Ratings based on 1,286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta

Good hotel for the price

Posted Mar 30, 2015
I was surprised with how nice the hotel was for the price that we got. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hallways kind of smelt funny & they were a little messy but they were doing construction so I can't complain too much about it. All staff was pleasant and helpful. Thank you for a nice stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was great but not close to Boston.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Great experience but it's definitely $22.00 away from the Oak Grove train. Nonetheless, it's a nice motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Location, Price
Cons: Nearly everything, but then the price could be higher. At higher prices, I would stay elsewhere (closer to Boston, and not inside an industrial park)
Location: Location is ideal to get there and to get away (at Intersection of Route 95 and Route 93). Superb location for arrival and departure, but not scenic!
Conveniently close to Boston; low-cost option for a quick, overnight trip; the hotel, from what I heard, is still trying to renovate many of the rooms, but the one I stayed in was in dire straits - certainly in heavy need of full renovations, top to bottom; everything works fine (no complaints there - lights, hair-dryer, shower, slow toilet), but the infrastructure (wall, floor, bathroom, etc.) was beaten-up and falling apart; beds were made, but the sheets were very wrinkled and warn, making me question whether or not they were clean; could not find extra blankets, so blankets from second bed were used (doubled-up); heat in the room worked only through an old-school (in-the-wall/window) electric heater/air-conditioner which produced a dry, stuffy heat and it was very loud (and falling apart); lobby and restaurant/bar was about as simple as can be (and could use a big freshening-up, too); I happen to find nothing wrong with "scary dive-bars," so I found nothing wrong with this place; night-staff was missing a smile, and day-time staff was nice and considerate, but could only do so much without a magic wand; parking was free and plentiful; location at intersection of 95/93 is superb for getting in fast (and getting out even faster); the price is extremely attractive, but I still think it's slightly over-priced (by ~$10); I would stay there again, but next time, knowing what I am in for! I enjoyed the savings compared to near-by hotels, and I got what I needed: a bed and roof.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a sudden room rental

Posted Feb 10, 2015
You get what you pay for ... but plz read the fine print when booking
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent for the money

Posted Feb 4, 2015
we booked this stay with expedia 20 minutes before we got there. Paid under $200.00 for 3 days. ( 65 a night ). This hotel is a transient hotel though so you have long term residents hanging at the front entrance smoking cigarettes. rooms were clean and neat ,spacious aznd recently done over. if you can get past the people talking to themselves then stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albany, NY

For the price this hotel is above average!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The staff was super nice and friendly. For the price we paid the Clarion Inn is above average. Room was clean and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TERRIBLE

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Guy at the front desk was rude, I had to go through 1 hour of arguing just to stay there. Paid for a double room 2 double beds and only got 1 room with double beds
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom connecticut

Cheap option just outside Boston

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Booked a room here because it was cheapest and it's a reasonable drive to the TD Garden. Easy to get to. Staff was friendly. Location was a little shady and the condition of the building and room left much to be desired but if you're just looking for a place to stay near Boston, but affordable, this place does the trick.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leofrom Laconia NH

Very Positively Surprised

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
We were both very pleased at how the renovations at the Clarion in Wakefield have progressed. We used to live in the area and visit the bar on a somewhat regular basis but reading some of the reviews I was concerned about staying there when we moved out of the area. My wife and I were both pleasantly surprised at how nice the renovated rooms and lobby were. We immediately booked another next this week. We have looked all around the area and I am not sure you can get better value for your money than staying at the Clarion. The location is excellent to Boston and all major highways north, south east and west of 128/93. we had a few appetizers and drinks in the bar and its fairly priced for what you get. If your looking for a great location and about one of the best rates you can get around in a clean room (ask for upgraded room because I am not sure how many our left to be upgraded), then the Clarion is right for you. The rooms are not big with two double or queen beds so they are not for hanging around the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Luisfrom Philadelphia , pa

one cold night -5 outside

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
despite all the construction it was going on for remodeling the staff was friendly and courteousthe view from the rooms and outside was wonderful