Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dorset

Great hotel near to Stourhead

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Food, location and standard of the room.
Cons: The rooms were very hot but couldn't see how to turn the heat down
Location: Stourhead is 10 minutes away and is a full day if you enjoy walking. Also when we were there the Mere carnival was on.
Very enjoyable stay, the hotel and room were very good. Also a special mention for the food which was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely room, friendly staff. Next to a main road so a bit of noise, otherwise difficult to fault. Also had dinner and breakfast there which were both excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by hammyfrom Portsmouth

Lovely comfortable room in a very pleasant pub

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although the postcode says Warminster the pub is actually in Mere. We stayed here after going to Longleat for the day. The room was lovely with high quality furnishings and an extremely comfortable bed. There was a separate sofa bed which my son used and which he said was also extremely comfortable. The bathroom was of a high standard with a huge bath and separate shower. We ate in the pub which was really nice. The welcome was great and breakfast freshly cooked and set us up for the day. Would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Seanfrom Aberdeen

Broken mattress

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a good hotel. The staff were good and friendly. Rooms were spacious and well decorated. The bar food was good and the location was lovely. Our only complaints were to do with our room (Walnut room).... Not having air con the room was very hot. Also, the mattress was soooo soft and had a major sag in the middle - it really needs replaced. I ended up on the floor for the night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom Scotland

Nice quiet location

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good sized room and varied menu in the bar/restaurant. A pleasant stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Rosfrom Hampshire

brillant food

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just arrived back from a one night stay at The Walnut Tree Inn, the rooms are spotless and food brillant, staff very friendl ,it was good value for money and would book there again if i was up that way, had a lovley stay thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heatherfrom Adelaide, Australia

Comfortable room in a handy location

Posted Jun 6, 2014
We chose the Walnut Tree Inn because it was close to Longleat and Stourhead and we wanted to stay in small villages rather than cities on our trip. The Inn was on a quiet street, the room was larger than some we had and was comfortable, the bathroom was nice and the food in the pub downstairs was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by a pilotfrom poland

Excellent in every respect

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
A delightful place to stay; hospitality at its best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nick Smithfrom Sheffield

Great Place

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very impressed with the Inn we were made to feel very welcome and the food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by DebSfrom Bedfordshire

Fantastic food, very lovely inn, great service.

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a very lovely inn, and the rooms are decorated beautifully. The food was great. No complaints at all, really enjoyed the stay (one overnight, before going to Longleat).