, spend some time here. It's gorgeous with a variety of trees, other greenery, animals, sand and ocean. The staff is super friendly; the guy who checked us in offered a ridiculously late check-out since we only had 1 night on the plantation. It was great to wander around and enjoy the premises and pool and made us wish we were staying longer. Can't recommend higher!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Saranac Lake, NY

Nice Cabins, close to the beach

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: We liked the setting, the staff, and the quietness.
Cons: Pictures of all cottages posted on their website so you know what you are getting.
Location: The location was great! Nice quiet town and easy access to Waimea Canyon. Good restaurants nearby and a coffee plantation a short drive away.
Our overall experience was great! The grounds are spectacular and the staff is friendly and helpful. The cottages are on a beach, however you can't swim in the water due to undertow and murky waters.There are chickens, roosters and cats running around the island. You will hear the roosters at all hours of the morning. The pool is nice, not deep or heated, but large enough for a nice swim. We stayed in a one bedroom garden view cottage that was neat and clean, but was not anything like the pictures you see on the website. The kitchen has a stove, refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, rice cooker, blender and items needed to cook your meals. The cottage looked like it was still in the 1940s, which we found charming. There was free coffee and a paper in the main building every morning. There is a restaurant on the grounds, but it was closed for renovations while we were there. It is a short walk to town where there is a grocery store and some restaurants. The people we met in Waimea were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Beach view, quaint cottages, comfortable bed
We stayed two nights in cottage #49 with a direct view of the beach. It is a quaint one bedroom unit with a kitchen and a small living room area, and a beach-facing porch. The whole property has a distinct Hawaiian plantation feel - definitely not a typical big-hotel/resort. There is no operating restaurant on the property, however there are rumors that the former Grove restaurant may reopen as a "sports bar." As it is the closest eateries are in central Waimea. Of course, all cottages have full kitchens and there are two markets in Waimea. For swimming there is a decent pool, but locals recommend not swimming in the ocean at this location - apparently water quality is an issue. The beach is great for walking, however. If you have not visited Kauai previously, be prepared for the ever-present wild chickens. Also, expect to awakened at any hour by roosters crowing. After a couple of nights you will likely sleep through their serenade. Probably the best reason for choosing this property is its easy access to Waimea Canyon and Kokee State Park, gems not to be missed!