Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
A good traditional inn with excellent food and comfortable beds
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Chris from Newmarket, Ontario

Minor things make this a "good" but not "great"

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The negatives - slow dinner service, food was average, bathroom needs attention, mattress was more tired than I was! The positives - the building itself, the location, the history, the cleanliness, the staff, the bar and the beer and, last but not least, the amazing breakfast. Typical full English, well cooked and served quickly. The building is actually two separate 17th century buildings cleverly joined together at some point and sits in a quiet village minutes from Warwick and Stratford upon Avon. I've always liked small village pub/hotels as they always seem to be friendlier and individual than chains and, on this score, The Mary Arden didn't disappoint. Our room was clean - always a plus. The bar was typical English country pub, complete with a good range of draught ales and open fire. Nothing staged or replicated. Just full of natural ambiance. I was there midweek during a cold snap so the fire was more than welcome. And then after a decent night sleep, even with the tired mattress, it was down to breakfast. A great start to the day. I would stay here again. But if all their rooms are the same as ours, the owners need to look at them from a guests point of view. And that means having a bath, sitting on the toilet, lying in the bed and generally living in the room. Also, if they claim to have great food then it needs to be great every night. Stilton Stuffed Chicken needs to be stuffed with Stilton. Mine wasn't. It would be a shame to waste a great building and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul and Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frank

Great Location for Stratford Upon Avon sightseeing

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff were superb, Nicki and Gemma the Managers were so kind, nothing was too much trouble. The Chef Genna was also excellent as was Shawn the barman. This is a great hotel in a perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

close to all must-see sights

Posted Sep 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a really good stay at the Inn. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the cooking was delicious. We were a little dissapointed by the distance from Stratford upon Avon centre (only because we thought it would be closer) but we could over come this by local taxis, it just was an additional expense we were not expecting. The room was clean and well laid out. Bed was a little lumpy. But overall a very pleasant place with great staff. Also very close to Mary Arden farm which was an unexpected surprise and stop for the hop-on hop-off bus - bonus! I would definitely recommend staying at the Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Historic Place to Stay

Posted Sep 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
I cannot say enough good things about The Mary Arden Inn. The staff were all amazing, especially Jenna and Gemma. They were so pleasant and welcoming. This B&B was the highlight of our whole trip. The Inn is conveniently located to Stratford upon Avon, without being in the middle of town. The room was spacious, clean, and offer lots of amenities. The only thing missing was WiFi. Then Inn has a great Pub and a true historic feel. The hot water was hot and there was good pressure. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The breakfast was awesome. The best we had on our 2 week visit to the UK. I cannot recommend this place enough. I will definitely stay at The Mary Arden Inn again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gail

Shakespearian Flavor with Mod Cons

Posted Jun 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
We loved staying at this inn just outside Stratford. It is across the street from the Mary Arden Farm. You can get to Stratford by path along the canal (1/2 hr. walk), train (about 3 blocks away), or taxi. The inn has maintained the flavor of Shakespearian times in a small town. Locals and travellers alike were friendly and talked to us in the pub. Rooms were named after Shakespeare's plays and are modernized. We had a wonderful English breakfast each morning in a cheerful room with a very old fireplace. Staff were knowledgeable and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great Inn, Great people totally recommend

Posted Jan 9, 2012
Pros: The staff was great and friendly.
Had an amazing time here. The staff was so nice an amazing!! We spent New Years Eve here and they had a great party there. It is small, which is great and intimate. The food in the pub was very good. Easy to get around the area and yet away from the hustle and bustle of city of Stratford on Avon. The history of the area and the building itself is great. Totally recommend this Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Friendliest place we have stayed

Posted Jan 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed several days at New Year's. The staff actually got to know us, and we felt like part of a big family. Everyone was so nice and helpful. Great food and atmosphere. They had a fun New years bash and we had a great time. All the nearby families came and danced with their kids. The rooms were cute and with nice views. Very well equipped and clean. The Marden Arden Farm is a short walk and fantastic to see in early morning. You can jump on the tour bus that goes around town just down the block. We miss this place already, and wish we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice traditional Inn

Posted Sep 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this inn last week during a family vacation in the English countryside. It is a few miles from Stratford-upon-Avon in a small village. This is a traditional inn and the room are above the pub and restaurant downstairs. The room was very clean and the bathroom newly renovated. The staff was friendly but disorganized. I believe that they only really have double rooms. If you book for 3 people, the third person will be sleeping on a cot.