Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel needs decorating!

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Quiet location of the room and the very large bed.
Cons: Decoration in public areas.
Lovely room with huge double bed, bathroom was clean and everything was in good order. The normal buffet breakfast was not available but there was no menu to choose from in its place. The baked beans and sausages were overcooked otherwise the choice at breakfast was good. All the public areas were in need of painting but the owners appear to be spending money only a large number of inappropriate mirrors in the restaurant and bar. It's a waste of money when the walls they are going on haven't been painted first!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

You need to be desperate

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Chaotic, not enough staff in any department. Queued at reception to check in and it was more important for her to answer the phone. Night one they lsot my order for my main course, night two they lost my order for my drinks.Will not visit again in a hurray
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A one night stop to break up a long journey

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Very little
Cons: General decor and maintenance is very much needed. A review on the quality of bar food and breakfast food is required.
Location: Only a one night stop to break up long journey so not able to investigate local facilites.
A very disappointing experience considering the website for the hotel presented it as what looked like a nice hotel. This hotel has seen better days and is now lacking any kind of finance to bring it up to what was possibly in the past a pleasant hotel. The decor was very scuffy with rotten window sils in bedroom along with peeling wallpaper. The security chain on the door was broken and also in the bathroom some of the fittings on the taps and toilet seat were missing. Rusty screws holding on the soap tray in shower. The information sheet in the room was old and had been used by a previous guest to make notes on. The bar meal in the bar was very basic and the salad that came with the lasagne consisted of a few strands of lettace. The breakfast was buffet style with no one in attendance to show you to your table. The food at breakfast had been sat around for a while and the bacon and hash browns very dried up. Basic condiments for a breakfast e.g marmalade and brown sauce had to be requested.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Françoise from sermerieu

Parfait

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel parfait pour un séjour avec chien.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Dated hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The size of the room
Cons: In need of cleaning and redecorated
Location: Country road location
This hotel is in need of some decoration the size of the room was the best feature. The food in the restaurant was luke warm at best. We are not against the hotel for allowing pets but we were there unfortunately when a coach party turned up and everyone had a dog howling throughout the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Derek from Slough

Value for money

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel out in the countryside. Rooms could do with a referb, but otherwise good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Would visit again

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Restaurant had a big party in and staff could not cope but when I was served they could not have done more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stopover

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Cons: Décor in dining area and bar could be cosier.
Comfy, clean and very polite staff. Room was lovely and warm on freezing night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable stay

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed in a nice, renovated room. Comfortable. Nice breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mykola from London

Not as good as expected.

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel turned out not as good as some reviews said. I would rate it at 3 star hotel as an absolute maximum. Internet did not work for the first couple of days, telephone in the room did not work at all. Bed sheets had some spots on them. Interior is old and shabby. Overall disappointed.