Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Attractive hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The area it was in.
Cons: The beds
Location: Near to Stratford upon Avon
Beds rock hard and very uncomfortable. Could not stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, comfy Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Staff, rooms, restaurant
Cons: Few cobwebs on bathroom ceiling.
Location: Out of the town centre but only 5 mins to drive in to Stratford
Very good experience. Reception staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Hotel room very comfortable, clean and spacious. Restaurant very cosy and good ambience. Excellent breakfast. Spacious Hotel, felt very roomy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel okay

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer services, friendlier receptionist and get with the program we living in the 21st century
Location: N/a
I booked with Expedia 2 adults and our daughter but when we got to the room no bed, why ask how many guests are staying and then still charge an additional £10 frustrating and I think you should do as all the other hotels and charge at time of booking and not be surprised by hidden costs. Also we booked a taxi with the hotel to go to our function in Charingwood and waited for 45 minutes even though we clearly stated that we had to be out our party at a certain time, no apologies from anyone at the hotel. Anyway our function was only 8.9 miles away and the cost was horrendous worse than London taxis anyway I paid it and we used the same taxi back and was short of cash and the hotel would not even take £10 from card to pay the taxi driver. get some customer services and change your ways this is the 21st century!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Cons: Having the sign in sheet for hotel guests at the leisure facility.
Location: Chequers pub serves lovely food. Closes on a Monday but another nice pub near Chequers. Stafford is lovely and worth a visit.
The hotel was very clean, rooms were a good size and the bed was very comfortable. However, the room walls are paper thin and the view from our room was of industrial bins which is disappointing given the grounds are lovely. Most of hotel staff were friendly but I found the hotel receptionist very robotic and over selling the breakfast with usual hotel trick of discounting the price from the website on arrival. The general night manager seemed to not be doing a lot but bossing the bar man about who was trying to serve customers and cash up. We did not eat in the hotel but can highly recommend Chequers which is less than a five minute walk away. The pool and Jacuzzi are a good size but wasn’t the warmest when I went swimming at 3:30pm. The sign on the wall said the temperature had not been checked since 9am. There is a slight inconvenience in that you have to walk back up to the reception from your room to get towels and sign in to use the leisure facilities there. You pass the leisure centre entrance to do this then have to walk back up to the reception to sign out. The bar is on the expensive side but the wine was very nice and of a good quality. There is a lot of people for conferences but I thought this gave the bar area a good atmosphere. The hotel is about a 15 minute drive to Stratford which was lovely and worth a visit. We did get a good offer for a mid-week break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stuart from South Wales

Close enough to Stafford

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Swimming pool
Cons: Hotel room warm, and insufficient ventilation due to restriction on window.
Location: Excellent location in nice village
Hotel good but mainly for conference type business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from MK

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, definitely get what you pay for. Staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Quiet Countryside hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: sauna, jacuzzi, staff helpful & nice restaurant & bar at hotel
Cons: jacuzzi could be warmer; hooks by the pool for towels; the pool towel was holely;blinds in groom an awful green
Location: in the country so perfct if you didn't want to be in centre of stafford -upon avon
Room is a good size but over heated (visited in May) Brand new sauna but jacuzzi wasn't a good warm temperature. The Blinds were an awful dark green - not very relaxing !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ilopul from sutton surrey

great rooms friendly staff

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
we booked one of the superior rooms. It was lovely and had a luxurious feeling, even though they was minor peeling of the paint work in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly , professional and catered to our needs. The facilities were very good and the food was excellent .One minor criticism . We wanted room service for breakfast which they said they did not do...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

not as good as I expected

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
several members of staff were quite cold and unwelcoming (not all though). I was hoping for a grand old hotel but apart from the reception building it felt like any basic chain hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Helen

Beautiful location

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were impressed with the greeting, hotel, facilities, room and the breakfast. The staff were all very attentive and helpful in giving us bar and restaurant suggestions. The pool area was relaxing and well maintained. The self service breakfast was very impressive and the food was fantastic. Overall really pleased we chose to stay here.