Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wales

Central to main town centre

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable. The location was good.
Cons: Maybe the grouting around the bathroom tiles.
Location: The town centre was less than ten minutes on foot. The Jepherson park was very beautiful. There were some nice art galleries and exhibitions.
The hotel although very tired cosmetically was still in my opinion good value for money. I have rated the facilities as two because the toilet cistern overflowed when I pulled the handle. The hotel staff did offer us a double room instead. The lounge area was not to my liking but if you like black then it's o.k After all is said and done I slept well in a nice clean bed, would I go there again - Yes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambs

Good location, nice building well furnished

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Quality of furnishings, quietness of hotel, good size TV and good internet.
Cons: Staff could look to help guests a little more as there are steps to negotiate at the front and rear entrances and again to the reception desk.
Location: A 10 min walk to the main shopping / restaurant area and historic pump room. Heritage Motor Centre at Gaydon is a 15 min drive away.
I have stayed here before and chose to come back when in the area again. On each occasion I have had a single room, which are just big enough. Staff try hard to help, they kindly sent on my receipt with me forgetting to ask for it on departure. Rooms clean with tasteful furnishings. Good size TV and good WiFi signal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice building, good location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
1 night stay in a single room Room was small, no aircon and sash window had to be wedged open. Excellent TV and free WiFi. Very clean room and bathroom. A bed sheet rather than just the thick duvet would have been good. There a several steps to drag your luggage up at both the front and rear doors, with no ramp. Overall it was OK and I will use again.
3 out of 5
by J

Falstaff Hotel, Leamington Spa

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Was not interested, as was too tired!
10 steps up to the front door, with luggage, on my own!! That was just the beginning! Another 15 steps, no lift, up to the first floor. The final insult was a stiff fire door to push open, before finally entering my room! The tap on the basin was impossible to turn off! I had to use the bath mat in order to turn it forcefully enough to stop it running. The shower knob was very stiff and I needed to use both hands to adjust the heat and flow. This was brought to the attention of the receptionist on checkout. She was very pleasant and noted down my comments, followed by an apology, no discount though!! At least the bed was comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by londonfrom london

Close to town

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Average hotel. Decor is a little tired and shower curtain needs replacing. Generally ok. Breakfast was cheap and good. But thought overall it was expensive in comparison to other similar places
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel central to Leamington Spa centre

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Friendlier staff.
Location: We were there to visit my daughter who is currently at University at Warwick and lives in Leamington Spa
Disappointing, we were greeted, not exactly with a smile. We were meeting friends for the evening so can only comment on our breakfast experience. We were taken to our table, there was plenty of staff but no one came to ask if we wanted tea or coffee. I stayed with the table whilst my partner went for his cereal and OJ. Still not asked what beverage we required. Finally I had to ask for our tea and coffee. The service was poor, and they were not short staffed as one young man was busy just sorting cutlery, one waiter was behind the buffet foods. Which were not replenished as we only had one piece of bacon each, there were no fried eggs and the scrambled eggs were grey. We were NOT the last customers down to breakfast. The jams and marmalades were not replenished as I had to ask for some jam to go with my croissant. All in all a very poor experience. We will not be returning to the Falstaff. We have previously stayed in Best Western hotels and have had no reason to complain. The staff were not friendly at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luis

Good hotel to stay

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Excellet staff
The room No. 16 where we stayed is close to parking and windows is same height that parking. Is very noisy. We did not like the room. But the staff is excellent, we delay to breakfast but all staff arranged the table to serving us. Thanks a lot to staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with poor service

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Cons: Service
The hotel must have been grand once but the quality is clearly slipping. There was no soap, shampoo or body wash in our room and the night staff could not provide it. The next day when we returned, our room had not been cleaned/serviced and the reception staff could not offer any help except offer new/washed towels as the old towels were wet and lying in the bath where we left them. He offered to replace tea and biscuits but we declined (it was 10pm and we were leaving at 7am next morning). Fortunately we carried our own soap, shampoo and conditioner with us. The reception staff could not offer any cleaning at that time of the night (understandably) and promised to complain to the manager. We did leave a notice outside our room requesting for the room to be cleaned and the notice was still there on our return. The cleaners (presumably) had also left a black bin bag and some sheets in front of another room in the corridor. We did not eat there and can not therefore comment on the quality of food. The bathroom door was chipped and the wall had botched paint areas as if no one cared about the quality of the hotel. On a positive note, there was a fan in the room (it was 29 degree C on both days) and the room size was decent. We stayed there as it was close to our daughter's house and we could attend her graduation ceremony. However we are sorry to say that it is unlikely we will ever return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel in Quiet location but close to town

Posted Jan 24, 2013
Very good hotel and a very pleasant quiet place to stay
3 out of 5
by Greenfriendlyfrom UK

Good Hotel, Breakfast Shoddy & unwelcoming

Posted Jan 14, 2013
Pros: Good price for the standard of th accommodation, hotel well maintained
Cons: Too far from town if you are expecting to be able to walk back at night, breakfast orders finish 5 minutes before the finish time, staff not helpful
Location: 20 minute walk at least to hotel, taxi price is £5 minimum charge each way, no shops near - make sure you take everything you need
I booked a room at this hotel as I was meeting a friend who had travelled over from the Channel Islands on route to Newcastle. We were pleased with the standard of the room and the price of the room but very disapointed by breakfast, we had met at the hotel to attend a function, my fiend was very tired and travelling to the Newcastle the following day so really needed some sleep. There was a party going on in a nearby bedroom from the early hours we tried to call the nightporter to complain but the phone in the room did not work, we were unable to sleep until at least 5am. We then struggeled to get to breakfast, we got to breakfast at 10am to be told that breakfast orders had finished at 9.55am. The waiter was helpful but not attentive, he brought us coffee that was too strong to drink and said we could help ourselves to a continental breakfast, there was no milk, no yoghurt, the toaster had been turned off and there was about half a glass of fruit juice between us so we ended up having to walk over a mile to Weatherspoons for hot toast and a decent cup of coffee. Whilst I do understand breakfast should finish at 10am, this hotel does not go out of it's way to help guests and we will never return there. Sara