Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vicki from thornton, co

Excellent place to stay and relax

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: The unique cottages and there charm
Cons: Nothing.
Location: There are several restaurant's in town and a couple gift shops. A drive up to Waimea Canyon is a must. Go in the morning can get cloudy in the PM.
Aston Waimea Plantation Cottages is a step back in time. If your looking for a resort/spa this is not the place to stay. These cottages were used by sugar cane workers in the late 1800 to early 1900's. Each cottage is unique. Kitchens have stove, frig and microwave. Plus all the small kitchen appliances, dishes, pots, pans and silverware. All you need to bring is food. It's a great place to relax at the end of the day of sightseeing. Wal-mart is close to the airport. They have most of your needs. But they don't have produce or meat. These you can by at the local grocery stores. There is a Costco. If your a Costco member. Gas is about 30 cents cheaper at Costco. There is two grocery stores in Waimea. The grounds are well kept with lots of trees. We read a few reviews regarding the chickens and the crowing. Yes, there's chickens with a few roosters crowing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a wonderful view

Posted May 8, 2014
Beautiful full kitchen and amazing black sand beaches
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lori from Cottonwood, CA

Hawaii close to the beach

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The quiet and the Hawaii vibe. The restaurant/bar were an added benefit.
Cons: We experienced some of the cockroaches of Hawaii (to be expected), but not in between the sheets on the bed :( The exit fees were pretty high.
Location: Loved the proximity to Waimea. We did not lack for things to do. Be aware that if there is any issue on Hwy 50, turn around, do something else.
We loved the ambiance of the plantation. This is what Hawaii is really about! The prosimity to the beach was great and the quiet solitude added that much more (although having a cemetery right across the street might freak some people out, we thought it was quaint).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by P&G

Do not swim in the ocean. Dangerous waters.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: We like the peace & relaxed atmosphere .
Cons: Some of the cottages could use some updates......plumbing, kitchens, hardware etc.
Location: Location, location,
The pool very pleasant, the grounds clean and beautiful. The cottages all differ from very "rustic!" to simple, clean and comfortable. The ocean views are wonderful. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jesus from Florida

Nice place to be, but the beach is not the best.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Was a awesome week, nice place, nice people and nice weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Subtropical Paradise with Nostalgic Charm

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Peace tranquility and position
Cons: Nothing
Location: A car is essential if you want to travel conveniently. (there is a bus service)
Sugar planters detached cottages we'll spaced in well maintained grounds. Our cottage had a view of the sea . Within easy reach of good beaches and stunning views. It is one off the most relaxed holiday venue use we have been in the last two months around the world jaunt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Peoria, IL

Great stay

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Wonderful time. Great laid back setting. Decided to stay in and cook out because of the great views at dusk. Appliances a bit worn but did not detract from the experience. Will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tallman from Nova Scotia

A Stay in a Piece of History

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: The historic feel, the lovely grounds, and privacy of the individual cottages.
Location: Waimea Canyon
These are old Plantation Cottages and the feel is both historic and rustic. We had a one night stay in cottage 69, which we found to be well appointed and comfortable. It was a rainy evening so we had dinner and breakfast in the cottage and found all of the utensils and dishes necessary for our meal. This cottage is very close to the pool which may be noisy if it was a hot day and the pool busy. The cottage fronts the beach and we loved the sound of the waves at night. We walked the black sand beach in the morning and the walk around the Plantation Cottage grounds was also lovely. If you want to feel as if you have stepped back into time this is a place to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda from Mancos, CO

Waimea Plantation Cottages

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Off the beaten path-not touristy or crowded, historic.
Cons: Hooks or clotheslines on the porches for hanging swimsuits.
This was a great place to stay. The cottages are charming, clean, and comfortable. Very private, and low key. The beach is steps away-you can walk for miles in each direction-swimming is not recommended here (Waimea river flows into the ocean just to the east, so water is murky), but the black sand is lovely. Pool is located beachfront and is nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrice from Oxnard, Ca.

Great Staff!

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: The facilities are very well kept, you can see the attention to detail in the maintenance of the cottages and the grounds. Lovely, quaint place.
Cons: The internet was a bit spotty, but it may have been my iPad. Then again, don't you go to Kauai to get away from all that stuff?
Location: Waimea is the typical Hawaiian small town - the only traffic jam occurs when a chicken is crossing the road. Very relaxing!
Linda and the others at the front desk are wonderful! The cottages are cozy and open, and we had no qualms about sleeping with the windows open - we felt safe and secure on Kauai. All in all, a pleasant stay. We'll be back for sure.