Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Solihull

Tatty room

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Booked at short notice as had to give up our room at home for a night knew hotel from local knowledge. Room was very tatty with peeling wallpaper rotten windows rusty radiator and plumbing dripping tap noisey toilet cistern.To top it all opening the dirty curtains and nets revealed a marquee wall literally 2 feet from the window, at 11.30pm disco lights came on and we were treated to a light show of changing colours ,thankfully no music but strange voices ,the volume of which went up and down ,could have been an alien landing ! Breakfast was a farce to say the least ,too shell shocked and tired to complain to the ill looking guy on reception.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel needs decorating!

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Quiet location of the room and the very large bed.
Cons: Decoration in public areas.
Lovely room with huge double bed, bathroom was clean and everything was in good order. The normal buffet breakfast was not available but there was no menu to choose from in its place. The baked beans and sausages were overcooked otherwise the choice at breakfast was good. All the public areas were in need of painting but the owners appear to be spending money only a large number of inappropriate mirrors in the restaurant and bar. It's a waste of money when the walls they are going on haven't been painted first!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This hotel needs some attention.

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times a year, for the past few years. It's needing some refurbishment. The hot water was very temperamental, and switched instantaneously to cold whilst showering. This happened to a colleague and other hotel guests I spoke to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Helen from Cheadle

OK on a budget

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
We booked two nights in a family room. When we arrived in our room we found it had no beds for the children. Luckily we had to go out and get some dinner and it had been fixed ready for bed time. The rest of the room hadn't and we spent the rest of the evening requesting all the extras that we needs, mugs, towels... The room was very cramped once the additional beds were put out. The childrens beds didn't seem too comfy for a grown up although they didn't complain. Our bed was comfortable and the pillows were very soft and flat (which is to our tastes). In general the hotel is clean and well presented but, I would say, on the old and shabby side. OK for a cheapish break but certainly not a luxury stay. We didn't try the restaurant but breakfast was good. The sausages got a good review from the family and this is usually a good way to judge the quality of food. Coffee and tea was brought to the table rather than help yourself (which everything else was). This was a bit inconvenient as it meant continually asking for a refill. Staff on the counter were a bit haphazard. Some very good, other (who we checked in and out with) were much more distracted and off-hand. Finally, the hotel is on a main road and there is nowhere to go to without a car. We didn't suffer from road noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Trevor from Farnham Surrey.

A weekend away.

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
The room was fairly large and quite comfortable with a pleasant view but there was no socket for one of the bedside lights and the other lighting was not sufficient to read by. The evening meal was poor. There was some traffic noise over night but not enough to be a problem In the morning the heating had failed and there was no hot water. The telephone did not appear to have a socket and did not work, The electric razor socket was faulty and would not operate my razor. We noticed that although the hotel is generally clean the stairs did not appear to have been cleaned for some time. The reception was helpful and recorded our problems but did not appear to do anything about them. Fortunately by the evening the hot water had been restored and the evening meal was quite acceptable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

You need to be desperate

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Chaotic, not enough staff in any department. Queued at reception to check in and it was more important for her to answer the phone. Night one they lsot my order for my main course, night two they lost my order for my drinks.Will not visit again in a hurray
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A one night stop to break up a long journey

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Very little
Cons: General decor and maintenance is very much needed. A review on the quality of bar food and breakfast food is required.
Location: Only a one night stop to break up long journey so not able to investigate local facilites.
A very disappointing experience considering the website for the hotel presented it as what looked like a nice hotel. This hotel has seen better days and is now lacking any kind of finance to bring it up to what was possibly in the past a pleasant hotel. The decor was very scuffy with rotten window sils in bedroom along with peeling wallpaper. The security chain on the door was broken and also in the bathroom some of the fittings on the taps and toilet seat were missing. Rusty screws holding on the soap tray in shower. The information sheet in the room was old and had been used by a previous guest to make notes on. The bar meal in the bar was very basic and the salad that came with the lasagne consisted of a few strands of lettace. The breakfast was buffet style with no one in attendance to show you to your table. The food at breakfast had been sat around for a while and the bacon and hash browns very dried up. Basic condiments for a breakfast e.g marmalade and brown sauce had to be requested.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Françoise from sermerieu

Parfait

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel parfait pour un séjour avec chien.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Dated hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The size of the room
Cons: In need of cleaning and redecorated
Location: Country road location
This hotel is in need of some decoration the size of the room was the best feature. The food in the restaurant was luke warm at best. We are not against the hotel for allowing pets but we were there unfortunately when a coach party turned up and everyone had a dog howling throughout the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Derek from Slough

Value for money

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel out in the countryside. Rooms could do with a referb, but otherwise good value for money.