Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Good time in Stratford hotel excellent and very central shame about daily £10 car park charge as extra cost
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent town centre position

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Location: Very near shops and theatre
Good stay in nice room Everything done to a good standard value for money
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Disappointing for the money.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Its History. It used to be a charming hotel but now is a shadow of its former self.
Cons: A complete interior renovation.
Location: Great location.
The room was next to the kitchen - the room furniture looked dated. Parking is expensive
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Not made the best of this historic building

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast service
Location: Theatre, Shakespeare heritage sites
Great location within easy walking distance of all the Stratford attractions, and particularly close to the theatre. OK room, but saggy mattress. Initially TV remote not working and missing MP3 connection cable. Breakfast was very disorganised and not very special. Modern decor of the Marco Pierre White branded restaurant clashed with the character of the building. If not on a package eat breakfast out as there are plenty of other choices nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

character location reasonable price

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: I liked staying here as it was centrally located and had character. The feel is very Shakespearean and adds the experience. It's a Mecure so it's a
Cons: Reading requirements specified by customer before arrival.
Location: Being in the town centre it's perfect to get around to theatr, river, shops and bars/restaurants
I stayed for two nights and this location was perfect to get around on foot after arriving by train. The rooms are ye olde inn style and full of character. The criticism I would have is that after reading review I requested a quiet room. I was allocated a room on the first floor facing onto the road. Not a busy road but enough traffic passing through to encroach into your room, especially if you like to sleep with a window ajar. Also footfall and noise from passing pedestrian is intrusive. It's was not so bad that I could be bothered to change rooms later that evening but I wonder if any notice was taken regarding my request and I should have asked when I booked in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent location for RSC

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Location, charm of design. Room comfortable and quite well equipped
Cons: Breakfast service was bizarre - order taken before permitted to sit down, then waited over half an hour for food, which was tepid when finally served.
Location: Excellent location especially for RSC and all town-based Shakespearean Trust properties.
Good welcome. Rooms were ready and were quiet, as requested. Bed comfortable - duvet cover rather lumpen though. Bathroom excessively hot, I thought. Did not try out restaurant but post-theatre drinks in Quill Room were served promptly and with good humour. Breakfast service needs attention - see below
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Totnes, Devon

Great Hotel in the ancient heart of Stratford.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: A slightly cheaper room rate would be appreciated by older travellers.
Location: superb location only five doors away from Shakespeare's house in the centre of Stratford. Lots to do and see within walking distance. more to do onl
A wonderful hotel, even if it is on the expensive side. Cannot be faulted for service, comfort, atmosphere and general ambience. we would stay there again for every reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lincolnshire

Ideal place for theatre goers to stay.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: It is in a wonderful position for seeing Stratford. Stratford is a lovely town (a bit touristy) in the middle of beautiful countryside.
Cons: Lighting is poor in parts of the hotel - especially through the back entrance to Reception.
Location: The hotel is in the middle of town, ideal for shops and other amenities. The Royal Shakespeare Theatre is a short walk away (under ten minutes).
Our room on this visit was excellent . It was spacious, had a very firm bed, adequate clothes storage and a well-lit and maintained en suite bathroom. Not all rooms in the hotel are so satisfactory -it is an old building of great character, and some quirkiness is to be expected. Breakfasts were very good: generous portions and excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Central location. Historic building.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Very helpful staff, ideal hotel location in centre of town. Comfortable room. Clean facilities. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would re-visit and recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SW London

Shakespeare Hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the RST which means as a single traveller I can go to an evening performance and be in my room ten minutes after leaving the theatre.
Cons: Very pleasing ambience should not be changed.
Location: Stratford on Avon what more can I say.
I have been to this hotel many times before, but this is the first time I had to wait nearly fifteen minutes for somebody to come onto reception. There was no bell to ring!