Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel for location and history

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Everything! charm, location, staff, we loved it all
Cons: Our visit was perfect and nothing needed to be improved upon
Location: The ocation is excellent. We parked at the hotel and didn't have to use the car again. shakespears birthplace is a short walk away in the town.
It was our first visit to Statford-Upon-Avon and we particularly wanted to stay in an historical buliding but within the town centre. The Hotel has been clevery modernised to still hold all the charm of the traditional building. Our room was superb, with a seperate lounge area, bedroom, office area and the bathroom was fully modernised. The commom areas were everything we had hoped for. The staff were friendly, helpful and professional and overall the hotel was excellent. We coulcn't recommend this hotel enough and will definately return.
2 out of 5
by Susan from UK

Central location, pity about the staff.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Check out.
Cons: Staff training would be the first priority from check in to waiters to cook.
Location: The location is perfect. Slap bang in the centre of Stratford. Theatre, restaurant, shakespeare birthplace etc etc.
Dreadful check in experience. Slow and surly. No smiles, not greeting. Rickety building, expected as very old. Room ok, dated for the Americans, handle fell of 'fridge, window wouldn't open, camera right outisde our window. Bed's comfy. Breakfast was shocking. Stone cold fry. Seated so far from buffet it was ridiculous. No replenishing of small coffee pot which was supposed to provide for 3 persons. A triangle of toast each. Had to ask for more after waiting an age for a passing waiter. Will not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Buffalogal from Liverpool

Good value break in Stratford

Posted Mar 21, 2014
A second stay within a week to see the Mantel plays at the Swan. Different and slightly smaller room this time but clean and comfortable with all requirements met. Breakfast offered a good range of options, didn't have dinner as trip adviser reviews were so poor. Dined at Vintners next door which was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Buffalogal from Liverpool

Good hotel in the centre of town

Posted Mar 16, 2014
We only booked for one night and didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food/dining experience. We had a good sized room and large bathroom. Good quality bed linen, adequate wardrobe space, tea and coffee making facilities.We have paid much more for less so were please we had booked for a second stay the following week. We were a bit disconcerted by the sloping floor and furniture but got used to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from North East England

Good central location within the town centre.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Central location - staff very friendly, good breakfasts
Cons: Car parking is first come first served, and there was a suspicion that locals were using the car park therfore preventing guests from doing so.
Location: Central location - next to pubs, restraurants, RSC and river walks.
Base hotel for the Cheltenham festival - travel time 45 mins by car. Stayed for 4 nights and sampled several pubs/restaurants within the town centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stratford experience.

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Characterful, comfortable, clean, central.
Cons: Some staff need more training in basic English.
Location: Very central for theatres, Shakespeare's birthplace and museums. Very close to river. Many restaurants, cafes and shops nearby yet very quiet.
Lovely, half-timbered, traditional building; really pleasant, spacious room with beautiful bathroom. Very comfortable all round. Staff were very pleasant and helpful - only didn't score full marks because some staff had considerable difficulty communicating in English. Car park available at modest fee fairly nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from crewe

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2014
My friend and I had different rooms, both individually styled. Very clean, spacious and the facilities were great. Nothing to fault
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julia from London

Perfect Experience!

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Location and the old Tudor room experience.
Location: All Shakespeare museums were all close by. Within 5-10 minutes walk.
Loved everything about this trip. The hotel was in a great location, close to everything and the room was such a lovely experience, everything that I wanted for this trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in the town centre

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Location and standard of room.
Cons: Charging guests £10 a night for parking seems excessive - they have a deal with an NCP car park nearby for £5 per night which is much more reasonable.
Location: Very close to restaurants and the RSC.
Lovely hotel, large and comfortable room very close to the town centre and the theatres.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally from London

Old classic hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Very central location.
Cons: Heating...
Location: Beautiful walks and the oldest Startford-upon-avon pub opposite, although the drinks were cheap and the atmopsphere welcoming, the food not so good!
It offered us a unique back in-time experience that we enjoyed. The bar area was amazing, relaxing and the fire and furniture made it the ultimate R&R experience. The room sometimes was cold ( due to the heating being set on default settings, so you could not change this). Although the room was very large and comfortable. Overall a very pleasant stay.