Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

True Hawaii...or as close as you are likely to get

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: location, character, staff.
Cons: I am not a burgers, fries, and beer kind of guy so a better restaurant would be great.
Location: The huge plus is that you can do absolutely nothing and that is fine. If you need external stimulus try Poipu or the North Shore
Waimea Cottages give you an idea of what housing was like in Hawaii last century. If you have an interest in the Pacific before high rise hotels and traffic jams on Oahu, this is the place for you. The cottages have character. They are comfortable but do not expect Tommy Bahamas "style". The cottages are clearly more comfortable than when lived in by the original inhabitants but do not expect luxury. Each cottage is different from its neighbors, some small, a few quite grand (for the administrators of the plantations not the workers). The setting is great and if the purpose of your visit is to swing in a hammock looking up at a clear blue sky through swaying palm trees, Waimea Cottages is the place you have been looking for. Not much happens in Waimea but that is just fine. If you want more activity Poipu is a relatively short drive away and the North Shore about 1.5 hours drive away. The staff at Waimea Plantation Cottages are all incredibly friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boise, ID

My favorite place in the world!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
This place is wonderful! Beautiful beyond words. Plantation era setting, yet with modern comforts. Grounds are immaculate, cottages are wonderful. Aaron at the front desk puts this place over the top. Welcomes you each day, shares all the must see and must do activities, and is genuinely interested in making your experience the best possible. A 10!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One bedroom.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Spacious bathroom, comfortable bed, well appointed kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bend Oregon

Lovely cottages

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Individual cottages makes it very private. Wonderful view of ocean. Grounds are lush and manicured. Great restaurant. Staff is friendliest I've ever seen at a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene, OR

Nice place, beautiful grounds, great sunsets.

Posted Feb 6, 2015
We liked the real Old Hawaii flavor of this place. Kitchen and rooms are not big. We used the breezes for air conditioning, and that was fine. It's an easy walk to stores and eateries. The ocean view is beautiful from the grounds, but the beach isn't swimable. Kitchen could have used some sharp knives and some larger pans. Free laundry machines came in very handy. Beautiful grounds, with lots of plants, birds, and built-in alarms (roosters).
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Disappointing, is an understatement...

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Not much. Terrible, terrible place. Don't stay here.
Cons: Pretty much everything!
Location: Nothing, this is the worst spot on the island. There IS the Waimea canyon, but really, that's it. NO other reason to go to this rear-end of the island
The smell of urine, was only surpassed by the mice we had to deal with, the lack of beach to swim in, the small pool, the squatters next door, the rude staff, the overpriced nature of the resort, the rudeness of the locals for us invading their locals town, the ridiculousness of the resort fee, the terrible wifi, the non-functional TV and DVD system, the sporadic and useless housekeeping. But James at Kalapaki Joes (one of only two restaurants in town) was awesome. The food was good (surprisingly affordable and delicious, especially the happy hour appys), and his service excellent. Sadly I can't say the same for the other servers, but ask for James. The cottages COULD be SO amazing if they just put a little effort in. They COULD be 4 or 5 stars with a little love an effort, but this place is neglected, aged, out-dated, unkept, unmaintained, un-loved. Everything else about the experience was terrible. Go somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Staten Island, NY

Lovely cabin in a lovely setting

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The setting, the general feeling of calm and relaxation and like coming home!
Location: Close to Waimea Canyon and Polihole State Park.
Beautiful setting by the ocean in a lovely cabin that had been part of an old plantation. Each cabin is situated so that your morning coffee or tea can be taken while sitting on your front porch with a view of an old banyan tree and/or the ocean. Listening to the waves at night is a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015
It’s wonderful to hear that you were able to find a sense of calm and relaxation during your stay with us; that’s what vacation is all about. We hope to see you again next time. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Location: Hike the Waimea Cayon trail, enjoy the town and close by beaches!
Amazing grounds and cottages. Very quiet and private! Unique lodging. Food at the restaurant was great and a really good happy hour!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015
Aloha! Thank you for the 5 star review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our proximity to the beach, food, and hotel grounds. We hope we’ll see you the next time you’re in Kauai. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Very friendly people and old Hawaii feel.
Cons: Beach is good for putting toes in sand, not swimming.
Very nice rustic cottage. Great having kitchen with large family. Drove to Poupu alot, 30 min, since it has best beach around. This is not for the fancy service resort folks. Old cottage style, charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anniston, Alabama

This Resort is a lovely quaint step back in time.

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed everything and plan to return for a month next year. It is an amazing place to relax after a day of exploring.
Cons: A few spots like the porch chairs could use a pain touch up but we really did not mind, it just added a little character for us.
Location: The Canyon Park is worth the drive and exploring the historic points like the Captain Cook monument and the artistic little shops was fun.
After spending a week on the North Shore we wanted to see another part of the Island. We were exceptionally pleased when we arrived and instantly noticed that there was a quiet, well appointed historical treasure welcoming us. These cottages are very clean and well preserved. Each one is a little gem glowing with warm rough-hewn flooring and seaside shutters preserved from another era and restored with all the modern touches. Everything from the large claw foot tubs to the wicker porch chairs was comfortable and relaxing amid the laid-back atmosphere and quiet beach. The big old trees hung gloriously near the cottages and around the grounds like elder family members welcoming us home. We instantly relaxed and settled in. After one night in #85 the staff quickly accommodated our move to #87 (closer to the ocean) when a problem occurred with the water heater that could not be fixed that day. The cat that had greeted us at #85 with playful purrs moved right along with us. He was an added bonus that made our experience feel more like home. We feed him each night as we cooked in our cute little kitchen. That may be against the rules but we are animal lovers (my husband is a DVM) and we did not notice any signs poster. We read many glowing reviews from the cottage journal that guests return frequently and enjoy the cats being a part of their experience and even named him Coconuts. I am sure that the friendly, helpful staff will remove him if you are not a cat lover.