Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Sioux Center, IA

Superb bloody mary's!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Loved the decor; it all looked quality and rich. Loved the bar and the bloody mary's. Beds, pillows and showers are great!
Cons: Fresh hot coffee in the lobby would be great! The flatscreens in the room are very small.
Location: We were there to see the college and plan to return when our daughter is there and attend some D1 hockey games at the Sanford center
Loved the atmosphere and their attention to detail. Even the antique style phones and all antique oil rubbed bronze fixtures. The shower head and shower pressure fabulous. Loved the beds! My husband and daughter said it was the best night of sleep in a long time. Stayed here when up to visit Bemidji State for my daughter. Looking forward to coming back when we come to visit her during her college career. We will next time book directly as we found out that we could of booked directly for $50 less than through Expedia but I guess we wouldn't have found out about this place without it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Sioux Center, IA

Superb bloody mary's!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Loved the decor; it all looked quality and rich. Loved the bar and the bloody mary's. Beds, pillows and showers are great!
Cons: Fresh hot coffee in the lobby would be great! The flatscreens in the room are very small.
Location: We were there to see the college and plan to return when our daughter is there and attend some D1 hockey games at the Sanford center
Loved the atmosphere and their attention to detail. Even the antique style phones and all antique oil rubbed bronze fixtures. The shower head and shower pressure fabulous. Loved the beds! My husband and daughter said it was the best night of sleep in a long time. Stayed here when up to visit Bemidji State for my daughter. Looking forward to coming back when we come to visit her during her college career. We will next time book directly as we found out that we could of booked directly for $50 less than through Expedia but I guess we wouldn't have found out about this place without it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Dirty Room

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
For what we paid for the room I expected it to be better. The lighting was so bad that it was hard to see to read, and put make-up on. The bathroom was dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Brainerd

Nice room but linens need to be upgraded.

Posted Nov 23, 2013
We had a wonderful time. The only bad rating would be for the bedding. The comforter on the bed was lumpy, when it should have been fluffy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hvoss from MN

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Our room at the Chase was lovely with a beautiful lake view.
2 out of 5
by Craig from Lake Minnetonka, MN

Great view but overpriced

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The room was decorated nice, and the bed was very comfortable. Spectacular view.
Cons: There was a wedding going on, so parking was limited. They should have had valet parking for guests when parking lot was full.
Location: Only a couple blocks from the main street. Many small shops and boutiques.
We stayed in the middle of October (19th). The room was nice, and the view was spectacular, but I think it was overpriced for the size of the room and the amenities. Very comfortable bed. Entertainment in the bar was not good. He played classic songs, but the tempo was way too fast. Not good for dancing either.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming but under-equipped

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The charm/look/beauty of it
Cons: Have some coffee in the lobby perhaps?
Location: Beautiful place for fall colors...
We weren't aware of the rumors about this hotel being "haunted" and so I was surprised to find a picture of a girl carrying a staff with a skull with glowing eyes hanging on the wall, which a bunch of similar skull heads behind her on a creepy trail in a haunted house. It really freaked out my 8-year-old and we had to take the pic off the wall so he could sleep. I hate all things paranormal and would not have booked it had I known these rumors. The room was very nice/clean and well-decorated otherwise, but I was surprised at the lack of complimentary items (no coffee in the lobby, etc. and though we had a $2 coupon off a fully priced breakfast, it was just surprising.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lakeside room in original building.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Very restful listening to the waves. Small town makes everything very close to hotel.