Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom clufton nj

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Dirty pool, had a carrot and a bag inside. The beds had pieces of 4by 2's coming off the sides like they were handmade, one pricked my foot since it had a nail. The bedding was old, the table was wobbly, wifi didn't work, breakfast was cheap(no wonder it was free), tv was old and no channels, and to top it the key card did not work.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mikefrom Queens

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at.

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. It was awful. I don't even know how this hotel stays in business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Earl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Georgefrom NJ

"ok" for a cheap place to sleep at the shore

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
VERY tired d├ęcor, sheets & pillow cases were clean, spread & blanket old / stained, no bugs, pool was very clean, beds were ok for comfort, fridge was clean & worked, our non smoking room (#148) had no odors. The positives, the building exterior was just painted & an entire new roof put on, so they are putting money into the place, just hasn't made to all the rooms yet. For the price (booked in advance) you can't beat it. It's only nine minutes drive to Ocean Grove, but the closest beach (Belmar) is only 3-4 minutes. We used to stay in Point Pleasant in a resort on the beach for over $210, now it's $350 a night, no way is it worth that, I'd rather come here and have all that extra money to extend my stay or live it up more while here. We plan on returning next summer. **If you are a primadonna ,a super clean freak, Champagne expectations with a beer budget you wont be happy here. Good for families on a tight budget who just need a place to sleep, shower & change.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We only stayed for 1 night, and found it odd that the clerk made a photo copy of my license and credit card. I asked the clerk why they need to do this his reply is that we keep it on file. Looking at the license is fine, but what could they be doing by keeping my license on file????
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Plainfield, Il

Terrible Hotel with Uncaring Staff

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: You would have to fix all of the aforementioned.
Location: Drove into Washington DC from this location.
Stayed three days--absolutely awful. On Day 1, check in day, we went to our room. There was red blotches all over the connecting door, the wall and the lampshade--looked like blood (was later told it was wax)--asked for another room. Moved to second room. Extremely dirty around refrigerator area, corner areas, etc. Continental breakfast in the morning consisted of a handful of cornflakes, brown bananas, and bread for toast. When I commented to the man behind the desk that the dispenser for raisin bran was empty, did he have anymore, he told me to eat cornflakes. One small thermos of warm orange juice and mud coffee was also available. After returning from a 7 hour tour in Washington DC, came back to an uncleaned room (5:00pm in afternoon). Contacted front desk and was informed that I was out of luck because maid was gone for the day. Demanded "cleaned" room. "Clean" room had mold on bathroom ceiling, filfth around refrigerator and doors--still no raisin bran--took photographs in last room. Every time I talked to man at front desk, he appeared to be nonchalant about any problems--attitude was that I should contact Expedia. I have a problem that Expedia would even post this hotel as a viable place to stay--plan to send letters to them as well as to Travelodge's Corporate Headquarters---horrible experience!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Better staff, cleanliness, working utilities.
Location: Nothing much nearby.
Got sick, terrible smell, phone didnt work to call front desk when needed, towels werent clean, very dusty and sticky. Would not recommend staying here.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom south jersey

Switched room 3tines rooms weren't made up dirty

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Horrible experience and done using expedia if this is what you sponsor very gross
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Omaresfrom Ridgefield

Very poor maintenance

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very poor maintenance and rooms smells really BAD, WE HAVE TO BUY SHEETS AND BLANKETS, CAUSE THE WERE NOT IN GOOD SHAPE. I don't recommend this place and also people smoke in the rooms, I was really very up set to get this place.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed about 20 minutes and left. I don't know how this place stays open.