Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geraldine, NZ

Clean and tidy backpackers

Posted Jul 11, 2014
A clean and tidy backpackers. Nice decor. Location was good with close walk to town shops but no road noise at night. Rooms were warm and ours had a nice view. Only down side was the bed was a bit old so not the most comfortable. Very good overall place to stay. Good prices. Would recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from nz

Base backpackers Wanaka

Posted May 20, 2014
Nice clean room and very friendly helpful staff. I arrived on a motorbike and having a lock up yard nxt door was great piece of mind. I would definitely recommend staying here.
1 out of 5
by Chee Peoiu from Singapore

Horrible Hostel Meant to Frustrate the Occupants

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Be honest about the facilities in these ensuite room, and let the potential occupants be aware.
This was the most horrible hostel/hotel/motel that I ever encountered for my NZ trip. I booked the double room with ensuite bathroom at a price slightly cheaper than the average motel rate. And what do I get? 1. The toilet is miserably small at about 1.2 meter by 0.6 meter. The wash basin has a depth of about 30cm from the wall. Right above the wash basin, is a glass shelf for you to place your cups, toothpaste etc. When you rinse your mouth, you cannot bend down to let the water directly flow out of your mouth. Because once you bend, you head will knock against the glass shelf! You have to stand straight and "spit" the water into the wash basin, and splashing unavoidably. 2. There is only 1 hook at the back of the toilet door, and a bar around 50 cm, to hold your towels. For two persons, such provision is definitely insufficient. There is no other place to hang your clothing. 3. The 2 cups provided have lipstick stains on them. 4. The remote control for the TV is missing. 5. There is no parking space immediately next to the hostel. You have to park at a public carpark which is 5 minutes walking distance away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and friendly

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Good value.
Cons: Fridge in room please.
We had a double room ensuite. It was on a par with 3 star hotel accommodation. Central and convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chen Chen from Aust

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Julie from Devon

good for back packers

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here 2 nights in Jan 2014. The rooms were clean but I wouldn't say it was 5 star. Probably luxury to back packers though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Erica from Studio City, CA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernard from Whangaparaoa-Auckland

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: As Above
Cons: Excellent in all respects
Location: Close to all facilities in town-nearby to cafes & bars & coffee shops Close walk to Lake & Other attractions
Centally situated - close to all facilities in CBD Excellent Service -well managed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phil from Wellington

Awesome location, Tidy Rooms.

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were quite surprised with the quality of the double room which we managed to book last minute. The room was super tidy and simple. I have to say the sink was pretty annoying being positioned with an overhanging shelf in the way. But otherwise bathroom was nice, pretty good shower. Location and overall feel of the place was pretty good. Washing machine and dryer was pretty good and straight forward but they may need to fix the switch somehow that flicks between washing machine and dryer option as this was pretty unresponsive and had to check with reception about it not changing from dryer to washer etc.. I would stay there again though. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014