Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel needs decorating!

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Quiet location of the room and the very large bed.
Cons: Decoration in public areas.
Lovely room with huge double bed, bathroom was clean and everything was in good order. The normal buffet breakfast was not available but there was no menu to choose from in its place. The baked beans and sausages were overcooked otherwise the choice at breakfast was good. All the public areas were in need of painting but the owners appear to be spending money only a large number of inappropriate mirrors in the restaurant and bar. It's a waste of money when the walls they are going on haven't been painted first!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A one night stop to break up a long journey

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Very little
Cons: General decor and maintenance is very much needed. A review on the quality of bar food and breakfast food is required.
Location: Only a one night stop to break up long journey so not able to investigate local facilites.
A very disappointing experience considering the website for the hotel presented it as what looked like a nice hotel. This hotel has seen better days and is now lacking any kind of finance to bring it up to what was possibly in the past a pleasant hotel. The decor was very scuffy with rotten window sils in bedroom along with peeling wallpaper. The security chain on the door was broken and also in the bathroom some of the fittings on the taps and toilet seat were missing. Rusty screws holding on the soap tray in shower. The information sheet in the room was old and had been used by a previous guest to make notes on. The bar meal in the bar was very basic and the salad that came with the lasagne consisted of a few strands of lettace. The breakfast was buffet style with no one in attendance to show you to your table. The food at breakfast had been sat around for a while and the bacon and hash browns very dried up. Basic condiments for a breakfast e.g marmalade and brown sauce had to be requested.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom manchester

Dated hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The size of the room
Cons: In need of cleaning and redecorated
Location: Country road location
This hotel is in need of some decoration the size of the room was the best feature. The food in the restaurant was luke warm at best. We are not against the hotel for allowing pets but we were there unfortunately when a coach party turned up and everyone had a dog howling throughout the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stopover

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Cons: Décor in dining area and bar could be cosier.
Comfy, clean and very polite staff. Room was lovely and warm on freezing night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mykolafrom London

Not as good as expected.

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel turned out not as good as some reviews said. I would rate it at 3 star hotel as an absolute maximum. Internet did not work for the first couple of days, telephone in the room did not work at all. Bed sheets had some spots on them. Interior is old and shabby. Overall disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Antonyfrom Saddleworth

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stayed local to the Kenilworth Dogs Trust whilst adopting a dog. Hotel is clean, well presented and very comfortable. Rooms are large & spacious. Hotel staff very helpful with good food especially the breakfasts which are excellent. Highly recommended if you need a hotel in this area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Deborahfrom York

great hotel, nice experience.

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
really enjoyed our stay, to spend the night before going to some training at Stoneleigh Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Timfrom Gloucester

Excellent value for money,comfort and service.

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
We stayed for a three nights,in this lovely country hotel which included breakfasts. The standard of cleanliness was good, the staff were welcoming and very friendly, we were offered evening meal on each day,including arrival day, but declined due to previous arrangements,however the prices were very reasonable. On our last night we were the only two guests in the hotel,and the following morning, we enjoyed a FULL English breakfast, cooked to order and as one who enjoys his food, I would compliment the Chef on such high standards of food, quantity and presentation. The reception staff were fantastic and happily went the extra mile, when asked for directions or location advice, etc. We had a really relaxing post Christmas (de stress) break, for what was a very reasonable price. The Bed was so big my wife and I had to use mobile phone to say goodnight!!! (very slight exaggeration) and were very comfortable. Would benefit from a lick of paint here and there, but generally up together, and most importantly, Clean. Our thanks to all the staff, and look forward to our next visit. Would definitely recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Philfrom York

Good for an overnight.

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
At less than £40 b&b this was a great deal. The hotel is tired and needs some small things fixing but the service was good and everything was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com