Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A large hotel near Stratford,

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Large car park and extensive grounds, comfortable rooms, very hot water
Cons: Bedside lamps provided
A very comfortable and quiet stay in a hotel conveniently close to Stratford, though you need a car. We were disappointed that the price of the overnight stay did not include breakfast which was expensive if bought separately, so we breakfasted in Stratford instead. An annoying gripe was that there were no bedside lights, nor the means to switch off the lights from one's bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxfordshire

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Peaceful
2 night stay no complaints, very clean and comfortable, used the pool, nice size for swimming, evening meal very good, polite staff would recommend, not far to the town would need a car though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitley Bay

cheap n nasty motel besdie nice country house

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: pool/ grounds
Cons: Honesty its a cheap motel at heart the rooms are not good and most of the facilities didn't work in my room.
Location: Go to the Chequers pub/ resteraunt excelent reviews and one of my favourite all time dinning experiances truley exceptional and far better than the ho
Its a con reception in country house but masive Motel next to it is where you'll stay rooms very low rent nice grounds and pool etc but not what you'd expect in accomodation food very expensive but great pub / resteraunt in village a short walk away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Nice hotel in a quiet area

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, lovely swimming pool, quiet surroundings
Cons: Restaurant and bar menu
Location: Stratford is approx. 6 miles away and quite a quiet run - lots of places to visit. Lamb Henry at the White Horse was gorgeous!
our room was comfortable and v clean, hairdryer and iron & board were provided as was a safe although this did not work - which we did report but was not seen to during our 3 night stay. The swimming pool and sauna were lovely and it was great that there were adult swim times if you want a nice quiet swim. My negative would be that bar and restaurant prices were high and the menu somewhat limited, however there are 2 nice places to eat within a 5 minute walk - Chequers and The White Horse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Attractive hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The area it was in.
Cons: The beds
Location: Near to Stratford upon Avon
Beds rock hard and very uncomfortable. Could not stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, comfy Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Staff, rooms, restaurant
Cons: Few cobwebs on bathroom ceiling.
Location: Out of the town centre but only 5 mins to drive in to Stratford
Very good experience. Reception staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Hotel room very comfortable, clean and spacious. Restaurant very cosy and good ambience. Excellent breakfast. Spacious Hotel, felt very roomy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel okay

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer services, friendlier receptionist and get with the program we living in the 21st century
Location: N/a
I booked with Expedia 2 adults and our daughter but when we got to the room no bed, why ask how many guests are staying and then still charge an additional £10 frustrating and I think you should do as all the other hotels and charge at time of booking and not be surprised by hidden costs. Also we booked a taxi with the hotel to go to our function in Charingwood and waited for 45 minutes even though we clearly stated that we had to be out our party at a certain time, no apologies from anyone at the hotel. Anyway our function was only 8.9 miles away and the cost was horrendous worse than London taxis anyway I paid it and we used the same taxi back and was short of cash and the hotel would not even take £10 from card to pay the taxi driver. get some customer services and change your ways this is the 21st century!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Cons: Having the sign in sheet for hotel guests at the leisure facility.
Location: Chequers pub serves lovely food. Closes on a Monday but another nice pub near Chequers. Stafford is lovely and worth a visit.
The hotel was very clean, rooms were a good size and the bed was very comfortable. However, the room walls are paper thin and the view from our room was of industrial bins which is disappointing given the grounds are lovely. Most of hotel staff were friendly but I found the hotel receptionist very robotic and over selling the breakfast with usual hotel trick of discounting the price from the website on arrival. The general night manager seemed to not be doing a lot but bossing the bar man about who was trying to serve customers and cash up. We did not eat in the hotel but can highly recommend Chequers which is less than a five minute walk away. The pool and Jacuzzi are a good size but wasn’t the warmest when I went swimming at 3:30pm. The sign on the wall said the temperature had not been checked since 9am. There is a slight inconvenience in that you have to walk back up to the reception from your room to get towels and sign in to use the leisure facilities there. You pass the leisure centre entrance to do this then have to walk back up to the reception to sign out. The bar is on the expensive side but the wine was very nice and of a good quality. There is a lot of people for conferences but I thought this gave the bar area a good atmosphere. The hotel is about a 15 minute drive to Stratford which was lovely and worth a visit. We did get a good offer for a mid-week break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Business Traveller from Manchester

Value for money

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only complaint I can give, would be the television reception in the rooms,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stuart from South Wales

Close enough to Stafford

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Swimming pool
Cons: Hotel room warm, and insufficient ventilation due to restriction on window.
Location: Excellent location in nice village
Hotel good but mainly for conference type business.