Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oak Brook, IL

Old school looks with a modern feel!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: It was very close to where my girlfriend is working during her internship on the island.
Cons: Cleaning service of the cottage more than 2x a week.
Location: Waimeia Canyon was a great place for terrific views of the island and picture taking. The hiking trails on the canyon were great too!
I absolutely loved our cottage and the whole experience at the old plantation. It was an interesting look at how some of the native Kauains used to live while getting a great hotel type experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Authentic Feeling Retro Cabins

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place is awesome. Each room is actually a cabin or small house transported from plantations that are no longer in business on the island. They are each different and old fashioned in style, claw foot tub, not fancy at all but there was air conditioning which was great. Mango and plam trees all over the property, beautiful setting. This would be an amazing place to have a family reunion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vicki from thornton, co

Excellent place to stay and relax

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: The unique cottages and there charm
Cons: Nothing.
Location: There are several restaurant's in town and a couple gift shops. A drive up to Waimea Canyon is a must. Go in the morning can get cloudy in the PM.
Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages is a step back in time. If your looking for a resort/spa this is not the place to stay. These cottages were used by sugar cane workers in the late 1800 to early 1900's. Each cottage is unique. Kitchens have stove, frig and microwave. Plus all the small kitchen appliances, dishes, pots, pans and silverware. All you need to bring is food. It's a great place to relax at the end of the day of sightseeing. Wal-mart is close to the airport. They have most of your needs. But they don't have produce or meat. These you can by at the local grocery stores. There is a Costco. If your a Costco member. Gas is about 30 cents cheaper at Costco. There is two grocery stores in Waimea. The grounds are well kept with lots of trees. We read a few reviews regarding the chickens and the crowing. Yes, there's chickens with a few roosters crowing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a wonderful view

Posted May 8, 2014
Beautiful full kitchen and amazing black sand beaches
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lori from Cottonwood, CA

Hawaii close to the beach

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The quiet and the Hawaii vibe. The restaurant/bar were an added benefit.
Cons: We experienced some of the cockroaches of Hawaii (to be expected), but not in between the sheets on the bed :( The exit fees were pretty high.
Location: Loved the proximity to Waimea. We did not lack for things to do. Be aware that if there is any issue on Hwy 50, turn around, do something else.
We loved the ambiance of the plantation. This is what Hawaii is really about! The prosimity to the beach was great and the quiet solitude added that much more (although having a cemetery right across the street might freak some people out, we thought it was quaint).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by P&G

Do not swim in the ocean. Dangerous waters.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: We like the peace & relaxed atmosphere .
Cons: Some of the cottages could use some updates......plumbing, kitchens, hardware etc.
Location: Location, location,
The pool very pleasant, the grounds clean and beautiful. The cottages all differ from very "rustic!" to simple, clean and comfortable. The ocean views are wonderful. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jesus from Florida

Nice place to be, but the beach is not the best.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Was a awesome week, nice place, nice people and nice weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joanna N. from West Michigan

The authentic "old Hawaii."

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
At first the spartan and "spare" cottage was unexpected. But these cottages are the real Hawaii, the original workers' cottages for the sugar plantation. The amenities are there, but the ambience is "old Hawaii." The grounds are glorious with tall coconut palms, banyans, and a black sand beach with a sunset to "live" for! The little Hawaiian doves coo all day long, and in the evenings you might hear the fluid musical song of the Sharma. It's not the Ritz, but it's truly paradise!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Subtropical Paradise with Nostalgic Charm

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Peace tranquility and position
Cons: Nothing
Location: A car is essential if you want to travel conveniently. (there is a bus service)
Sugar planters detached cottages we'll spaced in well maintained grounds. Our cottage had a view of the sea . Within easy reach of good beaches and stunning views. It is one off the most relaxed holiday venue use we have been in the last two months around the world jaunt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Peoria, IL

Great stay

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Wonderful time. Great laid back setting. Decided to stay in and cook out because of the great views at dusk. Appliances a bit worn but did not detract from the experience. Will be back!