Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2014 
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Concord, MA

Pleasant but old

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Convenient to locations of interest in the area. Very pleasant owner and staff. Very accommodating to your needs. Clean & comfortable.
Cons: None
Location: Several which need to be discussed with the owner. Seafood, sailing, fishing, boating, shopping and very nice restaurants.
Old comfortable home. Pleasant staff, very clean, excellent bedding, very good meals plus very interesting gardens. Limited vehicle parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mark Fermanfrom Hudson, NH

Posted Aug 12, 2014 
Cozy little place off the beaten path and convenient to the tourist destinations if you don't mind a bit of a drive. Would definitely return. Wonderful people running the place as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Owner is a delightful host and wonderful cook. Facility has an amazing garden which is utilized in the kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Seanfrom State College, PA

Beautiful B&B with fun and interesting owners!

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Upon arrival, we immediately felt at ease. The owner's are delightfully unique and personable! The room was comfortable and well provisioned. The breakfasts were high end resturant quality, with fresh ingredients right from their garden! The location is a perfect home base to explore from, plenty to see close by. But, the true treasure of this place is the owners themselves. Make sure to leave time in your schedule to engage with them!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Patrikfrom Bern, Switzerland

Helpful hosts, beautiful furnished house

Posted Sep 25, 2013 
Very good breakfast, excellent and personalized suggestions for trips etc. Location is perfect to explore the surounding peninsulas and towns.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Stay somewhere else

Posted Aug 8, 2012
Rooms are not clean; the linens had spots on them; the carpets in the room were very dirty and not vacuumed; the matresses of the twin beds were old and very uncomfortable; we did not sleep well at all; spare yourself a sleepless night and go somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lindafrom Westerville, OH, USA

Waldoboro B & B Maine adventure -

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: The innkeepers are colorful, creative, talented women
Cons: Bathroom tub/shower could have used some updates
Location: Charming, Maine village, easy access to route 1 and many Maine coastal excursions
We had a highly memorable lovely visit staying at La Vatout. The house is wonderfully old and very homey. The innkeepers are warm, creative, and interesting enlightened women. We loved our conversations with them. We were given lots of great ideas for outings, restaurants, etc. and assistance with making reservations for them. Breakfast was over the top great. The innkeeper really went out of her way to satisfy our every breakfast need including making special sausage and buckwheat pancakes from scratch to fresh ground coffee both decaf and regular. The setting is casual, earthy, and artistic. Our room was large enough to navigate around in easily with views of beautiful hemlock trees out our windows, lots of books if we wanted to read. It was convenient to connect to route 1 and the many Maine excursions.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Diane

Posted Jul 27, 2012 
The innkeepers are very friendly, and we enjoyed talking with them and meeting their pets. However, future guests need to be aware that this place is not at all suitable to guests with any kind of physical disability. We both found it difficult to climb up the extremely steep steps to our bedroom on the second floor. It was also difficult to navigate the steep and uneven concrete steps to the front door, and the handrail was dangerously loose. Our room was very hot, and the furniture was cheap & uncomfortable; only 2 hard chairs. The place has no sitting room & no porch for guests, so if guests want to sit somewhere to read or relax, they must go out to the garden (quite pretty, but not really accessible for elderly or handicapped or less-than agile folks). They could also sit in a rather dirty-looking arm chair in the kitchen, which I did not find to be an appealing option. As a final warning--our room had no key, and the owners don't lock the front door. The owners are very intelligent women with interesting personal histories, but they need to clear out a lot of clutter in and around their place and do some serious maintenance for the comfort and safety of guests!