Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Excellent, relaxinnz break at the George

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere and decor, friendly staff, plenty of car parking space and the food.
Cons: Not sure how you can improve the noise level in our room which is due to traffic noise.
Location: Location within easy reach of Wallingford for the Bunkfest weekend. Local bus service very good only took 20 minutes to reach our destination.
My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the George and had a really nice time. We arrived late on Friday evening after the restaurant had closed however the friendly receptionist and kitchen staff opened the restaurant especially and offered us a meal off the extensive menu which we greatly appreciated. The room was spacious and very clean. The buffet breakfast and accompanying service was excellent. The only downside to our stay was the noise from the road as our room fronted directly onto the street/road however due to the location this problem is unavoidable. We will definitely book the George hotel again however we would choose a quieter room away from the noise of the traffic.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Misleading address - this hotel is actually in a different town to the address listed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Booked for parents

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Parents (in 60s), both enjoyed the visit, staff friendly and helpful when required. Only issue I saw was that the room decor was a little tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Booking

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Cons: The provision of a grab handle in the shower would be of a great help especially for older or infirm guests, also another shelf for toilet bags etc.
Location: A lovely picturesque village. The Abbey and tea room an added attraction.
The booking was confused as a twin room was not available, although it was showing as available when booking. The double was fine as it was a very wide bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Historic and interesting hotel lacking quality

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Character, location.
Cons: Adequate staff, investment in decorating.
Location: Good walks around the village, lakes and rivers. Good places to eat in the village.
The George Hotel, High Street, Dorchester on Thames is an interesting historic coaching inn located in a lovely village, but disappointed with mediocre standards of service and facilities. The really disappointing thing was that we had actually booked The George Hotel, High Street, Wallingford, some four miles away and a much better hotel, but had to make do with this one as the Expedia entry had totally mislead by giving another hotel's address and not mentioning the word "Dorchester". We have to ask if this was deliberately done by the hotel to poach customers from the better hotel. Please be warned and check you are booking the actual hotel you want by the postcode.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by martin from Solihull uk

Midsomer murders at the George hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Arrived at hotel around midday only to find a film crew set up outside the hotel. It turned out that an episode of midsomer murders was being filmed there. Only drawback was that we were unable to check in or park our car in the car park. However we were more than happy to watch the filming. After a while we were able to get in to the hotel and given our room key. We were given one of the outside rooms in a block of about five or six. The room was fairly small but well decorated and comfortable. Ensuite had a bath and shower with plenty of hot water. Filming continued for the rest of the day and were able to chat to the film crew and some of the extras in the bar as they waited their turn on set. Dorchester on Thames is a small and quiet town with two other hotels and a convenience store. After an excellent breakfast in pleasant suuroundings we went for a walk by the river thames which was about ten minutes away through some fields. Overall a very pleasant stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by will

Great Hotel - would stay again

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really nice hotel. allowed early check in for a wedding without issue. amazing breakfast included and loads of car parking especially for guests. rooms were nice and unique. bed comfy and powerful shower. Cant really ask anymore for what we had. thanks :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by none

great service

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Second time here, fantastic breakfast, love the location, and friendly atmostphetre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Plymouth

Good value hotel for weekend break close to Oxford

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, value for money, food.
Cons: For the price paid - nothing.
Location: Lovely village location. Close to Oxford, which is why we chose it. Not too far from the Oxford park and ride at Redbridge.
The George at Dorchester was excellent value for money. The food was first rate, with plenty of choice. The staff were suitably attentive without being intrusive - cannot understand other comments about surly male member of staff as the male co-owner was a nice guy. The location was great for Oxford.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernie from Australia

excellent hotel with great historical character

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: it's ancient character, large room size, firm beds, functional bathroom, quiet, close to Oxford and an excellent restaurant
Cons: nothing - we were very happy
Location: close to Oxford
Expedia - lift your game: the hotel's address is Donchester-on-Thames, not Wallingford. Our car's satnav system took us to the wrong address, then a local sent us to another George Hotel before we were put on the right track. Most importantly, we're glad we persevered. This 15th Century hotel is full of character, yet the rooms are large, with good beds and large functional bathroom. Contrary to the details on the Expedia website, the hotel also has good wifi. Because we arrived late, we had a meal at the hotel's restaurant and, once again, we're so glad we did. Excellent food at reasonable prices and nice local beers to wash it down with. Breakfast the next morning was tasty and more than satisfied our appetite. Overall, an excellent hotel that we'd go back to any time.