Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angleles, CA

Gourmet Meals near Longleat

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The rooms and bathrooms were lovely. The breakfasts were more gourmet and varied than any we'd experienced on our trip.
Cons: Because the facility is used for outside functions parking could be very difficult.
Location: It is near Longleat, home to a fabulous estate and an excellent little zoo.
We chose the hotel because it was a luxurious hotel near a zoo and manor I wanted to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staines, uk

Deluxe room stay

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Fantastic .. Very relaxing experience. Will come back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew from Kent

WOW, worth every penny

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
We spent two nights here in April and all I can say is it was perfect. The room was spectacular, the facilities were great and all the staff were helpful and friendly. Cost a bit more than what we would normally spend for a weekend but worth every penny. Already trying to work out when to book here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Spa break with daughter stayed one night

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Lovely country hotel, spacious bedrooms, relaxed but attentive staff. Lovely food. Large lounges to relax in. Outdoor poor well situated.
Cons: Choice of background music was not in keeping to atmosphere of relaxation in both eating and bar areas. Needs to be more background chill out music!!
Location: Local walks, Bath, Shepton Mallet,
Pleasant stay, relaxed and staff friendly and helpful. Food well cooked and delicious. Good atmosphere in hotel. Spa facilities are good with a decent pool size.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Good value when on offer

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Very attentive staff in general. Classic room size ok but bed quite small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Make sure you book a room on the first floor ..

Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is at a beautiful location in nice grounds. The reception rooms are comfortable and give an "old manor house" feel. We made a late booking at 6pm and got allocated a room on the 2nd floor with a very low ceiling, then, after complaining, got a larger one on the same floor. Having a room on the second floor feels like going up to to servants' quarters, the furniture was dated (not vintage or antique), creeky floorboards, drafty windows, the bed was soft, uneven and it felt like we would roll off, and there was a funny smell on the landing. We had dinner in the restaurant: steak and chips were good, whereas my guinea fowl was nice but the cassoulet was very salty. I ordered a glass of NZ Sauvignon Blanc (£11) and got a wine that was definetely not S.B. The waiter verified that it was S.B., but as I was not at all enjoying the wine, then asked to see the bottle. Next I was served a fresh glass, this time S.B., from, as the waiter said, a "new" bottle. Never saw the first bottle, and I cannot imagine that there will be any "old" bottles of Savignon Blanc. Breakfast was good with a long wait for the porridge, and we did not make any use of the spa and pool facilities. Staff was very friendly. Summary: If you book this hotel make sure that you are allocated a room on the first floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Bracknell, Berkshire

FANTASTIC HOTEL & SPA

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
FANTASTIC!!! Went for a spa weekend for my wife's birthday. All the staff were attentive and accommodating. The hotel and spa are lovely. We will definately be coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Festive Christmas family break

Posted Dec 8, 2014
This hotel is truly beautiful at Christmas. Reception staff are outstanding and do everything to help. The hotel grounds and decorations are magnificent, warm and welcoming. We stayed in the Dorchester room which is fabulous and luxurious, great space for a family. The food is very good and fresh and plenty of it. The only negative is the wait for food at breakfast- 25 minutes. The kitchen struggled a little with having so many large tables to serve. The pool is lovely even with small toddlers. Would highly recommend this hotel, its not cheap but definitely worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Very relaxing pleasant staff wouldn't let me lift a glass!