Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel near Kenilworth

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The welcoming attitude of the staff and the location
Location: Well located for exploring Warwickshire with easy access to numerous tourist attractions, e.g. Warwick, Kenilworth, Stratford, Leamington etc.
This hotel lives up to most of its previous Expedia reviews. My wife and I spent three days here in September and were extremely well looked after by a most helpful and well motivated staff all of whom demonstrated the ability and willingness to "go the extra mile". The room we had was comfortable and quiet, the public rooms were welcoming and reasonably well appointed and the price we paid, having booked early via Expedia, was quite acceptable. There are however several signs of the need to spend more on maintenance, e.g.exterior paintwork, and the decor is generally somewhat dated. Although we did not use them the conference facilities appear to be extensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st albans

Poor service

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Warwick castle nearby but further away than shown on the website
We booked a family room with our 6 and 3 year old children. When we got into the room the major concern was that the balcony door wasn't locked and couldn't be locked. There was a rail outside but could be climbed by our children or a burglar from outside (it was on the 1st floor). Considering this was a family room we found it alarming that this should be allowed. When we complained to the receptionist she said she would look into it while we went out. When we returned and questioned whether it had been fixed she said it hadn't and there wasn't any maintenance workers on site to look at the problem and there was no spare key. Therefore we had to watch our kids like hawks throughout the stay. So much for a relaxing break. Other minor concerns around the TV remote control not working and the room heating not working. Again we complained but nothing done. This hotel is definitely not a 4 star and struggles to be a 3 star hotel. Tired room, tired decor and tired service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surbiton, Surrey

Very comfortable, modern and friendly hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2014
A very comfortable, modern and friendly hotel. Good sized room with super-king bed. Very clean. Well organized breakfast facilities. All at a good price. On the downside: the hotel is surrounded by farmland more than 5 miles from a town.... a little too out-of-the-way maybe, but if you want a quiet location within hitting distance of the Cotswolds, Warwick, Stratford and the West Mids then it's ideal. Using a car is necessary for almost anything, though the hotel does have a nice bar & restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Tired hotel in need of a major revamp

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Shabby, tired looking hotel needing a good clean & re decoration. Peeling paint everywhere. The hotel does not look like it's pictures suggest! We booked a family room with a cot, which we got, but the room smelled of stale smoke. This is obviously not ideal for a baby to sleep in. Unfortunately we arrived late & the children were tired so we put up with it. When I complained the next morning the girl on reception just said she would let somebody know. Would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ipswich Suffolk

Our Warwick Castle weekend.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Nice to have Gluten free bread for my husband!
Cons: Breakfast room could of had a few more staff as staff seemed unable to keep up with dirty plate settings.
Location: We visited Warwick Castle it was amazing we loved our day out there.
The Hotel welcomed us friendly staff who attended to our needs as my husband has Ceoliacs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SE England

Quiet room. Great breakfast.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Prices in the bar were on the expensive side.
Location: 15 minutes from Warwick University Arts Centre.
A school prom was taking place that night but despite that our room at the back of the hotel was very quiet, overlooking a field. Plenty of room for free parking. Sizeable room with two arm chairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay, convenient location

Posted May 27, 2014
Just a one nighter but great location for Cadbury world and Warwick castle. Hotel receptionist was friendly and helpful and breakfast great. Excellent value for money. Only criticism have and is small one, the put you up bed in room for child prob needs replacing, mattress was really sagging and my daughter was uncomfortable but lovely quiet location ideal stop over. Would def recommend and stay again if up that way
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from Uckfield, East Sussex

Nice but could do with a few small improvements

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Friendly and welcoming staff, lovely countryside surroundings
Cons: Attention to detail with cleaning rooms
Location: Great for the NEC, away from main traffic areas and in lovely countryside.
Bar area was comfortable and welcoming. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Restaurant served great food and was very clean. Rooms were very tidy and comfortable, but we found that the floor hadn't been hoovered between the twin beds so lots of bits to step in! I counted 16 small curly hairs in the bathtub that I had to clean before getting into it, also toothpaste splatters on the bathroom floor from the previous occupant which hadn't been mopped up. Those oversights aside, it was a lovely hotel, felt much more "local" than a chain style hotel, and we slept well in the comfortable beds! I can imagine that it gets very hot in summer though as not all the bedroom windows open wide for safety reasons. I disagree with previous comments that it is more a conference hotel, we found it very pleasing on the whole and enjoyed using the Poole table in the bar area and having the TV on in the lounge area while enjoying a drink in the evening. We would stay here again, although we did feel that the price per night perhaps reflect more of an upmarket hotel than this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Peter from Bucks

Good Hotel & very good service

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: As above
Cons: It's fine as is.
Location: Nothing much to say as I was only staying the 1 night
I needed overnight acommadation as I'd attended an event in Warwick. It was very comfortable, so I enjoyed my stay and left mid morning to go home. Kind Regards Peter Byrne